Search

Soundmoves Yoga

4.65

Based on 17 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

Soundmoves Yoga, North Broad Street

Middletown, DE, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About Soundmoves Yoga

Soundmoves Yoga is Noah Mckenna’s unique approach to yoga. Soundmoves successfully integrates traditional Hatha yoga systems and practice with contemporary research informed resonant frequency breathing methods.   In Soundmoves, embodying breathing and movement cycles...

Soundmoves Yoga is Noah Mckenna’s unique approach to yoga. Soundmoves successfully integrates traditional Hatha yoga systems and practice with contemporary research informed resonant frequency breathing methods.

 

In Soundmoves, embodying breathing and movement cycles is guided by especially designed sound. Noah has created a variety of yoga class templates designed to produce autonomic shifts along the ladder described by Stephen Porges. 

Soundmoves has run Teacher Training course at the RYT-200 and 300 levels annually since 2018. Since 2008 Noah has personally arranged and run 23 TTC Courses covering RYT-200 and RYT-300 content with over 200 graduates from around the world. In addition, he has taught as an affiliate of many other yoga schools.  Noah drew on this experience to develop the Soundmoves concept into the RYT-500 teacher training format. 

Noah's journey into yoga began in 1989 with regular Iyengar Yoga classes in his hometown of Adelaide. During his first trip to India in 1995 he began a traditional practice of Ashtanga Vinyasa with BNS Iyengar at the Parakala Mutt in Mysore. After several years of regular asana practice Noah began teaching classes. This gradual movement from practice to teaching was guided by many talented teachers and mentors.

He founded Sukhashanti Yoga in 2003 creating - like many other teachers both eastern and western - a deconstructed approach to yoga practice. Sukhashanti drew on Ashtanga Vinyasa and Iyengar Yoga sequences as well as classical Hatha modalities and techniques with the approach informed by his clinical experience. Soundmoves evolved from Sukhashanti to incorporate related research on the autonomic nervous system and resonant frequency breathing.

 

Noah initially registered as a Yoga Teacher in 2003, and is now a Yoga Alliance International E-RYT 500 who offers TTC and YACEP programs. He is also a certified Yoga Thrpst (C-IAYT).  

 

Yoga Teachers:

Iyengar Yoga 1989 - 1996: Shandor Remete

Iyengar Yoga 1989 - 1996: Glenn Ceresolli

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga 1994-2001: BNS Iyengar

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga 1994-2001: David and Simi Roche

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga 1994-2001: Dena Kingsberg

Hatha Yoga 2000-2008: Acharya V Venkatesha

Yoga Synergy: Simon Borg Olivier 1995, 2000, 2017

 

Academic Qualifications and Clinical Training:

Bachelor of Health Science: Adelaide University 1999

Master of Chiropractic Science: Macquarie University 2002

Applied Kinesiology: Chiropractic Module with Dr Ken Keen

Yoga Thrpy for Drs Program: S-VYASA Bangalore 2003

Diploma of Acupuncture: Nanjing University of TCM 2004

Diploma of Clinical Nutrition: Postgraduate course with Dr Robert Buist


First Registered May 2016

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Manu Suga Mar 23, 2022

    A really good system that have roots perfectly sequenced and based on breathing, but also in vivid experience.

    • General Comments

      A really good system that have roots perfectly sequenced and based on breathing, but also in vivid experience.
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Mar 23, 2022
    Thank you Manolo !!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stef Benetiere Dec 08, 2021

    Noah is an amazing yoga teacher and the SoundMoves Yoga teacher training is unique, exhaustive and intense. It is well balanced between theory and practice, and accurate. You will learn a lot ! I hardly recommend this training to improve your practice and learn something different and in same time complementary of the traditional hatha yoga. I started with the 200hrs and finally decided to extend it to the 300hrs as I wanted to go deeper in my knowledge and learn more and more about SoundMoves. It's totally captivating ! And such a pleasure to teach it to my students !! Thanks you so much Noah. Namaste & Love from Marrakech

    • General Comments

      Noah is an amazing yoga teacher and the SoundMoves Yoga teacher training is unique, exhaustive and intense. It is well balanced between theory and practice, and accurate. You will learn a lot ! I hardly recommend this training to improve your practice and learn something different and in same time complementary of the traditional hatha yoga. I started with the 200hrs and finally decided to extend it to the 300hrs as I wanted to go deeper in my knowledge and learn more and more about SoundMoves. It's totally captivating ! And such a pleasure to teach it to my students !! Thanks you so much Noah. Namaste & Love from Marrakech
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Adrian Cox Sep 16, 2021

    Noah Mckenna has created a system combining resonant frequency breathing, movement and meditation that is truly worth a close look. There are many "systems" of yoga out there which are not actually unique but this one is. There is clinical science to the methodology and it is masterfully combined with and taught by Noah. I recommend this course for anyone wanting to add something powerful to their practices.

    • General Comments

      Noah Mckenna has created a system combining resonant frequency breathing, movement and meditation that is truly worth a close look. There are many "systems" of yoga out there which are not actually unique but this one is. There is clinical science to the methodology and it is masterfully combined with and taught by Noah. I recommend this course for anyone wanting to add something powerful to their practices.
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Sep 17, 2021
    Thanks Adrian I really appreciate your kind words! You are one of the special few who really grasp this concept !
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Yaisa Nio Aug 16, 2021

    This rating concerns the 300-hour Soundmoves training taken online between October 2020 and August 2021.

    • General Comments

      This rating concerns the 300-hour Soundmoves training taken online between October 2020 and August 2021.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tashi Dawa Aug 04, 2021

    Noah McKenna is a highly experienced yoga teacher, there are many that may make that claim, however in this case it's true. He has the rare ability to share complex biomechanics, philosophy and science in a way that is highly accessible to his students. I recommend new and established teachers seek Noah out and explore his offerings. Noah is a role model for the yoga teaching community; he is respectful of his students and of the process, history and science of yoga. I highly recommend studying with Noah McKenna and exploring Soundmoves Yoga.

    • General Comments

      Noah McKenna is a highly experienced yoga teacher, there are many that may make that claim, however in this case it's true. He has the rare ability to share complex biomechanics, philosophy and science in a way that is highly accessible to his students. I recommend new and established teachers seek Noah out and explore his offerings. Noah is a role model for the yoga teaching community; he is respectful of his students and of the process, history and science of yoga. I highly recommend studying with Noah McKenna and exploring Soundmoves Yoga.
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Aug 05, 2021
    Thanks Tashi so kind of you !
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Fiorella Fuentes Nazra Jul 08, 2021

    Noah is a fantastic teacher. I definitely recommend taking a teacher training with him. I learned so much more about pranayama and anatomy. His teacher training is so good I have actually taken it twice.

    • General Comments

      Noah is a fantastic teacher. I definitely recommend taking a teacher training with him. I learned so much more about pranayama and anatomy. His teacher training is so good I have actually taken it twice.
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Jul 08, 2021
    Thanks Fi you are the best!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stephen Kastner Jul 01, 2021

    Wonderful program. Noah made the online option the best choice I could have made! Thank you for a incredible learning experience.

    • General Comments

      Wonderful program. Noah made the online option the best choice I could have made! Thank you for a incredible learning experience.
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Jul 08, 2021
    Thank you Stephen Kastner. With students like you teaching is such a pleasure.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Darja Tjioe Jun 24, 2021

    Noah is an extremely knowledgeable and experienced teacher, who, with great passion initiates you into the SoundMoves techniques. The course is comprehensive, well put together and a pleasure to follow. At lot of the material was new to me, specifically the somatic movement and heart coherence theory and I feel I didn't just learn a lot, it also peaked my curiosity and am hoping Noah will offer further in-depth courses in the future. The structure of the course was great, starting with the basics and building on from there. The philosophy provided by James and Greg offered a range of new perspectives on a vast subject and helped form more of a bridge between the practice and the philosophy. All in all super-psyched to have had access to this course, and grateful to Noah for sharing his brainchild with us! Suksma

    • General Comments

      Noah is an extremely knowledgeable and experienced teacher, who, with great passion initiates you into the SoundMoves techniques. The course is comprehensive, well put together and a pleasure to follow. At lot of the material was new to me, specifically the somatic movement and heart coherence theory and I feel I didn't just learn a lot, it also peaked my curiosity and am hoping Noah will offer further in-depth courses in the future. The structure of the course was great, starting with the basics and building on from there. The philosophy provided by James and Greg offered a range of new perspectives on a vast subject and helped form more of a bridge between the practice and the philosophy. All in all super-psyched to have had access to this course, and grateful to Noah for sharing his brainchild with us! Suksma
    School response
    Soundmoves Yoga
    Jul 08, 2021
    Thanks Darje great to see how you integrated the method.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Manu Suga May 19, 2021

    I believe truly nurturing someone's knowledge is through a sincere life experience. Find an authentic program that can put your mind, body and spirit at that level is just beyond words. Noah is someone who listens his body, through breathing, movements and sounds. And you only can master that going inside you, walking the path and showing it. Someone who carry so much inside can prepare good teachers, practicioners, but specially very good seeds. Soundmoves, and specifically Noah Mackenna is the closest thing to what I would call yoga, which would mean a true union of all the pillars that we know through this ancient knowledge.

    • General Comments

      I believe truly nurturing someone's knowledge is through a sincere life experience. Find an authentic program that can put your mind, body and spirit at that level is just beyond words. Noah is someone who listens his body, through breathing, movements and sounds. And you only can master that going inside you, walking the path and showing it. Someone who carry so much inside can prepare good teachers, practicioners, but specially very good seeds. Soundmoves, and specifically Noah Mackenna is the closest thing to what I would call yoga, which would mean a true union of all the pillars that we know through this ancient knowledge.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Roland Landers Aug 14, 2020

    Noah leads an excellent training. He covered all the important topics to a yoga training in a timely, efficient, and effective manner. His anatomy lectures were not only thorough and enlightening, but also enjoyable. Additionally, Noah went out of his way to provide us with a highly decorated Sanskrit professor from a local university in Mysore India to teach us the yoga sutras of Patanjali. Furthermore, Noah’s lessons on pranayama were unique and ahead of the curve for what was currently being taught in pranayama courses. The asana material he covered was straight forward and practical for the average yoga client. He also taught us helpful ways to advance our practices, and provided ideas on how to make space for those that required a greater need of physical therapy. Noah’s teaching cues were pragmatic and he taught us how to deliver them clearly. Overall it was an excellent training from an excellent teacher.

    • General Comments

      Noah leads an excellent training. He covered all the important topics to a yoga training in a timely, efficient, and effective manner. His anatomy lectures were not only thorough and enlightening, but also enjoyable. Additionally, Noah went out of his way to provide us with a highly decorated Sanskrit professor from a local university in Mysore India to teach us the yoga sutras of Patanjali. Furthermore, Noah’s lessons on pranayama were unique and ahead of the curve for what was currently being taught in pranayama courses. The asana material he covered was straight forward and practical for the average yoga client. He also taught us helpful ways to advance our practices, and provided ideas on how to make space for those that required a greater need of physical therapy. Noah’s teaching cues were pragmatic and he taught us how to deliver them clearly. Overall it was an excellent training from an excellent teacher.
First Registered May 2016

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 17

By Manu Suga E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Mar 23, 2022

A really good system that have roots perfectly sequenced and based on breathing, but also in vivid experience. Full Review

By Stef Benetiere RYT® 500

Dec 08, 2021

Noah is an amazing yoga teacher and the SoundMoves Yoga teacher training is unique, exhaustive and intense. It is well balanced between theory and practice, and accurate. You will learn a lot ! I hardly recommend this training to improve your practice and learn something different and in same time complementary of the traditional hatha yoga. I started with the 200hrs and finally decided to extend it to the 300hrs as I wanted to go deeper in my knowledge and learn more and more about SoundMoves. It's totally captivating ! And such a pleasure to teach it to my students !! Thanks you so much Noah. Namaste & Love from Marrakech Full Review

All Reviews (17)

Teaching Staff

Noah McKenna

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance