Search

Mahi Yoga Dharamsala

4.49

Based on 271 reviews

What is a School Review?



1 more Location

Connect with Us

Bhagsu Nag

Dharamshala, Himachal Pradesh, India

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Mahi Yoga Goa
mahi power yoga goa, Arambol Beach
Arambol, Goa, India

About Mahi Yoga

Mahi  Yoga is a premier institute offering yoga teaching in a holistic environment, under the guidance of great yogis. RYT 200 & RYT 300 residential courses are taught at Mahi Power Yoga. Students come from all across the globe to learn this vedic science, in its...

Mahi  Yoga is a premier institute offering yoga teaching in a holistic environment, under the guidance of great yogis. RYT 200 & RYT 300 residential courses are taught at Mahi Power Yoga. Students come from all across the globe to learn this vedic science, in its true and original form. Teachers at Mahi   Yoga have deep knowledge of yoga, Ayurveda , sadhna (meditation) and other vedic scriptures. Conversant with many yoga styles including hatha, ashtanga, kundalini and vinyasa yoga they bring to their students not just vedic scripture knowledge but also initiate them into the process of achieving divinity or oneness of mind and body through yoga. Unlike many contemporary yoga institutes, which consider yoga as another approach to physical fitness; the focus at MahiYoga is to help students attain expertise in this spiritual discipline, physical fitness is an added benefit. Teachers here teach with the mission of making ‘yoga teachers for tomorrow’. For this reason every element at Mahi Yoga has been well thought through and in complete compliance with Yoga principles. A normal day at Mahi Yoga includes asanas, meditation time, sessions on vedic scriptures and ayurveda, prayers and kirtans’, and free time too for students to delve over their learnings and relax. With a special focus on building yoga teachers for tomorrow, sessions are held for teaching students how to teach yoga including art of ‘yogic touch’. Teachers pay special attention to each student and guide the student to the next level when he/she is ready. Unlike in many other institutes, where the focus is on getting too much squeezed into the schedule in too little time, at MahiYoga we try to provide balanced learning to our students without making it a hardship or a competitive sport for them. The courses include an understanding of yoga essence, the 5 paths of yoga – Bhakti, Raja, Jnana, karma, and hatha yoga, ethics and principles of yoga teachers, meaning of yoga disciplines, and relationship of yoga with other Vedic sciences. Mahi Yoga centers are located in Arambol, Goa and Dharamshala in the Himalayas. Both the locations have spiritual significance. Our centers our nestled away in a corner and endowed with natural beauty. The centers inspire vedic learning and provide calm, rejuvenating experience. The residential wing provides for a comfortable stay without digressing from vedic principles. The rooms are naturally lit and ventilated. Students at Mahi Yoga feel privileged to learn yoga here for various reasons, including: Getting knowledge from ERYT200 and ERYT500 certified teachers, who are great practitioners of yoga themselves Getting profound yoga knowledge apart from learning about Ayurveda with yoga Learning in great locations, which offer serenity and lots to outdoor activities too Small focused batches, enabling students to get due attention Great learning environment, where students and teachers live and learn as a family Students who take courses at Mahi Yoga achieve a higher sense of being, apart from starting a great yoga career. Details about the course schedules, center facilities, teachers and life at Mahi  Yoga are available at our website.

First Registered August 2012

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jill Kershaw Jan 05, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lynn Taylor Feb 19, 2014

    I had a really tough time deciding where I wanted to study in India...I had visions of going to the Himalaya mountains and I love the Tibetan philosophy but I love the ocean and sunshine in Goa India. I found the perfect yoga Ashram and Meditation center in Goa, India with instructors from Dharamshala so I knew I was getting the best of both worlds. I had three Indian teachers.. Mahinder Prasad (Guru Mahi) for alignment He is an advocate of therapeutic yoga and believes that our body needs the balance of yoga and Ayurveda to keep all ailments at bay. By Far he rocks...he knows his yoga! Acharya Yogesh for philosophy Yogesh has expertise in alternate healing using chakra therapy/cleansing and balancing using Ayurveda, Chakra therapy, mudra therapy, yoga and pranic healing. So Knowledgable and willing to share his knowledge... I had three other teachers for the anatomy and physiology, the Art of teaching, Ashtanga, vinyassa flow and yin yoga. Merel Martens from Amsterdam . Merel has a degree in Medicine and International Public Health but her real love and interest is in yoga. Her motto in life is that yoga principles should not be restricted to the mat and instead become the way of life. This girl lives eats a breaths Yoga Bjorn Alex Marcus from Demark Arianne De Vos Burchart taught me to love Ashtanga I left India not only a yoga teacher but began self-realization that has transformed me to want to live a honest truthful life filled with happiness and balance. So I am grateful to all these teachers and there teachers before them……and now I want to share all that my amazing teachers taught me with whoever wants to learn.......

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      I had a really tough time deciding where I wanted to study in India...I had visions of going to the Himalaya mountains and I love the Tibetan philosophy but I love the ocean and sunshine in Goa India. I found the perfect yoga Ashram and Meditation center in Goa, India with instructors from Dharamshala so I knew I was getting the best of both worlds. I had three Indian teachers.. Mahinder Prasad (Guru Mahi) for alignment He is an advocate of therapeutic yoga and believes that our body needs the balance of yoga and Ayurveda to keep all ailments at bay. By Far he rocks...he knows his yoga! Acharya Yogesh for philosophy Yogesh has expertise in alternate healing using chakra therapy/cleansing and balancing using Ayurveda, Chakra therapy, mudra therapy, yoga and pranic healing. So Knowledgable and willing to share his knowledge... I had three other teachers for the anatomy and physiology, the Art of teaching, Ashtanga, vinyassa flow and yin yoga. Merel Martens from Amsterdam . Merel has a degree in Medicine and International Public Health but her real love and interest is in yoga. Her motto in life is that yoga principles should not be restricted to the mat and instead become the way of life. This girl lives eats a breaths Yoga Bjorn Alex Marcus from Demark Arianne De Vos Burchart taught me to love Ashtanga I left India not only a yoga teacher but began self-realization that has transformed me to want to live a honest truthful life filled with happiness and balance. So I am grateful to all these teachers and there teachers before them……and now I want to share all that my amazing teachers taught me with whoever wants to learn.......
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stephanie Kirby Feb 21, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Merel Martens Feb 24, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      I completed the training a while ago and it looks like they have changed the program since I completed it.

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Merel Martens Feb 28, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Mahi Yoga’s 500-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      I completed the training a while ago and it looks like they have changed the program since I completed it.

  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Emilia Laszlo Mar 19, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

  • 4 out of 5
    By: Claire Russell Mar 25, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Mostly

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Petra Schiller Mar 28, 2014

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 500-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      Entirely

  • 4 out of 5
    By: Emilia Laszlo Apr 02, 2014

    I was lucky to be the only student on the 300 hours training course, therefore I have learned in very beneficial environment from my teacher, who is also a physiotherapist.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 500-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      I was lucky to be the only student on the 300 hours training course, therefore I have learned in very beneficial environment from my teacher, who is also a physiotherapist.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nicolina Baldassarre May 06, 2014
    200 Hours Yoga Teacher Training (200 YTT) held on Feb 10, 2014

    Wonderful experience. I know more about yoga and its' philosophy than i've ever known in the past 2 years that I have been practicing it. My passion and knowledge of yoga has increased dramatically and Siddhi yoga has motivated me to continue learning.

    • Syllabus Reflection

      To what extent do you feel this program met the following learning objective; The student will become confident with human anatomy within the context of teaching yoga

      Entirely

      The teachers strongly adhered to the structure of the program.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Mahi Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Wonderful experience. I know more about yoga and its' philosophy than i've ever known in the past 2 years that I have been practicing it. My passion and knowledge of yoga has increased dramatically and Siddhi yoga has motivated me to continue learning.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2012

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 271

By Emine Harrison RYT® 200

Oct 08, 2018

Full Review

By Yogi Ankit E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Oct 08, 2018

Full Review

All Reviews (271)

Teaching Staff

Mahinder Prasad

E-RYT® 500

Devvrat Yoga

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Bjoern Marcus Bjoern Marcus

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Amy Suzanne Yoga

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Anette Quentin

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (5)
Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2018 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.
Copyright 2018 by Yoga Alliance