Search

extendYoga Teacher Training Program

4.95

Based on 65 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.8/10


1 more Location

Connect with Us

12106 Wilkins Avenue

North Bethesda, MD, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Languages

English

Other Locations

extendYoga Teacher Training Program
12106 Wilkins Avenue
North Bethesda, MD, USA

About extendYoga Teacher Training Program

We Offer Both 200HR and 300HR Teacher Training Programs! Please check our website for up to date info and to register: https://extendyoga.com/200hour/  ------   https://extendyoga.com/300hour/ 200-HOUR YOGA TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM Whether you are interested...

We Offer Both 200HR and 300HR Teacher Training Programs! Please check our website for up to date info and to register: https://extendyoga.com/200hour/ ------  https://extendyoga.com/300hour/ 200-HOUR YOGA TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM

Whether you are interested in learning about the art of teaching yoga or would like to deepen your own practice, our Yoga Teacher Training Program will prepare you to empower yourself and others on the path of self-transformation. As we explore the history of yoga, yoga philosophy, and the anatomical and energetic aspects of the human body, you will have the unique opportunity to study the ancient practice of yoga asana, pranayama and meditation and discover a deeper understanding of yoga and its relevance in modern day life.


You will be given all the tools needed to successfully take the seat of the teacher with confidence and enthusiasm. Outside of scheduled training hours, you will expand your self-awareness and knowledge of yoga through self-study, group projects, selected readings and assignments, class observation, practice-teaching, and individual seva (community service) projects. Be prepared to work hard and extend beyond your comfort zone so that you can reach your full potential as a teacher and student. Most importantly, be prepared to discover your own unique gifts and learn how to share them with others.

 200-HR TRAINING TOPICS INCLUDE:

*History and Philosophy of Yoga *Physiological, psychological and spiritual aspects of asana, pranayama, and meditation *Basic anatomy and physiology of the physical body and subtle energetic body *Intensives including: ethics, Ayurveda, Sanskrit, mythology, sequencing, theming, marketing & the business of yoga, teaching online/virtually *How to support DEI (diversity, equity, and inclusion) within the yoga and wellness industry *Vinyasa yoga along with other Hatha yoga traditions and methods: Ashtangha, Prana *Flow inspired yoga, Jivamukti, Power *Yoga for special populations, restorative, therapeutic elements, prenatal, babies, kids & teens 300-HOUR YOGA TEACHER TRAINING PROGRAM extendYoga’s 300-Hour Yoga Teacher Training Program is a one-of-a kind program designed to offer a creative and advanced curriculum that elevates one’s yoga practice and teaching. This training is for yoga teachers AND practitioners curious about expanding their teaching styles and personal practices. Trainees explore a wide variety of topics (listed below) and have the opportunity to dive deeper into their study through consistent and connected practice and teaching.  Our gifted and experienced teachers lead with a range of teaching modalities and deliver a well rounded and flexible program. We consider each dedicated student and where they are in their yoga teaching journey. This is a 9-month program that meets one weeknight evening from 6pm-9:00pm as well as one weekend a month (Fri evening, and all day Sat and Sun). 300-HR TRAINING TOPICS INCLUDE: Techniques, Training and Practice:
• Asana, pranayama, meditation, and other traditional yoga techniques
• Physiological and spiritual aspects of various styles and methods

Teaching Methodology:
• Addressing special populations
• Principles of teaching
• Advanced Sequencing & Theming
• Business of yoga, including marketing & legal
• Teaching virtually

Anatomy and Physiology

• Advanced Anatomy and Physiology
• Energetics

Philosophy, History & Lifestyle
• Traditional and modern texts
• Ethics, Ayurveda, Sanskrit, Mythology

Mentorship, Independent and Group Projects
• Case Study and Final Project
• Group Seva (Service) Project

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion (DEI)
• How to support DEI within your teaching

OUR TRAINING PROGRAM TEACHERS:

Our program leaders are highly trained, experienced, certified and passionate about yoga. Their knowledge and enthusiasm across a variety of yoga disciplines is one of the many reasons why this training program is like no other.

**** REVIEWS:

Our training is rated at 4.95/5. 

Learn from the area’s most talented team & from the best local yoga studio. See for yourself:

5-⭐️ Yoga Alliance Reviews

5-⭐Yelp Reviews

5-⭐Google Reviews

💯 Voted Bethesda’s Best Yoga Studio: 2017-2023

First Registered November 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Belen Bhatti Apr 21, 2024

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Catherine Torres-Martinez Mar 29, 2024

    This was a life changing training!

    • General Comments

      This was a life changing training!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: C. Baxter Mar 26, 2024

    Excellent program. Amazing Teachers. Brought Yoga to life for me on and off the mat. The program prepared me to share what I’ve learned and be the yoga teacher that feels aligned with the ancient intention and my personal values. Glad to be part of this community.

    • General Comments

      Excellent program. Amazing Teachers. Brought Yoga to life for me on and off the mat. The program prepared me to share what I’ve learned and be the yoga teacher that feels aligned with the ancient intention and my personal values. Glad to be part of this community.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stacey Castillo Feb 16, 2024

    ExtendYoga’s 200YTT program was beyond my expectations. I was so impressed with how much they packed into our 200 hours. We got a taste of so many different aspects of yoga. Philosophy and history and lineage was taught throughly. We were teaching our first weekend of training. Lauren our head teacher was the perfect balance of effort and ease and truly allowed us to develop into our own space as teachers. Each one of our teachers had such specialized knowledge of the topic they were covering. I especially enjoyed the diversity and inclusion piece of our training and felt that is was necessary to drive home this principle as yoga is for everyone and we should always represent it as such.

    • General Comments

      ExtendYoga’s 200YTT program was beyond my expectations. I was so impressed with how much they packed into our 200 hours. We got a taste of so many different aspects of yoga. Philosophy and history and lineage was taught throughly. We were teaching our first weekend of training. Lauren our head teacher was the perfect balance of effort and ease and truly allowed us to develop into our own space as teachers. Each one of our teachers had such specialized knowledge of the topic they were covering. I especially enjoyed the diversity and inclusion piece of our training and felt that is was necessary to drive home this principle as yoga is for everyone and we should always represent it as such.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Jade Feb 13, 2024

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Denise Newman Feb 07, 2024

    Comprehensive in-depth program with a awesome and insightful teachers. Carefully guided training with tons of resources provided to ensure success.

    • General Comments

      Comprehensive in-depth program with a awesome and insightful teachers. Carefully guided training with tons of resources provided to ensure success.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tonisha Melvin Feb 07, 2024

    The program and the experience were top notch!

    • General Comments

      The program and the experience were top notch!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Susan de Saint Salvy Jan 31, 2024

    A comprehensive, balanced, and practical training that prepared me well to teach. Taught by experienced and generous teachers who shared their deep knowledge of yoga, it allowed me to grow and deepen my own practice!

    • General Comments

      A comprehensive, balanced, and practical training that prepared me well to teach. Taught by experienced and generous teachers who shared their deep knowledge of yoga, it allowed me to grow and deepen my own practice!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Emma Beck Jan 29, 2024

    The training at Extend Yoga is incredible. The teachers took us deeply into the history, the traditions, ethics and styles of yoga. We also did a deep dive into anatomy (bones and joints) as well as the subtle body anatomy. We were taught to be authentic, to embrace all populations, and given the tools to develop an intellectual and physical understanding of the practice of yoga. Our teachers were experienced, offered practical learning, with multiple opportunities to practice and observe many styles. I had an incredible experience in a comfortable, and supportive group.

    • General Comments

      The training at Extend Yoga is incredible. The teachers took us deeply into the history, the traditions, ethics and styles of yoga. We also did a deep dive into anatomy (bones and joints) as well as the subtle body anatomy. We were taught to be authentic, to embrace all populations, and given the tools to develop an intellectual and physical understanding of the practice of yoga. Our teachers were experienced, offered practical learning, with multiple opportunities to practice and observe many styles. I had an incredible experience in a comfortable, and supportive group.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Corinne Salter Jan 29, 2024

    Best YTT program, everything was perfect and I highly recommend. The teachers are so knowledgeable, loving, supportive and we created an amazing opportunity of fellow teachers. The lessons were enlightening and the opportunities for service, training, and yoga history have well-prepared me for any role outside the teacher training. I cannot wait to implement what I have learned and my teachers will forever be my first gurus.

    • General Comments

      Best YTT program, everything was perfect and I highly recommend. The teachers are so knowledgeable, loving, supportive and we created an amazing opportunity of fellow teachers. The lessons were enlightening and the opportunities for service, training, and yoga history have well-prepared me for any role outside the teacher training. I cannot wait to implement what I have learned and my teachers will forever be my first gurus.
First Registered November 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 65

By Belen Bhatti RYT® 200

Apr 21, 2024

Full Review

Mar 29, 2024

This was a life changing training! Full Review

All Reviews (65)

Teaching Staff

Lauren Richardson Lauren Richardson

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Zahra Abbassi

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Janet Cokinos Janet Cokinos

E-RYT® 500

Donna Martin

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance