Search

The Raja Center

4.95

Based on 33 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.7/10


Connect with Us

2272 Elm Street

Stratford, CT, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

About The Raja Center (formerly The Jiiva School of Yoga)

The Raja Center, formerly The Jiiva School of Yoga, Teacher Training programs are comprehensive programs that will inspire you to teach, deepen your practice, unlock your potential and transform your understanding of yoga with a mind, body, spirit connection unlike any...

The Raja Center, formerly The Jiiva School of Yoga, Teacher Training programs are comprehensive programs that will inspire you to teach, deepen your practice, unlock your potential and transform your understanding of yoga with a mind, body, spirit connection unlike any you have encountered. 

 

The Raja Center’s Teacher Trainers are mother and son, Berta Prevosti and Mingo Perez.

 

Berta is a Student of Raja Yoga & Metaphysical Studies. Her Dharma in this life is to continue to study and teach on many different subject matters. She lectures regularly on Astanga - Eight Limbs of Yoga, The Chakras, Healing, and Disease, as well as the teaching of The Bhagavad Gita, Raja Yoga & Meditation

 

She is available to consult with Yoga Teacher Training Programs and Teach CEU's 

 

Berta is the Co-owner of Rajayogini LLC. She is also the Founder of Jiiva Yoga, Healing & Meditation Center in Stratford, CT, and the founder of their 200 and 30 Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

 

Berta completed her first 500 YTT with the Late Roberta Dale Fortune, as well as studying Astanga Yoga from Jon Borus in 1999.  Berta is a certified Phoenix Rising Yoga Therapist from the Kripalu Institute of Yoga. Berta is an E-YRT 500hr certified Yoga Alliance Teacher as well as a YACEP provider, with over 1000 hours of CEU’s.

 

Domingo has been practicing asana yoga since he was fifteen and discovered the vast world of yoga that goes beyond the asana a few years after that point.  He has spent hundreds of hours exploring his own practice on the mat which has translated to clear, conscious direction while teaching. Mingo has deepened his practice by traveling to India to study ashtanga with Pattabhi Joi's daughter, Saraswathi, and also began to meditate.

 

 Having felt first-hand the transformative powers that yoga, meditation, and conscious breathing can bring to life, he has spent the last 8 years teaching his students what he has learned.  Always with patience, always with compassion, you will find his class rejuvenating and challenging.  

 

Mingo is certified as an E-RYT 500 and YACEP with Yoga Alliance.  

First Registered December 2016

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nellie Padin Feb 26, 2024
    Training Program held on Feb 05, 2022—Jan 22, 2023

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christine Guerrera Jan 22, 2024
    Training Program held on Feb 05, 2022—Jan 22, 2023

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kim Ramalho May 11, 2023
    Training Program held on Feb 05, 2022—Jan 22, 2023

    The Raja Yoga School is a wonderful, comprehensive Yoga Teacher Training Program with the most knowledgeable, compassionate trainers. It was a truly amazing experience learning from them!

    • General Comments

      The Raja Yoga School is a wonderful, comprehensive Yoga Teacher Training Program with the most knowledgeable, compassionate trainers. It was a truly amazing experience learning from them!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christine Guerrera Jun 30, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    The Raja Center and teacher training has become one of my most treasured experiences in life!

    • General Comments

      The Raja Center and teacher training has become one of my most treasured experiences in life!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jeff Bousquet May 27, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    Berta and Domingo instilled the confidence in myself to be able to use my voice to help myself continue to grow through teaching as well as others. I recommend this school to anyone I know looking to take their spiritual journey to another level with patient guidance. The physical and metaphysical. I truly believe these two instructors saved my life in ways I may never even know.

    • General Comments

      Berta and Domingo instilled the confidence in myself to be able to use my voice to help myself continue to grow through teaching as well as others. I recommend this school to anyone I know looking to take their spiritual journey to another level with patient guidance. The physical and metaphysical. I truly believe these two instructors saved my life in ways I may never even know.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Montserrat Russell Apr 03, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    Could not have asked for better teachers in Berta and Mingo.

    • General Comments

      Could not have asked for better teachers in Berta and Mingo.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katie Pecor Feb 24, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    When I think of Raja and my experience with Berta and Mingo, I think of compassion, love, and acceptance. Receiving my 200hr YTT through the Raja Center has been one of the best things I've done for myself. I am so very grateful for the wisdom they shared and the compassion we were greeted with from day one. I have grown so much through this program and look forward to continuing my physical and metaphysical studies with them.

    • General Comments

      When I think of Raja and my experience with Berta and Mingo, I think of compassion, love, and acceptance. Receiving my 200hr YTT through the Raja Center has been one of the best things I've done for myself. I am so very grateful for the wisdom they shared and the compassion we were greeted with from day one. I have grown so much through this program and look forward to continuing my physical and metaphysical studies with them.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Vivian Smith Feb 01, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    I loved the 200 YTT with Berta and Mingo. We received a well-rounded education in the yoga poses, pranayama breathing techniques, meditation, philosophy, and history of yoga. It was a pleasure to connect with my wonderful classmates and caring teachers. This program changed my life and I highly recommend it.

    • General Comments

      I loved the 200 YTT with Berta and Mingo. We received a well-rounded education in the yoga poses, pranayama breathing techniques, meditation, philosophy, and history of yoga. It was a pleasure to connect with my wonderful classmates and caring teachers. This program changed my life and I highly recommend it.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nellie Padin Jan 30, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 20, 2021—Jan 09, 2022

    The Raja Center commits to teaching a full spiritual yoga practice including The Eight Limbs of Yoga, The Bhagavad Gita and The Yogas Sutras to only name a few. Berta and Mingo are highly knowledgeable, devoted and supportive teachers who have elevated my yoga journey. High recommend this school!

    • General Comments

      The Raja Center commits to teaching a full spiritual yoga practice including The Eight Limbs of Yoga, The Bhagavad Gita and The Yogas Sutras to only name a few. Berta and Mingo are highly knowledgeable, devoted and supportive teachers who have elevated my yoga journey. High recommend this school!
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Renee Crainer Nov 14, 2021

First Registered December 2016

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 33

By Nellie Padin RYT® 500

Feb 26, 2024

Full Review

By Christine Guerrera RYT® 500

Jan 22, 2024

Full Review

All Reviews (33)

Teaching Staff

Mingo Perez

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Berta Prevosti

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Maryanna Harrington

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (3)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance