Search

Yoga Garden San Francisco

4.79

Based on 371 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.7/10


Connect with Us

286 Divisadero Street

San Francisco, CA 94117, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Languages

ENGLISH

About Yoga Garden SF

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives...

Yoga Garden empowers you to teach your style of yoga. Our alignment-based hatha yoga teacher training originates from the teachings of Krishnamacharya, the teacher of B.K.S. Iyengar (Iyengar yoga), Pattabhi Jois (Ashtanga yoga) and T.V.K. Desikachar (viniyoga). This gives you a solid foundation of technical excellence combined with philosophical depth, enabling you to teach your practice. Your yoga teacher training is a time for personal learning and growth, but we have found that the greatest gains are made in a supportive community. Yoga Garden’s yoga teacher training actively nurtures a community of professional peers that will support your practice and your career, today and tomorrow. Yoga Garden offers smaller, intimately-sized teacher training programs, which provide you with unparalleled access to lead teachers during the program and ongoing mentorship and career advice well beyond the program completion. You will begin “practice teaching” your peers early in the training. Through real classroom experience teaching groups and offering hands-on adjustments, you will gain the confidence and ability to begin teaching yoga immediately upon graduation. Learn how yoga works and ignite your passion for self discovery and service to others. See also Yoga Garden SF Kids for our Children's Yoga program RCYT.

First Registered June 2010

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Daniela Rizza Jun 08, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Beryl Potter Jun 07, 2022

    My experience at Yoga Garden SF was wonderful. The teachers were nice, knowledgeable, caring and really set the tone for the type of teacher I strive to be. My classmates were also outstanding and we have created our own sangha! What a gift during these times of Covid.

    • General Comments

      My experience at Yoga Garden SF was wonderful. The teachers were nice, knowledgeable, caring and really set the tone for the type of teacher I strive to be. My classmates were also outstanding and we have created our own sangha! What a gift during these times of Covid.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Henriette Edøy Apr 06, 2022

    .

    • General Comments

      .
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Victoria Ennis Mar 23, 2022

    A very comprehensive vinyasa yoga teacher training with Maria who's very engaged and thorough. It covers everything from techniques, history, meditation and how to teach. I felt ready to teach and with a new persepctive of life after this education. I would definitely recommend it to others.

    • General Comments

      A very comprehensive vinyasa yoga teacher training with Maria who's very engaged and thorough. It covers everything from techniques, history, meditation and how to teach. I felt ready to teach and with a new persepctive of life after this education. I would definitely recommend it to others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Camille Clay Mar 15, 2022

    I learned so much from David Nelson and Eric Shaw while attending yoga teacher training at Yoga Garden SF. Just down the road, I would walk from my home and usually pick up dinner afterward on Divisadero St.; I don't live in San Francisco anymore and sweet memories flood my mind as I write this. All of my teachers at Yoga Garden were fantastic and the studio made sure there was a teacher for everyone. I found my teacher there, Brenna Geehan, and she remains my teacher today, more than 12 years later. I am so grateful to Yoga Garden for my early yoga education, and for bringing light and love into my life!

    • General Comments

      I learned so much from David Nelson and Eric Shaw while attending yoga teacher training at Yoga Garden SF. Just down the road, I would walk from my home and usually pick up dinner afterward on Divisadero St.; I don't live in San Francisco anymore and sweet memories flood my mind as I write this. All of my teachers at Yoga Garden were fantastic and the studio made sure there was a teacher for everyone. I found my teacher there, Brenna Geehan, and she remains my teacher today, more than 12 years later. I am so grateful to Yoga Garden for my early yoga education, and for bringing light and love into my life!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stephy Walpole Mar 03, 2022

    Great Prenatal Program! I felt confident upon graduating and equipped with the skills needed to teach others in a safe manner.

    • General Comments

      Great Prenatal Program! I felt confident upon graduating and equipped with the skills needed to teach others in a safe manner.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stephy Walpole Feb 07, 2022

    I took my 200 and 300 trainings via Zoom with Yoga Garden and I was impressed with the experience! I was appreciative they offered trainings in an safe and accessible way without sacrificing quality. While they are open in-person again, I do hope they keep a virtual option because they do it incredibly well.

    • General Comments

      I took my 200 and 300 trainings via Zoom with Yoga Garden and I was impressed with the experience! I was appreciative they offered trainings in an safe and accessible way without sacrificing quality. While they are open in-person again, I do hope they keep a virtual option because they do it incredibly well.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jarytza Linares Dec 29, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Anette Andersen Schlichting Dec 10, 2021

    skilled teachers, well and carefully planned education, highly recommended.

    • General Comments

      skilled teachers, well and carefully planned education, highly recommended.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Felicia Lee Dec 03, 2021

    Yoga Garden was quick to adapt to COVID restrictions and made sure to provide a safe, compassionate, and open learning environment for our cohort of teachers.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Garden was quick to adapt to COVID restrictions and made sure to provide a safe, compassionate, and open learning environment for our cohort of teachers.
First Registered June 2010

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 371

By Daniela Rizza RYT® 500

Jun 08, 2022

Full Review

By Beryl Potter RYT® 200

Jun 07, 2022

My experience at Yoga Garden SF was wonderful. The teachers were nice, knowledgeable, caring and really set the tone for the type of teacher I strive to be. My classmates were also outstanding and we have created our own sangha! What a gift during these times of Covid. Full Review

All Reviews (371)

Teaching Staff

Europa Grace

E-RYT® 500

Michelle Bouvier

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Max Kopeikin

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Karen Macklin

E-RYT® 500

Denelle Numis

E-RYT® 500

Christie Pitko

E-RYT® 500

Alexandra Rossi

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Martine Hamers - Yogitine Martine Hamers - Yogitine

E-RYT® 500

Paulina Julian

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RPYT®

David Nelson

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Melylah Botté Smith

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®

Emily Knell Spaeth

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®, YACEP®

Stacey Swan Stacey Swan

E-RYT® 500

Brandi Zorzy

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (14)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance