Search

A. Soma Yoga Institute ONLINE & In Person

4.87

Based on 405 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.4/10


3 more Locations

Connect with Us

101 H Street

Arcata, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Soma Yoga Institute - Costa Rica
Playa Coyote, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Soma Yoga Institute Greece
Okreblue Yoga Center
Naousa Paros, Greece

Soma Yoga Institute Hawaii
58-996 Kohala Mountain Rd
Waimea, HI, USA

About Soma Yoga Institute

We are now enrolling for both  LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSION AND  ON LINE 200 Hour  AND  300 Hour Y oga Teacher Trainings. Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates: October 15, 2022 February 1, 2023 **Complete in 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 16 weeks or up to...

We are now enrolling for both LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSION AND ONLINE 200 Hour AND 300 Hour Yoga Teacher Trainings.

Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates:
October 15, 2022
February 1, 2023
**Complete in 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 16 weeks or up to 8 months. TO BE ELIGIBLE TO REGISTER AS AN RYT-200 WITH YOGA ALLIANCE YOU MUST COMPLETE NO LATER THAN DEC 31, 2023.
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/200-hr-Online-YTT

Next 200 HOUR Immersion Dates
December 1-18, 2022 Costa Rica
January 5-22, 2023 Costa Rica
April 23-May 10, 2023 California
August 1-18, 2023 Costa Rica
https://somayogainstitute.com/

Next 300 HOUR ONLINE Dates
October 15, 2022- June 18, 2023
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/300hrOnlineYTT

Next 300 HOUR Immersion Dates
May 23-June 18, 2023 Greece
https://somayogainstitute.com/300-greece

ONLINE INFORMATION

Offering the 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training under the new COVID-19 provision. 

Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access 

Join us for our NEXT FREE Q & A ZOOM Webinar to learn more about our 200 Hour Online YTT program and meet the teachers.  Sign Up For the Free Webinar Here

You may also get in touch with us by visiting our website here, calling us at 808-333-9591, emailing us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com or setting up a meeting via phone, zoom or facetime here.

Upon successful completion you will be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as a RYT-200 (Please note you must complete by the deadline set by Yoga Alliance through their online COVID provision. This deadline is currently set for December 31, 2023). Please email us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com for more information). Our program has personalized one-to-one teacher mentoring and live zoom calls as well as prerecorded content.  

Please visit our website: https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Soma Yoga Institute offers 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

The 200 Hour Therapeutic Elements Yoga Teacher Training includes vinyasa flow, bio-mechanically sound alignment principles and the path of Yoga as a framework for Holistic Health. This program offers students in-depth skills to explore Yoga as a vehicle for vibrant health, self-transformation, and personal empowerment. Our curriculum includes a unique blend of alignment based vinyasa flow, a solid foundation in Hatha Yoga and 200 hours of instruction offered within a holistic wellness framework. The instruction will cover a wide range of yoga techniques including yoga postures, anatomy, relaxation, breath awareness, pranayama, meditations to calm the mind, contemplations to transform limiting tendencies into life affirming thought patterns, and the application of clear principles of alignment to create safety, balance and freedom in yoga poses. Students explore concepts from Ayurveda, the Upanishads, Patanjali and the Chakra System as frameworks for the application of yoga as a journey towards radiant health and wellbeing. The asana emphasis includes both level one/two alignment based vinyasa flow sequencing as well as gentler and restorative variations. Rather than offer standard sequencing or rigid methodologies, students are exposed to frameworks that inspire each trainee to adapt the practices, awaken their creativity and find their own authentic voice as a teacher. Graduates of this program feel empowered to teach a variety of yoga class types, including: all levels vinyasa yoga, alignment-based classes, yoga foundations, senior, gentle, and restorative.

The 300 hour Advanced Yoga Teacher Training course is designed specifically for those who are ready to deepen their knowledge base, teach with more authenticity, expand their repertoire and increase their efficacy in offering yoga as a vehicle for positive personal and planetary transformation and change. The program is open to yoga teachers from all disciplines with six months or more teaching experience (or by permission).

First Registered May 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Tiffany Chan Sep 13, 2022
    Training Program held on Jul 20, 2022—Aug 06, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amanda O Thompson Sep 06, 2022
    Training Program held on Jan 15, 2022—Apr 15, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rebecca Schmidt Sep 06, 2022
    Training Program held on Oct 15, 2021—Dec 31, 2021

    Passionate, Through with extensive training materials and a steadfast approach to helping students learn this healing method.

    • General Comments

      Passionate, Through with extensive training materials and a steadfast approach to helping students learn this healing method.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Manuela Tobias Sep 02, 2022

    I'm totally grateful for this training. The content focus on therapeutic aspects and "ALL BODIES" combined with the loving view on the human being and the connection with mindfulness, is something I have been looking for a long time and have not found anywhere else. Thank you all so much!!! I really enjoyed learning from different teachers. I definitely understood that yoga is not about forcing the body into any asana, but finding the best possible and health-promoting form for each body. I myself have been strengthened once again in my own practice to treat my body more lovingly and to appreciate my limits. The course gave me a great desire to introduce people to the gift of yoga in a one-on-one setting. - Manuela

    • General Comments

      I'm totally grateful for this training. The content focus on therapeutic aspects and "ALL BODIES" combined with the loving view on the human being and the connection with mindfulness, is something I have been looking for a long time and have not found anywhere else. Thank you all so much!!! I really enjoyed learning from different teachers. I definitely understood that yoga is not about forcing the body into any asana, but finding the best possible and health-promoting form for each body. I myself have been strengthened once again in my own practice to treat my body more lovingly and to appreciate my limits. The course gave me a great desire to introduce people to the gift of yoga in a one-on-one setting. - Manuela
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Patricia Morey Aug 31, 2022
    Training Program held on Sep 01, 2021—Dec 01, 2021

    Soma Yoga Institute's 200 hour yoga teacher program offers rich in-depth content that is delivered by a varied and experienced group of teachers.

    • General Comments

      Soma Yoga Institute's 200 hour yoga teacher program offers rich in-depth content that is delivered by a varied and experienced group of teachers.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kayley Dolan Aug 25, 2022
    Training Program held on Jul 20, 2022—Aug 06, 2022

    I had such an amazing experience at the soma yoga teacher training. I learned a lot about alignment and felt that the material was taught in a way that was easy to comprehend. I am very happy with my experience and will cherish the memories and friendships I’ve made forever. I feel that Soma has prepared me and given me all the tools I will need to be an amazing yoga teacher.

    • General Comments

      I had such an amazing experience at the soma yoga teacher training. I learned a lot about alignment and felt that the material was taught in a way that was easy to comprehend. I am very happy with my experience and will cherish the memories and friendships I’ve made forever. I feel that Soma has prepared me and given me all the tools I will need to be an amazing yoga teacher.
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Rosy Cohane-Mann Aug 25, 2022
    Training Program held on Jul 20, 2022—Aug 06, 2022

    I loved the community we built, the great instructors, the beautiful location, and the wonderful resources and learning. Some of the teaching style was rigid and not based on best modes of learning (lots of lecture and less discussion). The program direction was not always clear or warm and welcoming. The schedule was a bit more intense than expected, and transport was difficult to arrange in the area we were in. The food and lodging was not quite as nice as described and pictured. I learned so much and found some great connections but some program details and execution were not what I would have expected with the cost.

    • General Comments

      I loved the community we built, the great instructors, the beautiful location, and the wonderful resources and learning. Some of the teaching style was rigid and not based on best modes of learning (lots of lecture and less discussion). The program direction was not always clear or warm and welcoming. The schedule was a bit more intense than expected, and transport was difficult to arrange in the area we were in. The food and lodging was not quite as nice as described and pictured. I learned so much and found some great connections but some program details and execution were not what I would have expected with the cost.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Susanne Desrochers Aug 24, 2022
    Training Program held on Jul 20, 2022—Aug 06, 2022

    Soma yoga institute was an incredible in-depth program that offered a immersive training for all levels. The three teachers that I dealt with were extremely knowledgeable, dedicated and helpful.

    • General Comments

      Soma yoga institute was an incredible in-depth program that offered a immersive training for all levels. The three teachers that I dealt with were extremely knowledgeable, dedicated and helpful.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Susan Blakesley Aug 23, 2022
    Training Program held on Oct 15, 2021—Dec 31, 2021

    Professional, organized curriculum with fantastic instructors. Liz is easily accessible and responsive and Molly, Sam and Peggy are a wealth of information. It was a lot of work, but the experience along lifetime access was well worth it!

    • General Comments

      Professional, organized curriculum with fantastic instructors. Liz is easily accessible and responsive and Molly, Sam and Peggy are a wealth of information. It was a lot of work, but the experience along lifetime access was well worth it!
  • 5 out of 5
    Training Program held on Jul 20, 2022—Aug 06, 2022

    Wonderful teachers and curriculum , highly recommend Soma Yoga Institute.

    • General Comments

      Wonderful teachers and curriculum , highly recommend Soma Yoga Institute.
First Registered May 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 405

By Tiffany Chan RYT® 200

Sep 13, 2022

Full Review

By Amanda O Thompson RYT® 200

Sep 06, 2022

Full Review

All Reviews (405)

Teaching Staff

Samantha Akers

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Liz Heffernan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Molly Masaoka

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peggy Profant

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alison Scola C-IAYT

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance