Search

Cloud Nine Yoga School

4.79

Based on 332 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.8/10


7 more Locations

Connect with Us

Kapaʻa, HI, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Cloud Nine Yoga & OG Yoga at The Collective Impact Center
3295 Meade Avenue
San Diego, CA, USA

Cloud Nine Yoga at Aspire Wellness Studio
2303 W Whittier Blvd
La Habra, CA, USA

Cloud Nine Yoga at FreeSpirit Yoga Studio
3910 Atlantic Avenue
Long Beach, CA, USA

Cloud Nine Yoga at Home Yoga
28544 Old Town Front Street
Temecula, CA, United States

Cloud Nine Yoga at Rebe Yogini
9850 South Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV, USA

Cloud Nine Yoga at the Center for Compassion & Connection
2900 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA, USA

Cloud Nine Yoga at Toula Studio
2720 1st Avenue Northeast
Cedar Rapids, IA, United States

About Cloud Nine Yoga

Aloha and Welcome to a Yoga School that has specialized in training Yoga Teachers for over 22 years. Our humble beginnings started in California in 1999 and since then, Cloud Nine Yoga has developed an incredibly diverse, holistic, and accessible 200-hour and a 300-hour...

Aloha and Welcome to a Yoga School that has specialized in training Yoga Teachers for over 22 years.

Our humble beginnings started in California in 1999 and since then, Cloud Nine Yoga has developed an incredibly diverse, holistic, and accessible 200-hour and a 300-hour Yoga Teacher Certification Courses, as well as Pre/Post Natal Yoga & Children's Yoga Certification, and curriculum that extends into Trauma-sensitive practices, yogic philosophy, Ayurveda, and Yin/Restorative Yoga.

We have been Registered with Yoga Alliance since 2002 and have the professionalism, longevity, and accountability that make us a highly respected and credible community organization. Every trainer has an E-RYT 500 teaching designation and a minimum 10 years experience in the field of Yoga. The founder and lead educator, Erika Faith Calig, has taught for over 26 years. She built the School with an emphasis on recognizing diverse learning styles so every student can feel supported and empowered. Curriculum for all courses blend academics with intuition, playfulness with methodology, practicum with heart-felt encouragement.

The trainers and support staff take pride in bringing a high quality education to our students. With a focus on Yoga for Mental Health, we teach 'permission-based' Yoga -- meaning: all practitioners are intiated into movement through alignment cues and invitational language. Practitioners are given tools and a variety of options to adapt the practice to their own body, mood, and conditions. We bring the practice of Yoga down-to-earth and help weave the teachings into all aspects of life.

We teach Hatha Yoga, which is an umbrella term for ALL Yoga styles that link Asana, Pranayama, and Dhyana (postures, breath, meditation). We don't want to live in a box, so we call it "the fun kind of yoga" - the type of Yoga where people laugh, learn, integrate, and grow. 

What matters most to us? Authenticity, peace, and kindness. We strive to find bliss, joy, and meaning in all we do. We care about people more than poses. We honor the Earth and all her creatures. We know that we are in collaborative creation with all Life. So, we promote sharing and caring in every way. Our students become family and we offer generous opportunities for spiritual development and a conscious lifestyle combined with promoting healthy respect for our planet's resources.

Our School is in-person and virtual, hybrid, and traditional. We flex our creativity by providing students with a wide range of learning environments. You can come to an immersion in Kauai, find a school in a location near you, learn in real-time online through Zoom, or acquire certification through a powerful self-paced course on our savvy Online platform. No matter what you choose, we are with you, every step of the way. You are not a number or a dollar sign -- you are a person and we are invested in your education.

Mahalo Nui Loa for reading about Cloud Nine Yoga School. 

First Registered April 2002

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jolie Sheppick Sep 15, 2021

    Cloud Nine Yoga teacher training changed my body, heart, mind and soul for the better. It opened a whole new world and perspective on the meaning and practice of yoga. It has allowed me to expand my capacity both physically and mentally so that I can help make all the 8 limbs of yoga more accessible for others. Erika Faith is a true inspiration on how to care for oneself and others through the lens of permissive and tolerant yoga styles and practices.

    • General Comments

      Cloud Nine Yoga teacher training changed my body, heart, mind and soul for the better. It opened a whole new world and perspective on the meaning and practice of yoga. It has allowed me to expand my capacity both physically and mentally so that I can help make all the 8 limbs of yoga more accessible for others. Erika Faith is a true inspiration on how to care for oneself and others through the lens of permissive and tolerant yoga styles and practices.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Thashawna Johnson Sep 05, 2021

    Cloud Nine Yoga is such a warm and welcoming program. This teacher training gave me solid tools, opportunities to reflect and grow, and be in authentic community with others.

    • General Comments

      Cloud Nine Yoga is such a warm and welcoming program. This teacher training gave me solid tools, opportunities to reflect and grow, and be in authentic community with others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sara Musekamp Jul 08, 2021

    HIghly recommend! Erika is an excellent and well-rounded instructor and was a great mentor during my 300 hour journey.

    • General Comments

      HIghly recommend! Erika is an excellent and well-rounded instructor and was a great mentor during my 300 hour journey.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Heather Kilgore Jul 01, 2021

    Training with Cloud Nine Yoga was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I have already recommended this YTT to my friends.

    • General Comments

      Training with Cloud Nine Yoga was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I have already recommended this YTT to my friends.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Swenson Jun 30, 2021

    I am so impressed by Erika’s ability to communicate, connect, & inspire with her accumulated knowledge & experiences. She has opened my eyes brightly to yoga traditions that I had not been so thoroughly exposed to in my previous gym & studio practices. I carry this inspiration with me as I embark on further journeys, with excitement to learn, grow, & discover how I may find my unique service!

    • General Comments

      I am so impressed by Erika’s ability to communicate, connect, & inspire with her accumulated knowledge & experiences. She has opened my eyes brightly to yoga traditions that I had not been so thoroughly exposed to in my previous gym & studio practices. I carry this inspiration with me as I embark on further journeys, with excitement to learn, grow, & discover how I may find my unique service!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Dana Judas OConnell Jun 06, 2021

    My instructors were very knowledgeable and always prepared. I really enjoyed my course.

    • General Comments

      My instructors were very knowledgeable and always prepared. I really enjoyed my course.
  • Erin and Andrea were/ are great to work with. They were very informative and supportive. They have continued to provide me guidance and support after I was certified.

    • General Comments

      Erin and Andrea were/ are great to work with. They were very informative and supportive. They have continued to provide me guidance and support after I was certified.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Emily Hotchkiss May 11, 2021

    Would recommend Cloud 9 to anyone wanting to teach yoga and/or expand their knowledge of yoga and more.

    • General Comments

      Would recommend Cloud 9 to anyone wanting to teach yoga and/or expand their knowledge of yoga and more.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Dani Forrest Apr 10, 2021

    An amazing experience - Erika is a compassionate and empathic expert guide who holds a phenomenal space for learning and growth. I did my entire 500-hr training with her and feel utterly blessed - as well as confident in my own teaching practice!

    • General Comments

      An amazing experience - Erika is a compassionate and empathic expert guide who holds a phenomenal space for learning and growth. I did my entire 500-hr training with her and feel utterly blessed - as well as confident in my own teaching practice!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Izabela Restivo Apr 10, 2021

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered April 2002

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 332

By Jolie Sheppick RYT® 200

Sep 15, 2021

Cloud Nine Yoga teacher training changed my body, heart, mind and soul for the better. It opened a whole new world and perspective on the meaning and practice of yoga. It has allowed me to expand my capacity both physically and mentally so that I can help make all the 8 limbs of yoga more accessible for others. Erika Faith is a true inspiration on how to care for oneself and others through the lens of permissive and tolerant yoga styles and practices. Full Review

By Thashawna Johnson RYT® 200

Sep 05, 2021

Cloud Nine Yoga is such a warm and welcoming program. This teacher training gave me solid tools, opportunities to reflect and grow, and be in authentic community with others. Full Review

All Reviews (332)

Teaching Staff

Adriane Alvarez

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Erika Faith

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Trinity Capili

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Linda Crossley

E-RYT® 500

Athena Engelman

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Corrine Barrios Gamino

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

JoAnn Jaffe

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Tiffany Hazelbaker

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

April Matulich

E-RYT® 500

Erin McGuire

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Andrea Franz Parks

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Crystal Rios Crystal Rios

E-RYT® 500

Rebecca (Rebe) Taylor

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Dani Forrest

RYT® 500

Katie Walter

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (15)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance