Search

The American Yoga Academy

4.48

Based on 219 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 6.3/10


Connect with Us

426 Springfield Avenue

Summit, NJ, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

ENGLISH - ALL LANGUAGES WELCOME

About The American Yoga Academy

The American Yoga Academy is a World-Renowned Online Yoga Teacher Training School, founded by Claire Diab who has been training teachers for over 25 years. She has created a curriculum designed to meet the needs of everyone. All are Welcome. Whether you are looking for...

The American Yoga Academy is a World-Renowned Online Yoga Teacher Training School, founded by Claire Diab who has been training teachers for over 25 years. She has created a curriculum designed to meet the needs of everyone. All are Welcome. Whether you are looking for a full or part time career or just want to deepen your personal practice, Claire, your Lead Educator, and The American Yoga Academy's Professional and Friendly Staff will guide you on your journey.

Learn from the Best. The American Yoga Academy offers 200 and 300 Hour Yoga Teacher Training Certifications, including Chair Yoga and Meditation Certification Programs.

Our Online Teacher Training Program provides an in-depth and comprehensive study of Yoga Poses and Sequences for Everyone with Safety, Alignment, Benefits and Variations. You will also learn to teach Meditation and Mindfulness, Chair Yoga for Corporations, Schools and Seniors, Breathing Techniques, Restorative Yoga, Invigorating Yoga, the Philosophy of Yoga, Anatomy and Physiology, the Business of Yoga, and more...

Our Exclusive, State-of-the-Art Online Teachers Portal makes learning, studying, and practicing at home or anywhere in the world easy and convenient for your lifestyle. You will have Lifetime Access to the Portal with all the materials, lectures, yoga, and meditation classes available to you before, during, and after your training. 

The American Yoga Academy's Online Teacher Training Program is Easy-to-Navigate, Fun, and Informative. It is more than a course, it is a wonderful experience. Enjoy learning with like-minded people from around the world with different professional and cultural backgrounds. 

Claire Diab has been training teachers since 1993 and has been registered with Yoga Alliance since 2001. She is a World-Renowned Yoga Expert, Health and Wellness Educator, Author, Inspirational Speaker, and a Professor of Asian Studies at Seton Hall University. Claire has a Bachelor's Degree in Health Education & Health Sciences and a Master's Degree in Asian Studies from Seton Hall University. She is certified from The American College of Sports Medicine as a U.S. Navy Health and Wellness Educator and Leader. For 27 years, Claire has traveled the world teaching Yoga, Meditation, and Ayurveda with Dr. Deepak Chopra. She is a Chopra Center certified Master Teacher and Lead Educator, and sits on The Teachers Advisory Board of The Chopra Center for Wellbeing. As an Inspirational Teacher and an excellent Teacher Trainer, Claire will be with you every step of the way, during and after your training.

To learn more about our programs and/or enjoy a virtual tour of our Online Teachers Portal, please call or email us. info@americanyogaacademy.com  973.731.9960

Yoga Teacher Training for Everyone. Health and Wellness Education. All are Welcome.

First Registered November 2000

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ev Davila Sep 04, 2021

    Claire Diab and her team at The American Yoga Academy provided excellent training and support during my 200 YTT journey. I am excited to be working with them on obtaining my 500 YTT certification! The materials the school provides and the recommended reading were great resources I will continue to use in my training and practice. Claire Diab assures you throughout your training that she and her team are there to support you. The classes offer a chance to connect with other students and Claire and her team provide continuous feedback during training. I am so happy I chose this school for my certifications! Love them! Ev Davila

    • General Comments

      Claire Diab and her team at The American Yoga Academy provided excellent training and support during my 200 YTT journey. I am excited to be working with them on obtaining my 500 YTT certification! The materials the school provides and the recommended reading were great resources I will continue to use in my training and practice. Claire Diab assures you throughout your training that she and her team are there to support you. The classes offer a chance to connect with other students and Claire and her team provide continuous feedback during training. I am so happy I chose this school for my certifications! Love them! Ev Davila
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Micah S Hill Jul 15, 2021

    Claire is an incredible mentor. I learned so much during the training. I loved the one-on-one aspect this program provides. The ability to focus in on areas I felt I needed more clarity on was amazing. During this certification, I was able to gain the confidence needed to teach more advanced programs and Claire has inspired me to really take things to the next level.

    • General Comments

      Claire is an incredible mentor. I learned so much during the training. I loved the one-on-one aspect this program provides. The ability to focus in on areas I felt I needed more clarity on was amazing. During this certification, I was able to gain the confidence needed to teach more advanced programs and Claire has inspired me to really take things to the next level.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Annie O'Rourke Jun 03, 2021

    Claire and the staff are very professional and available all the time to answer any questions. AYA provides a yoga community, more than just a yoga school. I learned a lot from AYA. Thank you!

    • General Comments

      Claire and the staff are very professional and available all the time to answer any questions. AYA provides a yoga community, more than just a yoga school. I learned a lot from AYA. Thank you!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: New Moon Yoga May 05, 2021

    Claire and her team at the American Yoga Academy provided such a warm, nurturing environment. I learned so much from basic yoga techniques, amazing teaching techniques, classroom etiquette and so much more. Very valuable training.

    • General Comments

      Claire and her team at the American Yoga Academy provided such a warm, nurturing environment. I learned so much from basic yoga techniques, amazing teaching techniques, classroom etiquette and so much more. Very valuable training.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Patti Adams Apr 27, 2021

    Clear, concise, fun, inclusive, patient, instruction and workshops couldn't have been better. Always available within 24 hours to contact you and answer questions. Zoom sessions were clear.

    • General Comments

      Clear, concise, fun, inclusive, patient, instruction and workshops couldn't have been better. Always available within 24 hours to contact you and answer questions. Zoom sessions were clear.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christine Bond-Maher Apr 26, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rosalie A Labbate Apr 19, 2021

    I received a comprehensive education in all aspects of teaching and practicing Yoga. I highly recommend the professionalism of Claire Diab and The American Yoga Academy. With her experience and knowledge of every aspect of Yoga, the philosphy, history, teaching techniques and benefits to the mind and body, I am qualified to teach Yoga and Meditation.

    • General Comments

      I received a comprehensive education in all aspects of teaching and practicing Yoga. I highly recommend the professionalism of Claire Diab and The American Yoga Academy. With her experience and knowledge of every aspect of Yoga, the philosphy, history, teaching techniques and benefits to the mind and body, I am qualified to teach Yoga and Meditation.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Prajakta Bhalerao Mar 21, 2021

    Th experience at American Yoga Academy was wonderful. I learnt new techniques from Claire and the team. They were very supportive and organized in conducting the sessions and providing the material.

    • General Comments

      Th experience at American Yoga Academy was wonderful. I learnt new techniques from Claire and the team. They were very supportive and organized in conducting the sessions and providing the material.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lynda Walcott Feb 11, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 07, 2020—Apr 23, 2020

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Malia Luzzi Feb 10, 2021

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered November 2000

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 219

By Ev Davila RYT® 200

Sep 04, 2021

Claire Diab and her team at The American Yoga Academy provided excellent training and support during my 200 YTT journey. I am excited to be working with them on obtaining my 500 YTT certification! The materials the school provides and the recommended reading were great resources I will continue to use in my training and practice. Claire Diab assures you throughout your training that she and her team are there to support you. The classes offer a chance to connect with other students and Claire and her team provide continuous feedback during training. I am so happy I chose this school for my certifications! Love them! Ev Davila Full Review

By Micah S Hill RYT® 500

Jul 15, 2021

Claire is an incredible mentor. I learned so much during the training. I loved the one-on-one aspect this program provides. The ability to focus in on areas I felt I needed more clarity on was amazing. During this certification, I was able to gain the confidence needed to teach more advanced programs and Claire has inspired me to really take things to the next level. Full Review

All Reviews (219)

Teaching Staff

Claire Diab

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Mary Ann Gebhardt

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance