Search

Denver Yoga Underground

4.79

Based on 117 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.8/10


Connect with Us

3250 East 6th Avenue

Denver, CO, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

ENGLISH

About Denver Yoga Underground

Denver is a hotbed for yoga and there are plenty of places to practice.  Where do the people who want to step out of the limelight and learn the deeper roots and tradition go? Denver Yoga Underground is a safe haven for those seeking a diverse and welcoming environment...

Denver is a hotbed for yoga and there are plenty of places to practice.  Where do the people who want to step out of the limelight and learn the deeper roots and tradition go?


Denver Yoga Underground is a safe haven for those seeking a diverse and welcoming environment for in-depth yoga training, to mature spiritually, and grow into dedicated agents of good in their lives, and in the lives of their communities.


We uphold this vision through our Pay What You Can style workshops - with some of Denver’s leading teachers - mountain yoga retreats and our yoga teacher training.


Our hatha yoga-based training is our signature offering and features: traditional theory, dedicated periods of pranayama and meditation, ayurvedic lifestyle consultation, asana study, and student teaching, all within a safe and welcoming environment.  You can find out a lot more about our ytt and the content by visiting our website.


Though we’ve kept a pretty low profile over the years, we’ve been a force for grassroots style yoga programs since 2003. We base most of our programs out of a historic and very progressive church on 6th and Adams St., our underground HQ.


As another point of information, we partner with socially-minded organizations (such as Yoga for the People) who provide yoga classes to communities in need.  These joint projects serve to educate yoga teachers citywide, and channel resources to these organizations and the marginalized populations they serve.


Examples of where students have gone on to teach include:  businesses, refugee populations, mental health agencies, community/recreation centers, seniors, people in recovery, hospitals, the military, board members for yoga-related nonprofit, become studio owners, teach in studios, classes for people of color, trauma-sensitive classes, sheriff’s department, athletic clubs and more.


We’re not a studio, but rather, focus on workshops, retreats, and teacher training for yogis who’d rather practice outside the mainstream fold, grow inwardly and become secret agents of good in the world through their self-conduct and ability to teach.

First Registered August 2004

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rosa Ray Jun 13, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Megann St. John May 24, 2022

    I can say only wonderful things about Derik and my experience at DYU. The program is holistic, explores all the limbs of yoga, explores the subtle body and energy systems, deepened my understanding of myself and the world around me.

    • General Comments

      I can say only wonderful things about Derik and my experience at DYU. The program is holistic, explores all the limbs of yoga, explores the subtle body and energy systems, deepened my understanding of myself and the world around me.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Juliana Merighi May 20, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rebecca Watson Mar 22, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Halle Steingass Feb 07, 2022

    Wonderful program with excellent instructors. One of the most meaningful experiences in my life.

    • General Comments

      Wonderful program with excellent instructors. One of the most meaningful experiences in my life.
    School response
    Denver Yoga Underground
    Feb 09, 2022
    Thank you for your feedback Halle. Yoga has so much to offer us on our life's path, and I so appreciate that our crossed. Best on the path, d.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tracy Grobbel Jan 26, 2022

    My experience with the yoga teacher training was absolutely amazing! It was so wonderful to learn how to take a passion and turn it into a skill, and at the same time I gained so much more. The focus on yoga theory and compassion for oneself and others was evident in every aspect of the course. Derik and the other teachers created a safe and inclusive space that allowed for our group to connect in a very special way. I am so appreciative for all I have learned, and will use what I have learned in my personal and professional life!

    • General Comments

      My experience with the yoga teacher training was absolutely amazing! It was so wonderful to learn how to take a passion and turn it into a skill, and at the same time I gained so much more. The focus on yoga theory and compassion for oneself and others was evident in every aspect of the course. Derik and the other teachers created a safe and inclusive space that allowed for our group to connect in a very special way. I am so appreciative for all I have learned, and will use what I have learned in my personal and professional life!
    School response
    Denver Yoga Underground
    Jan 26, 2022
    We appreciate that you took a moment to share your reflections. And I am pleased to hear that the course was enriching and that you now feel ready to the practice with others. Wishing you success in your continued practice. d.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Laurén Olivares Jan 11, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kristin Waltz Dec 13, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kelsey Anderson Dec 13, 2021

    I’ve gained so much personal and teaching growth, along with confidence. If I could take this program over again I would without hesitation.

    • General Comments

      I’ve gained so much personal and teaching growth, along with confidence. If I could take this program over again I would without hesitation.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jessica Teabout Nov 12, 2021

    DYU was the best choice I could have made for my 200hr yoga teacher training. Derik and the guest teachers are extremely knowledgable, helpful and compassionate. I appreciate the perspective of keeping yoga true to its roots. The focus on meditation, pranayama, Ayurveda and integration with daily life was exactly the vibe I was looking for in my yogic development. Whether you are considering a new class, retreat or taking the leap into a teacher training, Denver Yoga Underground should be at the top of your list!

    • General Comments

      DYU was the best choice I could have made for my 200hr yoga teacher training. Derik and the guest teachers are extremely knowledgable, helpful and compassionate. I appreciate the perspective of keeping yoga true to its roots. The focus on meditation, pranayama, Ayurveda and integration with daily life was exactly the vibe I was looking for in my yogic development. Whether you are considering a new class, retreat or taking the leap into a teacher training, Denver Yoga Underground should be at the top of your list!
First Registered August 2004

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 117

By Rosa Ray RYT® 200

Jun 13, 2022

Full Review

By Megann St. John RYT® 200

May 24, 2022

I can say only wonderful things about Derik and my experience at DYU. The program is holistic, explores all the limbs of yoga, explores the subtle body and energy systems, deepened my understanding of myself and the world around me. Full Review

All Reviews (117)

Teaching Staff

Derik Eselius

E-RYT® 500

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance