Search

Frog Lotus Yoga International

4.65

Based on 276 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 7.7/10


Connect with Us

Suryalila Retreat Centre, Cortijo La Fabrica

Pago de Pajarete, Villamartín, Spain

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About Frog Lotus Yoga International

FROG LOTUS YOGA INTERNATIONAL Frog Lotus Yoga International (FLY) offers a thorough training with an emphasis on alignment, form and safety in Vinyasa Flow. Led by the school's founder Vidya Heisel, who has over 45 years of teaching experience, FLY as a school has been...

FROG LOTUS YOGA INTERNATIONAL

Frog Lotus Yoga International (FLY) offers a thorough training with an emphasis on alignment, form and safety in Vinyasa Flow. Led by the school's founder Vidya Heisel, who has over 45 years of teaching experience, FLY as a school has been training yoga teachers for over 20 years, resulting in a skillfully refined, polished and comprehensive course. For many it is a profoundly transformational and life-affirming journey.

Our certification is respected internationally and you will be able to teach anywhere in the world with our Frog Lotus Yoga International yoga teacher trainings. Expect to leave the FLY yoga teacher training ready to teach and brimming with inspiration and enthusiasm for your new career. You will be given all the tools you need to become an excellent teacher and by the end of the course you will have over 4 hours of teaching practice, including two full 75 minute classes to some of your fellow trainees.

FLY IN NUMBERS:

  • Over 3000 FLY graduates
  • Over 100 Teacher Training successfully run
  • Over 21 years of experience training teachers
  • 1 Retreat Centre: Suryalila in Andalucia, Spain

 

YOGA TEACHER TRAINING SPAIN

Our three week intensive 200 hour yoga teacher training in Spain is located at Suryalila Retreat Centre. Nestled in the sun-kissed Spanish mountains, it is perfect for those looking for an intelligent and creative approach to yoga whilst being nurtured by a host of on-site facilities: 24/7 access to the saltwater pool, eco-sauna, delicious vegetarian meals lovingly prepared by professional chefs using fresh produce grown in the garden, beautiful yoga shalas and cosy accommodations to suit a variety of budgets.

By the end of the FLY Yoga Teacher Training you will not only be qualified to teach Vinyasa Flow Yoga but will also have the tools to create other styles of yoga classes, such as more basic Hatha, prenatal and restorative yoga.


TRAINING KEY POINTS:

  • Learn from highly experienced teachers
  • Gain in-depth knowledge on alignment and safety
  • Get a strong grounding in Eastern Philosophy
  • Receive support before and after the training
  • Immerse yourself in a stunning location
  • Eat organic vegetarian home cooked meals

 

WHAT'S MORE?

When you enrol in a FLY yoga teacher training, you gain a lifetime access to an online pre-training package created by the lead teachers to help you prepare and embark on your yoga journey before you arrive. 

WHAT'S INCLUDED:

  • 2 articles on yoga & 1 interview on the 4 traditional branches of yoga
  • 1 talk on resilience, 1 talk on meditation & 1 guided meditation
  • 1 complete training manual & music for practice
  • 6 intermediate vinyasa yoga classes & 1 restorative class
  • Access to the FLY community

 

Upon graduation, you receive a support booklet to support you on your yoga journey after the training. You also have the opportunity to gain an online lifetime access to the whole content of your 200 hour yoga teacher training.

 

ABOUT FLY FOUNDER

Vidya Heisel is an internationally-renowned master yoga teacher with over 45 years of teaching experience as well as a deep and experienced knowledge of yogic philosophy and meditation. She studied and taught 6 years in India. Her early yoga teachers include Patricia Walden, Rodney Yee, Ana Forrest, Larry Schultz and Leslie Kaminoff. 

She founded Frog Lotus Yoga International in 2000. Since, she has trained thousands of yoga teachers and led over a hundred 200 hour Yoga Teacher Trainings. After teaching around the world, she created her own yoga retreat centre: Suryalila, in Andalusia southern Spain.

Learn more about FLY values here

See what graduates say about FLY

First Registered August 2003

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nora Thaler May 17, 2024
    Training Program held on Jan 16, 2014—Feb 06, 2014

    I loved the YTT with these amazing teachers and detailed explanations, the incredible surrounding at Ananda Cottages. I really felt prepared to teach after my YTT in Indonesia.

    • General Comments

      I loved the YTT with these amazing teachers and detailed explanations, the incredible surrounding at Ananda Cottages. I really felt prepared to teach after my YTT in Indonesia.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Reo Bartosz Apr 09, 2024
    Training Program held on Mar 11, 2023—Apr 01, 2023

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kat Aydin Apr 01, 2024

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Enrique Figallo Jan 30, 2024
    Training Program held on Jan 06, 2024—Jan 27, 2024

    I was planning to do a RYT 200 for so long and I am very happy that I decided to do it with Frog Lotus International! From the moment I contacted them with a lot of questions until the last class at the center, it was a wonderful experience! All the teachers were extremely good and experienced (Lisa, Katrina, and Vidya). The focus on alignment and safety makes a huge difference with other trainings. And the expectations to deliver two yoga classes during the course was the best because you really need to work on them and learn by doing! A unique learning experience. I highly recommend this school!

    • General Comments

      I was planning to do a RYT 200 for so long and I am very happy that I decided to do it with Frog Lotus International! From the moment I contacted them with a lot of questions until the last class at the center, it was a wonderful experience! All the teachers were extremely good and experienced (Lisa, Katrina, and Vidya). The focus on alignment and safety makes a huge difference with other trainings. And the expectations to deliver two yoga classes during the course was the best because you really need to work on them and learn by doing! A unique learning experience. I highly recommend this school!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Hayley Maguire Nov 23, 2023
    Training Program held on Oct 07, 2023—Oct 28, 2023

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Jena Hall Nov 13, 2023
    Training Program held on Oct 07, 2023—Oct 28, 2023

    Suryalila is an amazing place to learn, grow and complete a 200 hour yoga teacher training. The instructors are fantastic, the food is divine and the friendships made there are worth every cent and hour invested.

    • General Comments

      Suryalila is an amazing place to learn, grow and complete a 200 hour yoga teacher training. The instructors are fantastic, the food is divine and the friendships made there are worth every cent and hour invested.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Danielle Minuto Nov 08, 2023

    Frog Lotus training was a life changing experience. I would reccomend anyone interested in studying for their 200 hr certification. I loved every minute of it and made very special bonds.

    • General Comments

      Frog Lotus training was a life changing experience. I would reccomend anyone interested in studying for their 200 hr certification. I loved every minute of it and made very special bonds.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sadie Tonks Oct 20, 2023
    Training Program held on Feb 17, 2018—Mar 10, 2018

    I took my first YTT with Frog Lotus 5 years ago. Since then I have done a number of training and whilst I've changed as a teacher and practitioner, I still value so much of what was offered to us in that first YTT. It was such a beautiful safe space to learn & started me off on the most wonderful journey as a teacher. 5 years on.. I'm still here

    • General Comments

      I took my first YTT with Frog Lotus 5 years ago. Since then I have done a number of training and whilst I've changed as a teacher and practitioner, I still value so much of what was offered to us in that first YTT. It was such a beautiful safe space to learn & started me off on the most wonderful journey as a teacher. 5 years on.. I'm still here
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Laura Gotlin Oct 03, 2023

    The absolute best, most comprehensive training out there. I receive compliments all of the time from students and other teachers on my style of teaching. I have FLY to thank for that!

    • General Comments

      The absolute best, most comprehensive training out there. I receive compliments all of the time from students and other teachers on my style of teaching. I have FLY to thank for that!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Marina Vega Jul 11, 2023
    Training Program held on Jan 09, 2016—Jan 30, 2016

    Training with Vidya Heisel and the team at Suryalila was a life changing experience. The Frog Lotus 200 hour Vinyasa Flow yoga teacher training is both comprehensive and unique. Since I graduated in 2016, I have taken many other trainings and met other teachers who have trained elsewhere. Based on their experiences of their foundational trainings, I am proud to be a FLY graduate. I truly feel that we were set up for success as a yoga teacher (if that is what we wanted), in addition to honoring and respecting both the heritage and culture of yoga. When you train with Frog Lotus International, you learn to teach yoga holistically, respecting its roots, as it is intended. I am incredibly grateful for the teachings I still gain from Suryalila, albeit from a distance.

    • General Comments

      Training with Vidya Heisel and the team at Suryalila was a life changing experience. The Frog Lotus 200 hour Vinyasa Flow yoga teacher training is both comprehensive and unique. Since I graduated in 2016, I have taken many other trainings and met other teachers who have trained elsewhere. Based on their experiences of their foundational trainings, I am proud to be a FLY graduate. I truly feel that we were set up for success as a yoga teacher (if that is what we wanted), in addition to honoring and respecting both the heritage and culture of yoga. When you train with Frog Lotus International, you learn to teach yoga holistically, respecting its roots, as it is intended. I am incredibly grateful for the teachings I still gain from Suryalila, albeit from a distance.
First Registered August 2003

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 276

By Nora Thaler E-RYT® 200

May 17, 2024

I loved the YTT with these amazing teachers and detailed explanations, the incredible surrounding at Ananda Cottages. I really felt prepared to teach after my YTT in Indonesia. Full Review

By Reo Bartosz RYT® 200

Apr 09, 2024

Full Review

All Reviews (276)

Teaching Staff

Alicia Bargh Alicia Bargh

E-RYT® 500

Vidya Heisel

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Katrina Petney

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jennifer Yarro Jennifer Yarro

E-RYT® 500, RPYT®

Bruna Pons

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance