Search

A. Soma Yoga Institute ONLINE & In Person in California

4.89

Based on 506 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.5/10


3 more Locations

Connect with Us

101 H Street

Arcata, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Soma Yoga Institute - Costa Rica
Playa Coyote, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Soma Yoga Institute Greece
Okreblue Yoga Center
Naousa Paros, Greece

Soma Yoga Institute Peru
Samadhi Sacred Valley, Huayllabamba, Peru

About Soma Yoga Institute

Dedicated to a Therapeutic Approach, High Quality Content, and Accessible Practices Rooted in Tradition Backed by Science Soma Yoga Institute has a world-class faculty team steeped in the traditions of Yoga. Their excellence has been cultivated through decades of enduring...

Dedicated to a Therapeutic Approach, High Quality Content, and Accessible Practices Rooted in Tradition Backed by Science

Soma Yoga Institute has a world-class faculty team steeped in the traditions of Yoga. Their excellence has been cultivated through decades of enduring dedication to their own practice and in-depth study, often in a variety of lineages. We are comprised of master-level Yoga teachers, Certified C-IAYT Yoga Therapists, and those who have been teaching for over 25 years.


We are now enrolling for both LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSIONS AND ONLINE 200 Hour AND 300 Hour Yoga Teacher Trainings.

Next 200 Hour Immersion Dates

May 23-June 16, 2024 Greece
August 1-18, 2024 Costa Rica
November 14-December 2, 2024 Peru
January 5-22, 2025 Costa Rica
February 15-March 5, 2025 Costa Rica
https://somayogainstitute.com/

Next 300 HOUR Immersion Dates
May 23-June 16, 2024 Greece
https://somayogainstitute.com/300-greece

Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates:

June 15, 2024
September 1, 2024
October 15, 2024

**Complete in 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 16 weeks or up to 8 months. Register as an RYT-200 upon graduation.
https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Next 300 HOUR ONLINE Dates
Starting in September 2024
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/300hrOnlineYTT


ONLINE INFORMATION

Offering the 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training. Deepen your practice and/ or Become an RYT 200 certified to teach yoga.

Program includes Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access 

Learn more about our 200 Hour Online YTT program and meet the teachers.  Sign Up For the Free Webinar Here

You may also get in touch with us by visiting our website here, calling us at 808-333-9591, emailing us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com or setting up a meeting via phone, zoom or facetime here.

Upon successful completion, you will be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as a RYT-200. Please email us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com for more information). Our program has personalized one-to-one teacher mentoring and live zoom calls as well as prerecorded content.  

Please visit our website: https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Soma Yoga Institute offers 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

The 200 Hour Therapeutic Yoga Teacher Training includes vinyasa flow, bio-mechanically sound alignment principles and the path of Yoga as a framework for Holistic Health. This program offers students in-depth skills to explore Yoga as a vehicle for vibrant health, self-transformation, and personal empowerment. Our curriculum includes a unique blend of alignment based vinyasa flow, a solid foundation in Hatha Yoga and 200 hours of instruction offered within a holistic wellness framework. The instruction will cover a wide range of yoga techniques including yoga postures, anatomy, relaxation, breath awareness, pranayama, meditations to calm the mind, contemplations to transform limiting tendencies into life affirming thought patterns, and the application of clear principles of alignment to create safety, balance and freedom in yoga poses. Students explore concepts from Ayurveda, the Upanishads, Patanjali and the Chakra System as frameworks for the application of yoga as a journey towards radiant health and wellbeing. The asana emphasis includes both level one/two alignment based vinyasa flow sequencing as well as gentler and restorative variations. Rather than offer standard sequencing or rigid methodologies, students are exposed to frameworks that inspire each trainee to adapt the practices, awaken their creativity and find their own authentic voice as a teacher. Graduates of this program feel empowered to teach a variety of yoga class types, including: all levels vinyasa yoga, alignment-based classes, yoga foundations, senior, gentle, and restorative.

The 300 hour Advanced Yoga Teacher Training course is designed specifically for those who are ready to deepen their knowledge base, teach with more authenticity, expand their repertoire and increase their efficacy in offering yoga as a vehicle for positive personal and planetary transformation and change. The program is open to yoga teachers from all disciplines with six months or more teaching experience (or by permission).

First Registered May 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brandon King May 20, 2024
    Training Program held on Apr 23, 2024—May 10, 2024

    The most genuine and amazing yoga program I could ever ask for. This was such an amazing experience and learning to practice and teach with proper alignment has deepened my practice exponentially.

    • General Comments

      The most genuine and amazing yoga program I could ever ask for. This was such an amazing experience and learning to practice and teach with proper alignment has deepened my practice exponentially.
First Registered May 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 506

By Donita Harris RYT® 200

Jun 12, 2024

I learned so much about several aspects of the practice of yoga. This is definitely enhancing my practice and will be extremely beneficial for teaching. I now understand so much more about how the body works in poses and about sequencing. The many different types of yoga that I learned about sparked my interest in teaching different types. It is enlightening to see how yoga can reflect on the rest of our lives off the mat.The teachers were wonderful and I love being able to go back and review the classes. Overall, the layout and organization was easy to follow and conductive to learning.- Donita Full Review

By Ben Ravani RYT® 200

May 29, 2024

Full Review

All Reviews (506)

Teaching Staff

Samantha Akers

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Liz Heffernan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Molly Masaoka

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peggy Profant

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alison Scola C-IAYT

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance