Search

extendYoga Teacher Training Program

4.96

Based on 47 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 10/10


Connect with Us

12106 Wilkins Avenue

North Bethesda, MD, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Languages

English

About extendYoga Teacher Training Program

200-HOUR YOGA TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM Whether you are interested in learning about the art of teaching yoga or would like to deepen your own practice, our Yoga Teacher Training Program will prepare you to empower yourself and others on the path of self-transformation....

200-HOUR YOGA TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM

Whether you are interested in learning about the art of teaching yoga or would like to deepen your own practice, our Yoga Teacher Training Program will prepare you to empower yourself and others on the path of self-transformation. As we explore the history of yoga, yoga philosophy, and the anatomical and energetic aspects of the human body, you will have the unique opportunity to study the ancient practice of yoga asana, pranayama and meditation and discover a deeper understanding of yoga and its relevance in modern day life.


You will be given all the tools needed to successfully take the seat of the teacher with confidence and enthusiasm. Outside of scheduled training hours, you will expand your self-awareness and knowledge of yoga through self-study, group projects, selected readings and assignments, class observation, practice-teaching, and individual seva (community service) projects. Be prepared to work hard and extend beyond your comfort zone so that you can reach your full potential as a teacher and student. Most importantly, be prepared to discover your own unique gifts and learn how to share them with others.

  • TRAINING TOPICS INCLUDE:

*History and Philosophy of Yoga
*Physiological, psychological and spiritual aspects of asana, pranayama, and meditation
*Basic anatomy and physiology of the physical body and subtle energetic body
*Intensives including: ethics, Ayurveda, Sanskrit, mythology, sequencing, theming, marketing & the business of yoga, teaching online/virtually
*How to support DEI (diversity, equity, and inclusion) within the yoga and wellness industry
*Vinyasa yoga along with other Hatha yoga traditions and methods: Ashtangha, Prana *Flow inspired yoga, Jivamukti, Power
*Yoga for special populations, restorative, therapeutic elements, prenatal, babies, kids & teens

PROGRAM TEACHERS:

Our program leaders are highly trained, experienced, certified and passionate about yoga. Their knowledge and enthusiasm across a variety of yoga disciplines is one of the many reasons why this training program is like no other.

**** REVIEWS:

Our training is rated at 4.95/5. 

Learn from the area’s most talented team & from the best local yoga studio. See for yourself:

5-⭐️ Yoga Alliance Reviews

5-⭐Yelp Reviews

5-⭐Google Reviews

💯 Voted Bethesda’s Best Yoga Studio: 2017-2021

First Registered November 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ele Pratt Apr 21, 2022

    Excellent training program, with world class instructors.

    • General Comments

      Excellent training program, with world class instructors.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Toni Thomas Feb 26, 2022

    The tools I received at exTend Yoga during YTT are invaluable. The studio and staff are an asset to the community. The training was thorough and left me wanting more. I've already enrolled in subsequent trainings and am confident in my ability to succeed because of the foundation I've received at exTend.

    • General Comments

      The tools I received at exTend Yoga during YTT are invaluable. The studio and staff are an asset to the community. The training was thorough and left me wanting more. I've already enrolled in subsequent trainings and am confident in my ability to succeed because of the foundation I've received at exTend.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lisa Sarafidis Feb 23, 2022

    Extend Yoga's teacher training program is absolutely phenomenal. The teachers, the curriculum and the community are truly something unique. The focus on service, giving back, and diversity and inclusion was also so impactful. For me, not only was my yoga practice transformed, but my relationship with myself was transformed. I cannot recommend Extend Yoga's YTT program enough!!!

    • General Comments

      Extend Yoga's teacher training program is absolutely phenomenal. The teachers, the curriculum and the community are truly something unique. The focus on service, giving back, and diversity and inclusion was also so impactful. For me, not only was my yoga practice transformed, but my relationship with myself was transformed. I cannot recommend Extend Yoga's YTT program enough!!!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amani Elkassabany Feb 21, 2022

    extendYoga offers a superb teacher training experience, led by highly experienced yoga teachers who provide a breadth and depth of knowledge in the areas of yoga philosophy, human anatomy, teaching skills, and information regarding teaching yoga to special populations. The teachers are supportive, skilled, organized, and compassionate. The curriculum is well-developed and well-organized.

    • General Comments

      extendYoga offers a superb teacher training experience, led by highly experienced yoga teachers who provide a breadth and depth of knowledge in the areas of yoga philosophy, human anatomy, teaching skills, and information regarding teaching yoga to special populations. The teachers are supportive, skilled, organized, and compassionate. The curriculum is well-developed and well-organized.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kate Greenwood Feb 14, 2022

    The extendYoga yoga teacher training program is excellent and I highly recommend it. You will start practicing teaching from day one, you will learn about the history of yoga, you will learn about styles of yoga, you will learn about diversity, equity, and inclusion, and much, much more.

    • General Comments

      The extendYoga yoga teacher training program is excellent and I highly recommend it. You will start practicing teaching from day one, you will learn about the history of yoga, you will learn about styles of yoga, you will learn about diversity, equity, and inclusion, and much, much more.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jessica V. Mayorga Feb 14, 2022

    extendYoga's YTT Program was a wonderful experience. The facilitators were warm and inviting. It is a very inclusive and transparent environment. I went in just going to deep my yoga practice and came out wanting to be teacher. They did a great job at encouraging students to really be authentic and to go beyond the students' comfort zones. I feel prepared and excited to continue my yoga teaching journey.

    • General Comments

      extendYoga's YTT Program was a wonderful experience. The facilitators were warm and inviting. It is a very inclusive and transparent environment. I went in just going to deep my yoga practice and came out wanting to be teacher. They did a great job at encouraging students to really be authentic and to go beyond the students' comfort zones. I feel prepared and excited to continue my yoga teaching journey.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Shwe Mra Gyaw Mar 01, 2020

    Well-structured curriculum, excellent training program.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      extendYoga Teacher Training Program’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Well-structured curriculum, excellent training program.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jazzmin James Feb 21, 2020

    Extend Yoga is an amazing studio to do teacher training! They brought in experts in each subject area for us to learn from. All of the assignments are beyond reasonable and easy to do. You really gain a sangha not only with the people in the training with you but also all the instructors at the studio. You learn a magnitude of different topics and gain a strong sense of effort and ease. Each session starts with a yoga practice that brings you out of the world and into the present. If you're looking for a studio to get a great training experience, have a lot of laughs, and grow into a major teacher ExtendYoga is the place for you!!

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      extendYoga Teacher Training Program’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Extend Yoga is an amazing studio to do teacher training! They brought in experts in each subject area for us to learn from. All of the assignments are beyond reasonable and easy to do. You really gain a sangha not only with the people in the training with you but also all the instructors at the studio. You learn a magnitude of different topics and gain a strong sense of effort and ease. Each session starts with a yoga practice that brings you out of the world and into the present. If you're looking for a studio to get a great training experience, have a lot of laughs, and grow into a major teacher ExtendYoga is the place for you!!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Santhana Webb Feb 20, 2020

    I basically chose extendyoga for its convenient location and schedule of their sessions that fell in the winter months when I'm usually in the hibernate mode and so don't mind spending time in the studio. I've already practiced there for a couple years so I'm familiar with the studio setup, some of the teachers and the staff. Everyone was so nice and supportive. There were 15 students in our cohort (I found 15 a bit too many but) everyone was genuine in helping one another. I got exposed to many different types of yoga and all the instructors were wonderful.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      extendYoga Teacher Training Program’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      I basically chose extendyoga for its convenient location and schedule of their sessions that fell in the winter months when I'm usually in the hibernate mode and so don't mind spending time in the studio. I've already practiced there for a couple years so I'm familiar with the studio setup, some of the teachers and the staff. Everyone was so nice and supportive. There were 15 students in our cohort (I found 15 a bit too many but) everyone was genuine in helping one another. I got exposed to many different types of yoga and all the instructors were wonderful.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sherry Rockey Feb 15, 2020

    The Extend Yoga YTT exceeded my expectations. The curriculum is well designed, comprehensive and beautifully combined theory with practice. The instructors are knowledgeable and inspiring, and brought such a sense of joy and fun. I loved the focus on community -- both in the yoga studio and outside of it.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      extendYoga Teacher Training Program’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      The Extend Yoga YTT exceeded my expectations. The curriculum is well designed, comprehensive and beautifully combined theory with practice. The instructors are knowledgeable and inspiring, and brought such a sense of joy and fun. I loved the focus on community -- both in the yoga studio and outside of it.
First Registered November 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 47

By Ele Pratt RYT® 200

Apr 21, 2022

Excellent training program, with world class instructors. Full Review

By Toni Thomas RYT® 200

Feb 26, 2022

The tools I received at exTend Yoga during YTT are invaluable. The studio and staff are an asset to the community. The training was thorough and left me wanting more. I've already enrolled in subsequent trainings and am confident in my ability to succeed because of the foundation I've received at exTend. Full Review

All Reviews (47)

Teaching Staff

Lauren Richardson Lauren Richardson

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alicia Collier Alicia Collier

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Andrea Creel Andrea Creel

E-RYT® 200

Braja Kishori Braja Kishori

E-RYT® 500

Donna Martin Donna Martin

RYT® 500

Allison Rose Allison Rose

RYT® 200

Daisy Whittemore Daisy Whittemore

E-RYT® 200

All Teaching Staff (8)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance