Search

Sweet Momma Yoga

4.86

Based on 7 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.6/10


Connect with Us

2688 W Hickory Grove Rd

Bloomfield Hills, MI, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

English

About Sweet Momma Yoga

The grand transition birth-givers go through is often undervalued in our modern culture. Too much emphasis is on baby(ies); rather than birther.  Sweet Momma Yoga Prenatal Yoga Teacher Training offers a wealth of information for yoga teachers and health care professionals...

The grand transition birth-givers go through is often undervalued in our modern culture. Too much emphasis is on baby(ies); rather than birther. 

Sweet Momma Yoga Prenatal Yoga Teacher Training offers a wealth of information for yoga teachers and health care professionals (i.e. midwives, doulas, perinatal specialists, etc.) to uplift their students/patients at this miraculous time in life. 

My aim is to cultivate greater understanding and confidence in pregnancy, the birthing process, postpartum recovery, and parenthood. 

As a graduate of SMY 100-hour PYTT you will be able to effectively and creatively instruct prenatal and postnatal yoga practices, gain a solid foundation to build your yoga business, and truly develop a deep knowledge of this sacred phase of life: fertility, conception, pregnancy, childbirth, and postpartum to support your students with wisdom and love.

A 10-hour virtual Prenatal Yoga Teacher Basic Certification course is at your fingertips to get started on your journey supporting those in pregnancy. Go at your own pace, plus two private mentoring sessions with me, Elise Bowerman.

To join the next 100-hour PYTT and view details: SweetMommaYoga.com

First Registered January 2017

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Angela Arnold Aug 02, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 08, 2017—Nov 12, 2017

    Sweet Momma Yoga teacher training was an amazing experience. I learned so much and am able to confidently adapt any yoga class to be expectant momma friendly. I cannot recommend this teacher training enough!

    • General Comments

      Sweet Momma Yoga teacher training was an amazing experience. I learned so much and am able to confidently adapt any yoga class to be expectant momma friendly. I cannot recommend this teacher training enough!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Colleen (CJ) Campbell Apr 06, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 24, 2020—Mar 08, 2020

  • 4 out of 5
    By: Katie Jo Ziegler Nov 30, 2020
    Training Program held on Sep 08, 2017—Nov 12, 2017

    I really enjoyed the relaxing and intimate setting at Elise's home and getting to know the other women taking the training.

    • General Comments

      I really enjoyed the relaxing and intimate setting at Elise's home and getting to know the other women taking the training.
    School response
    Sweet Momma Yoga
    Dec 01, 2020
    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, Katie Jo. So glad you enjoyed space and the smaller class size helped to build relationships within the group.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lauren Hodson Sep 03, 2020
    Training Program held on Sep 07, 2019—Oct 20, 2019

    Sweet Momma Yoga teach Training was amazing. I recommend Elise's training to anyone who is looking to learn more about prenatal yoga.

    • General Comments

      Sweet Momma Yoga teach Training was amazing. I recommend Elise's training to anyone who is looking to learn more about prenatal yoga.
    School response
    Sweet Momma Yoga
    Sep 03, 2020
    Thank you for carving out time to share your review, Lauren. It was wonderful having your expertise as a birth doula in the 85-hour Prenatal Yoga Teacher Training course; affirming what we offer in prenatal yoga practices. Thank you for participating in this program.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lindsay Saie Nov 15, 2019
    Training Program held on Feb 02, 2018—Mar 11, 2018

    • Syllabus Reflection

      To what extent do you feel this program met the following learning objective; The student will become confident with human anatomy within the context of teaching yoga

      Entirely

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      1.
      Develop an understanding of the physical and emotional considerations in pregnancy and postpartum.

      Entirely

      2.
      Be able to effectively create an outline and instruct prenatal and postnatal yoga practices.

      Entirely

      3.
      Gain resources to cultivate partner prenatal yoga practices along with other creative pregnancy and postpartum workshops.

      Entirely

      4.
      Understand how energy works within the body, how to tap into the awareness for our students with teaching techniques, and understand how our energy as a yoga teacher may affect our students.

      Entirely

      5.
      Students will develop a foundation to strategize for a successful yoga business of their own.

      6.
      Sweet Momma Yoga’s prenatal yoga teacher training prepares its trainees sufficiently to customize the principles and techniques of yoga for the specific needs of pregnant women.

      Entirely

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jeanna Kiehle Mar 19, 2019
    Training Program held on Sep 08, 2017—Nov 12, 2017

    Thank you so very much for everything! I really love your caring and direct-with-love teaching style. You kept me very engaged; learning far more than I thought possible about the birthing experience and myself. I also really appreciate your emphasis on supporting the mothers to trust their instants and for us, as teachers, to trust ours. At least for me, your continued patience, trust, encouragement and confidence really helps me to open-up, extend my boundaries and become more comfortable in the non-physical aspects of teaching. The training’s mixture of background, industry theories, reasons behind specific teaching/pose choices mixed with hands on practice and actual classes made absorbing the information and incorporating the knowledge far more successful. I agree there needs to be more prenatal yoga teachers that are trained and willing to dive deeper in their classes into what mind, body and baby are experiencing through the entire process. Great job making this a reality with your training. Every one of the teachers trained by you that I have encountered are awesome as people and teachers with their own style but similar mission. Thank you so very much again, Elise, for opening your home, heart, classes and life to us! With deepest gratitude, Jeanna

    • Syllabus Reflection

      To what extent do you feel this program met the following learning objective; The student will become confident with human anatomy within the context of teaching yoga

      Entirely

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      1.
      Develop an understanding of the physical and emotional considerations in pregnancy and postpartum.

      Entirely

      2.
      Be able to effectively create an outline and instruct prenatal and postnatal yoga practices.

      Entirely

      3.
      Gain resources to cultivate partner prenatal yoga practices along with other creative pregnancy and postpartum workshops.

      Entirely

      4.
      Understand how energy works within the body, how to tap into the awareness for our students with teaching techniques, and understand how our energy as a yoga teacher may affect our students.

      Entirely

      5.
      Students will develop a foundation to strategize for a successful yoga business of their own.

      6.
      Sweet Momma Yoga’s prenatal yoga teacher training prepares its trainees sufficiently to customize the principles and techniques of yoga for the specific needs of pregnant women.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Thank you so very much for everything! I really love your caring and direct-with-love teaching style. You kept me very engaged; learning far more than I thought possible about the birthing experience and myself. I also really appreciate your emphasis on supporting the mothers to trust their instants and for us, as teachers, to trust ours. At least for me, your continued patience, trust, encouragement and confidence really helps me to open-up, extend my boundaries and become more comfortable in the non-physical aspects of teaching. The training’s mixture of background, industry theories, reasons behind specific teaching/pose choices mixed with hands on practice and actual classes made absorbing the information and incorporating the knowledge far more successful. I agree there needs to be more prenatal yoga teachers that are trained and willing to dive deeper in their classes into what mind, body and baby are experiencing through the entire process. Great job making this a reality with your training. Every one of the teachers trained by you that I have encountered are awesome as people and teachers with their own style but similar mission. Thank you so very much again, Elise, for opening your home, heart, classes and life to us! With deepest gratitude, Jeanna
    School response
    Sweet Momma Yoga
    Mar 19, 2019
    Thank you for taking the time to share this heart-warming and affirming review, Jeanna.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Negarina Cooper Nov 27, 2018

    Elise is very Knowledgeable and I HIGHLY recommend her school.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Sweet Momma Yoga’s prenatal yoga teacher training prepares its trainees sufficiently to customize the principles and techniques of yoga for the specific needs of pregnant women.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Elise is very Knowledgeable and I HIGHLY recommend her school.
    School response
    Sweet Momma Yoga
    Nov 27, 2018
    Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Negar.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered January 2017

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 7

By Angela Arnold RYT® 200, RPYT®

Aug 02, 2021

Sweet Momma Yoga teacher training was an amazing experience. I learned so much and am able to confidently adapt any yoga class to be expectant momma friendly. I cannot recommend this teacher training enough! Full Review

By Colleen (CJ) Campbell RYT® 200, RPYT®

Apr 06, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (7)

Teaching Staff

Elise Bowerman

E-RYT® 500, RPYT®, YACEP®

Adria Moses

RYT® 200

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance