Search

Yoga Garden San Francisco

4.79

Based on 352 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.7/10


Connect with Us

286 Divisadero Street

San Francisco, CA 94117, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Languages

ENGLISH

About Yoga Garden SF

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives...

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives you a solid foundation of technical excellence combined with philosophical depth, enabling you to teach your practice. Your yoga teacher training is a time for personal learning and growth, but we have found that the greatest gains are made in a supportive community. Yoga Garden’s yoga teacher training actively nurtures a community of professional peers that will support your practice and your career, today and tomorrow. Yoga Garden offers smaller, intimately-sized teacher training programs, which provide you with unparalleled access to lead teachers during the program and ongoing mentorship and career advice well beyond the program completion. You will begin “practice teaching” your peers early in the training. Through real classroom experience teaching groups and offering hands-on adjustments, you will gain the confidence and ability to begin teaching yoga immediately upon graduation. Learn how yoga works and ignite your passion for self discovery and service to others. See also Yoga Garden SF Kids for our Children's Yoga program RCYT.

First Registered June 2010

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tess Lane Sep 16, 2021

    I am so pleased with the training I received from Yoga Garden SF, I learned so much more than I expected, and I found the teachers to be very thoughtful and knowledgable. The program prepared me well to teach group classes, and I loved that they also dug into the more intellectual components of yoga. I absolutely love the community I found through YGSF, and I would absolutely recommend the program to others.

    • General Comments

      I am so pleased with the training I received from Yoga Garden SF, I learned so much more than I expected, and I found the teachers to be very thoughtful and knowledgable. The program prepared me well to teach group classes, and I loved that they also dug into the more intellectual components of yoga. I absolutely love the community I found through YGSF, and I would absolutely recommend the program to others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Fei Jul 12, 2021

    Yoga Garden SF's YTT 200 program has a great group of teacher trainers, I learned a lot from each person. YGSF also offers effective online tools and platforms to facilitate learning (I took this training completely online during COVID-19 and they managed this online learning format well), and overall well-structured lessons/clinics. Thank you Yoga Garden SF!

    • General Comments

      Yoga Garden SF's YTT 200 program has a great group of teacher trainers, I learned a lot from each person. YGSF also offers effective online tools and platforms to facilitate learning (I took this training completely online during COVID-19 and they managed this online learning format well), and overall well-structured lessons/clinics. Thank you Yoga Garden SF!
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Saachi Makkar May 12, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Eric Obeng Apr 18, 2021

    Amazing program!

    • General Comments

      Amazing program!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Emily Walters Apr 05, 2021

    Great program filled with great teachers who each bring really unique and important expertise to the industry. I feel like I couldn't have completed my 200hr training at a better school!

    • General Comments

      Great program filled with great teachers who each bring really unique and important expertise to the industry. I feel like I couldn't have completed my 200hr training at a better school!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Casey Chatman Mar 09, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lexi Crook Jan 20, 2021

    I would highly recommend YGSF teacher training to any student of yoga that wants to deepen their practice or become a teacher. There are a variety of teachers in the training, ALL incredibly knowledgeable and with different teaching style. I came up as a student at YGSF so already knew how amazing the teachers were, so was not surprised that the same came through in the training. I felt immediately equipped and empowered to teach upon graduation, which is a serious feat considering it was virtual (bc of COVID). Thanks for everything YGSF!

    • General Comments

      I would highly recommend YGSF teacher training to any student of yoga that wants to deepen their practice or become a teacher. There are a variety of teachers in the training, ALL incredibly knowledgeable and with different teaching style. I came up as a student at YGSF so already knew how amazing the teachers were, so was not surprised that the same came through in the training. I felt immediately equipped and empowered to teach upon graduation, which is a serious feat considering it was virtual (bc of COVID). Thanks for everything YGSF!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lexi Kantz Jan 18, 2021

    I'd recommend Yoga Garden SF's 200-HR YTT program to anyone! The investment by the teachers and the studio as a whole to ensure that a virtual training was still just as immersive & didn't lose an ounce of its intended honor for the beautiful practice of Yoga. I feel full equipped to safely contain a room or virtual Zoom practice.

    • General Comments

      I'd recommend Yoga Garden SF's 200-HR YTT program to anyone! The investment by the teachers and the studio as a whole to ensure that a virtual training was still just as immersive & didn't lose an ounce of its intended honor for the beautiful practice of Yoga. I feel full equipped to safely contain a room or virtual Zoom practice.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katie Beyer Dec 08, 2020

    Could not have completed this training at a better place.

    • General Comments

      Could not have completed this training at a better place.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stephy Walpole Dec 05, 2020

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered June 2010

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 352

By Tess Lane RYT® 200

Sep 16, 2021

I am so pleased with the training I received from Yoga Garden SF, I learned so much more than I expected, and I found the teachers to be very thoughtful and knowledgable. The program prepared me well to teach group classes, and I loved that they also dug into the more intellectual components of yoga. I absolutely love the community I found through YGSF, and I would absolutely recommend the program to others. Full Review

By Jennifer Fei RYT® 200

Jul 12, 2021

Yoga Garden SF's YTT 200 program has a great group of teacher trainers, I learned a lot from each person. YGSF also offers effective online tools and platforms to facilitate learning (I took this training completely online during COVID-19 and they managed this online learning format well), and overall well-structured lessons/clinics. Thank you Yoga Garden SF! Full Review

All Reviews (352)

Teaching Staff

Europa Grace

E-RYT® 500

Michelle Bouvier

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Max Kopeikin

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Karen Macklin

E-RYT® 500

Denelle Numis

E-RYT® 500

Christie Pitko

E-RYT® 500

Alexandra Rossi

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Martine Hamers - Yogitine Martine Hamers - Yogitine

E-RYT® 500

Paulina Julian

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RPYT®

David Nelson

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Melylah Botté Smith

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®

Emily Knell Spaeth

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®

Stacey Swan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (13)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance