Search

Denver Yoga Underground

4.79

Based on 107 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.8/10


Connect with Us

3250 East 6th Avenue

Denver, CO, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

ENGLISH

About Denver Yoga Underground

Denver is a hotbed for yoga and there are plenty of places to practice.  Where do the people who want to step out of the limelight and learn the deeper roots and tradition go? Denver Yoga Underground is a safe haven for those seeking a diverse and welcoming environment...

Denver is a hotbed for yoga and there are plenty of places to practice.  Where do the people who want to step out of the limelight and learn the deeper roots and tradition go?


Denver Yoga Underground is a safe haven for those seeking a diverse and welcoming environment for in-depth yoga training, to mature spiritually, and grow into dedicated agents of good in their lives, and in the lives of their communities.


We uphold this vision through our Pay What You Can style workshops - with some of Denver’s leading teachers - mountain yoga retreats and our yoga teacher training.


Our hatha yoga-based training is our signature offering and features: traditional theory, dedicated periods of pranayama and meditation, ayurvedic lifestyle consultation, asana study, and student teaching, all within a safe and welcoming environment.  You can find out a lot more about our ytt and the content by visiting our website.


Though we’ve kept a pretty low profile over the years, we’ve been a force for grassroots style yoga programs since 2003. We base most of our programs out of a historic and very progressive church on 6th and Adams St., our underground HQ.


As another point of information, we partner with socially-minded organizations (such as Yoga for the People) who provide yoga classes to communities in need.  These joint projects serve to educate yoga teachers citywide, and channel resources to these organizations and the marginalized populations they serve.


Examples of where students have gone on to teach include:  businesses, refugee populations, mental health agencies, community/recreation centers, seniors, people in recovery, hospitals, the military, board members for yoga-related nonprofit, become studio owners, teach in studios, classes for people of color, trauma-sensitive classes, sheriff’s department, athletic clubs and more.


We’re not a studio, but rather, focus on workshops, retreats, and teacher training for yogis who’d rather practice outside the mainstream fold, grow inwardly and become secret agents of good in the world through their self-conduct and ability to teach.

First Registered August 2004

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Krystal Kamback Oct 25, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Liz Beers Sep 07, 2021

    DYU's commitment to honoring Yoga lineage is beyond compare. It is very clear from the moment a student applies what is expected of them and what the program entails. After completing the program, I truly feel as though I have grown not only as a student of Yoga, but as a human. Mentally, spiritually, and physically, the DYU student is challenged and educated on every aspect of living a Yoga lifestyle. I cannot speak highly enough of this program and look forward to being part of their community for many years.

    • General Comments

      DYU's commitment to honoring Yoga lineage is beyond compare. It is very clear from the moment a student applies what is expected of them and what the program entails. After completing the program, I truly feel as though I have grown not only as a student of Yoga, but as a human. Mentally, spiritually, and physically, the DYU student is challenged and educated on every aspect of living a Yoga lifestyle. I cannot speak highly enough of this program and look forward to being part of their community for many years.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Claudia Bradley Aug 15, 2021

    The yoga teacher training at DYU surpassed all expectations I had going in to teacher training. This program was exactly what I didn't know I needed with in-depth dives into ancient yogic philosophy, pranayama and meditation techniques, and a study of Ayurveda. I am coming out of this teacher training eager to continue my own personal practice and I feel prepared to use the teaching skills I have gained over 11 weeks. This program pays homage to the true roots of yoga and is set up with a great mix of asana practices, pose workshops, student teaching exercises, and demos to prepare us students with a sturdy base knowledge of how to teach yoga and grow further as a student and teacher. This accelerated pace allowed me to fully immerse in the study of yoga while still working a full time job during the weekdays. The team is made up of incredible, welcoming, and passionate instructors and I was able to form great friendships with the teachers and other students. I recommend this teacher training to any student that wishes to deepen their practice and learn the key fundamental skills of being a great teacher.

    • General Comments

      The yoga teacher training at DYU surpassed all expectations I had going in to teacher training. This program was exactly what I didn't know I needed with in-depth dives into ancient yogic philosophy, pranayama and meditation techniques, and a study of Ayurveda. I am coming out of this teacher training eager to continue my own personal practice and I feel prepared to use the teaching skills I have gained over 11 weeks. This program pays homage to the true roots of yoga and is set up with a great mix of asana practices, pose workshops, student teaching exercises, and demos to prepare us students with a sturdy base knowledge of how to teach yoga and grow further as a student and teacher. This accelerated pace allowed me to fully immerse in the study of yoga while still working a full time job during the weekdays. The team is made up of incredible, welcoming, and passionate instructors and I was able to form great friendships with the teachers and other students. I recommend this teacher training to any student that wishes to deepen their practice and learn the key fundamental skills of being a great teacher.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Hannah Dorr Jun 16, 2021

    DYU is a wonderful community/school that offers many great workshops as well as The 200 hour teacher training I took. The course happened over a time frame of 3 1/2 months, giving plenty of time to absorb the material while also keeping up with the demands of non yoga life. The instructors are all wonderful and you can tell that they care about the art of skillful teaching. This is a program that is deeply rooted in passing along the ancient tradition of yoga. Besides daily asana and meditation, outside class you will be expected to begin daily sadhana and do an experiment on ayurveda. The class is a very supportive environment and we all are encouraged to listen to each other and give support where its needed. After my journey with DYU I am both sad its over but also feel confidant in all the tools they provided me, This 200 RYT will make sure you are ready to teach by the end of the program, which is celebrated with a wonderful evening of teaching friends and family. If you want a teacher training that aims to teach with compassion whilst honoring ancient traditions this is the one :) Thank you so much Derik, Brenna, Beth and Tushta!

    • General Comments

      DYU is a wonderful community/school that offers many great workshops as well as The 200 hour teacher training I took. The course happened over a time frame of 3 1/2 months, giving plenty of time to absorb the material while also keeping up with the demands of non yoga life. The instructors are all wonderful and you can tell that they care about the art of skillful teaching. This is a program that is deeply rooted in passing along the ancient tradition of yoga. Besides daily asana and meditation, outside class you will be expected to begin daily sadhana and do an experiment on ayurveda. The class is a very supportive environment and we all are encouraged to listen to each other and give support where its needed. After my journey with DYU I am both sad its over but also feel confidant in all the tools they provided me, This 200 RYT will make sure you are ready to teach by the end of the program, which is celebrated with a wonderful evening of teaching friends and family. If you want a teacher training that aims to teach with compassion whilst honoring ancient traditions this is the one :) Thank you so much Derik, Brenna, Beth and Tushta!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Neli Dokova Mar 30, 2021

    This program changed my entire life! Derik and Brenna were beyond supportive and educative in the training, and provided a safe space for everyone to be themselves. I will always be beyond grateful to all the connections I've made, and the transformation and knowledge I've gained. Thank you all so much!

    • General Comments

      This program changed my entire life! Derik and Brenna were beyond supportive and educative in the training, and provided a safe space for everyone to be themselves. I will always be beyond grateful to all the connections I've made, and the transformation and knowledge I've gained. Thank you all so much!
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Tracy Dawn Mar 09, 2021

    My cohort met for several months in person before the COVID pandemic restricted in-person meetings. Derik did a great job at moving our classes to on-line learning. There were many challenges with technology but Derik did not let it phase him, which should his true yogi spirit. Overall, my experience at Denver Yoga Underground was good. I was seeking yoga teaching training that would expand my knowledge of yoga theory and spirituality which is exactly what I received. I plan to take continuing education with Denver Yoga Underground and would love it it they offered an additional 300 hour training.

    • General Comments

      My cohort met for several months in person before the COVID pandemic restricted in-person meetings. Derik did a great job at moving our classes to on-line learning. There were many challenges with technology but Derik did not let it phase him, which should his true yogi spirit. Overall, my experience at Denver Yoga Underground was good. I was seeking yoga teaching training that would expand my knowledge of yoga theory and spirituality which is exactly what I received. I plan to take continuing education with Denver Yoga Underground and would love it it they offered an additional 300 hour training.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jen Chavez Feb 03, 2021

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Tiffany Boston Feb 02, 2021

    Denver Yoga Underground is a very good school. The material covered was very comprehensive. Curriculum was focused on many arms of yoga not just asana, as well as projects that had you experience things for yourself. The projects and focus on meditation are great strengths of this program. There was also a community and accessibility focus that was honest and teaching. Many opportunities were provided to expand your knowledge and go deeper into the subject matter. In very unexpected and extreme circumstances, Derik held space for each of us to come to class as ourselves and learn and be in community with each other. I am forever grateful for my spring 2020 YTT.

    • General Comments

      Denver Yoga Underground is a very good school. The material covered was very comprehensive. Curriculum was focused on many arms of yoga not just asana, as well as projects that had you experience things for yourself. The projects and focus on meditation are great strengths of this program. There was also a community and accessibility focus that was honest and teaching. Many opportunities were provided to expand your knowledge and go deeper into the subject matter. In very unexpected and extreme circumstances, Derik held space for each of us to come to class as ourselves and learn and be in community with each other. I am forever grateful for my spring 2020 YTT.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Laura Jan 14, 2021

    It was an honor to grow with such lovely souls through this pandemic out of left field. I wouldn't trade this experience for anything.

    • General Comments

      It was an honor to grow with such lovely souls through this pandemic out of left field. I wouldn't trade this experience for anything.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Beth Kelley Jan 12, 2021

    Denver Yoga Underground was the perfect fit for me. Signing up for a YTT for me, meant rewriting a story I had that said "I can't do things like that"...yet...when I met Derik and the other teachers I knew I belonged there. Derik cultivates community and honors Yoga so beautifully. The program is comprehensive, inclusive and not just for bendy people :). I highly recommend this school.

    • General Comments

      Denver Yoga Underground was the perfect fit for me. Signing up for a YTT for me, meant rewriting a story I had that said "I can't do things like that"...yet...when I met Derik and the other teachers I knew I belonged there. Derik cultivates community and honors Yoga so beautifully. The program is comprehensive, inclusive and not just for bendy people :). I highly recommend this school.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Yoga Therapy Policy in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2004

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 107

By Krystal Kamback RYT® 200

Oct 25, 2021

Full Review

By Liz Beers RYT® 200

Sep 07, 2021

DYU's commitment to honoring Yoga lineage is beyond compare. It is very clear from the moment a student applies what is expected of them and what the program entails. After completing the program, I truly feel as though I have grown not only as a student of Yoga, but as a human. Mentally, spiritually, and physically, the DYU student is challenged and educated on every aspect of living a Yoga lifestyle. I cannot speak highly enough of this program and look forward to being part of their community for many years. Full Review

All Reviews (107)

Teaching Staff

Derik Eselius

E-RYT® 500

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance