Search

Yoga Garden San Francisco

4.79

Based on 364 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.7/10


Connect with Us

286 Divisadero Street

San Francisco, CA 94117, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Languages

ENGLISH

About Yoga Garden SF

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives...

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives you a solid foundation of technical excellence combined with philosophical depth, enabling you to teach your practice. Your yoga teacher training is a time for personal learning and growth, but we have found that the greatest gains are made in a supportive community. Yoga Garden’s yoga teacher training actively nurtures a community of professional peers that will support your practice and your career, today and tomorrow. Yoga Garden offers smaller, intimately-sized teacher training programs, which provide you with unparalleled access to lead teachers during the program and ongoing mentorship and career advice well beyond the program completion. You will begin “practice teaching” your peers early in the training. Through real classroom experience teaching groups and offering hands-on adjustments, you will gain the confidence and ability to begin teaching yoga immediately upon graduation. Learn how yoga works and ignite your passion for self discovery and service to others. See also Yoga Garden SF Kids for our Children's Yoga program RCYT.

First Registered June 2010

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jarytza Linares Dec 29, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Anette Andersen Schlichting Dec 10, 2021

    skilled teachers, well and carefully planned education, highly recommended.

    • General Comments

      skilled teachers, well and carefully planned education, highly recommended.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Felicia Lee Dec 03, 2021

    Yoga Garden was quick to adapt to COVID restrictions and made sure to provide a safe, compassionate, and open learning environment for our cohort of teachers.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Garden was quick to adapt to COVID restrictions and made sure to provide a safe, compassionate, and open learning environment for our cohort of teachers.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Tanya Conley Dec 02, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brynn McNally Nov 19, 2021

    Yoga Garden is a fantastic yoga school.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Garden is a fantastic yoga school.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Ashley Ramos Nov 15, 2021

    N/A

    • General Comments

      N/A
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Laura Fasman Nov 11, 2021

    This program introduced me to such life changing and valuable lessons. It allowed me to meet amazing people from my peers to my teachers, and it provided a safe and welcoming community to me with diverse backgrounds and lineages of yoga and beyond all in less than a month. I was finally able to address trauma I never knew I had due to the curation of a space that allowed for a deep and spiritual yogic practice.

    • General Comments

      This program introduced me to such life changing and valuable lessons. It allowed me to meet amazing people from my peers to my teachers, and it provided a safe and welcoming community to me with diverse backgrounds and lineages of yoga and beyond all in less than a month. I was finally able to address trauma I never knew I had due to the curation of a space that allowed for a deep and spiritual yogic practice.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Skye Sabet Nov 08, 2021

    I took YGSF's 200 hour summer immersion, which was crazy because it was all of the normal information packed into one month. But I found it to be an awesome way to learn because it meant everyone in the room was fully immersed and truly dedicated, which made for some super special bonds. The curriculum did a great job of going into detail about the important things, like asana and philosophy and also giving a taste of what could come in a continued 300 hour, like trauma informed education or prenatal yoga. This particular program was the first time they did a deep dive on cultural appropriation and how to be ever conscious of our choices in respecting the whole practice as we move forward in our careers, which is not just topical, but incredibly important for continuing to honor the gift of the traditional methods and not just cherry picking the pieces we like. I would definitely recommend YGSF 200hr and the incredible variety of instructors that came with it.

    • General Comments

      I took YGSF's 200 hour summer immersion, which was crazy because it was all of the normal information packed into one month. But I found it to be an awesome way to learn because it meant everyone in the room was fully immersed and truly dedicated, which made for some super special bonds. The curriculum did a great job of going into detail about the important things, like asana and philosophy and also giving a taste of what could come in a continued 300 hour, like trauma informed education or prenatal yoga. This particular program was the first time they did a deep dive on cultural appropriation and how to be ever conscious of our choices in respecting the whole practice as we move forward in our careers, which is not just topical, but incredibly important for continuing to honor the gift of the traditional methods and not just cherry picking the pieces we like. I would definitely recommend YGSF 200hr and the incredible variety of instructors that came with it.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Iryna Gavrysh Oct 15, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kelly Choate Sep 28, 2021

    Yoga Garden teachers care about their students. My experience was so positive and encouraging. I really loved each and every one of them. We learned about anatomy, asanas, yoga history, yoga sutras, sequencing, teaching skills, business preparation, and more. The curriculum is all very organized and professional. Plus the added benefit of an entire online learning system with videos for supplemental study. I found the training to be very applicable as a teacher and would go back for more education.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Garden teachers care about their students. My experience was so positive and encouraging. I really loved each and every one of them. We learned about anatomy, asanas, yoga history, yoga sutras, sequencing, teaching skills, business preparation, and more. The curriculum is all very organized and professional. Plus the added benefit of an entire online learning system with videos for supplemental study. I found the training to be very applicable as a teacher and would go back for more education.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Yoga Therapy Policy in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered June 2010

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 364

By Jarytza Linares RYT® 200

Dec 29, 2021

Full Review

By Anette Andersen Schlichting RYT® 200

Dec 10, 2021

skilled teachers, well and carefully planned education, highly recommended. Full Review

All Reviews (364)

Teaching Staff

Europa Grace

E-RYT® 500

Michelle Bouvier

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Max Kopeikin

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Karen Macklin

E-RYT® 500

Denelle Numis

E-RYT® 500

Christie Pitko

E-RYT® 500

Alexandra Rossi

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Martine Hamers - Yogitine Martine Hamers - Yogitine

E-RYT® 500

Paulina Julian

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RPYT®

David Nelson

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Melylah Botté Smith

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®

Emily Knell Spaeth

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®, YACEP®

Stacey Swan Stacey Swan

E-RYT® 500

Brandi Zorzy

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (14)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance