Search

A. Soma Yoga Institute ONLINE & In Person in California

4.88

Based on 492 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.5/10


3 more Locations

Connect with Us

101 H Street

Arcata, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Soma Yoga Institute - Costa Rica
Playa Coyote, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Soma Yoga Institute Greece
Okreblue Yoga Center
Naousa Paros, Greece

Soma Yoga Institute Peru
Samadhi Sacred Valley, Huayllabamba, Peru

About Soma Yoga Institute

Dedicated to a Therapeutic Approach, High Quality Content, and Accessible Practices Rooted in Tradition Backed by Science Soma Yoga Institute has a world-class faculty team steeped in the traditions of Yoga. Their excellence has been cultivated through decades of enduring...

Dedicated to a Therapeutic Approach, High Quality Content, and Accessible Practices Rooted in Tradition Backed by Science

Soma Yoga Institute has a world-class faculty team steeped in the traditions of Yoga. Their excellence has been cultivated through decades of enduring dedication to their own practice and in-depth study, often in a variety of lineages. We are comprised of master-level Yoga teachers, Certified C-IAYT Yoga Therapists, and those who have been teaching for over 25 years.


We are now enrolling for both LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSIONS AND ONLINE 200 Hour AND 300 Hour Yoga Teacher Trainings.

Next 200 Hour Immersion Dates

April 23-May 10, 2024 California
May 23-June 16, 2024 Greece
August 1-18, 2024 Costa Rica
November 14-December 2, 2024 Peru
January 5-22, 2025 Costa Rica
February 15-March 5, 2025
https://somayogainstitute.com/

Next 300 HOUR Immersion Dates
May 23-June 16, 2024 Greece
https://somayogainstitute.com/300-greece

Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates:

March 15, 2024
June 15, 2024
September 1, 2024
October 15, 2024

**Complete in 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 16 weeks or up to 8 months. Register as an RYT-200 upon graduation.
https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Next 300 HOUR ONLINE Dates
Starting in September 2024
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/300hrOnlineYTT


ONLINE INFORMATION

Offering the 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training. Deepen your practice and/ or Become an RYT 200 certified to teach yoga.

Program includes Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access 

Learn more about our 200 Hour Online YTT program and meet the teachers.  Sign Up For the Free Webinar Here

You may also get in touch with us by visiting our website here, calling us at 808-333-9591, emailing us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com or setting up a meeting via phone, zoom or facetime here.

Upon successful completion, you will be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as a RYT-200. Please email us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com for more information). Our program has personalized one-to-one teacher mentoring and live zoom calls as well as prerecorded content.  

Please visit our website: https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Soma Yoga Institute offers 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

The 200 Hour Therapeutic Yoga Teacher Training includes vinyasa flow, bio-mechanically sound alignment principles and the path of Yoga as a framework for Holistic Health. This program offers students in-depth skills to explore Yoga as a vehicle for vibrant health, self-transformation, and personal empowerment. Our curriculum includes a unique blend of alignment based vinyasa flow, a solid foundation in Hatha Yoga and 200 hours of instruction offered within a holistic wellness framework. The instruction will cover a wide range of yoga techniques including yoga postures, anatomy, relaxation, breath awareness, pranayama, meditations to calm the mind, contemplations to transform limiting tendencies into life affirming thought patterns, and the application of clear principles of alignment to create safety, balance and freedom in yoga poses. Students explore concepts from Ayurveda, the Upanishads, Patanjali and the Chakra System as frameworks for the application of yoga as a journey towards radiant health and wellbeing. The asana emphasis includes both level one/two alignment based vinyasa flow sequencing as well as gentler and restorative variations. Rather than offer standard sequencing or rigid methodologies, students are exposed to frameworks that inspire each trainee to adapt the practices, awaken their creativity and find their own authentic voice as a teacher. Graduates of this program feel empowered to teach a variety of yoga class types, including: all levels vinyasa yoga, alignment-based classes, yoga foundations, senior, gentle, and restorative.

The 300 hour Advanced Yoga Teacher Training course is designed specifically for those who are ready to deepen their knowledge base, teach with more authenticity, expand their repertoire and increase their efficacy in offering yoga as a vehicle for positive personal and planetary transformation and change. The program is open to yoga teachers from all disciplines with six months or more teaching experience (or by permission).

First Registered May 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sofia Englund Feb 27, 2024
    Training Program held on Jun 15, 2023—Aug 31, 2023

    I loved every minute of this training with Soma Yoga Institute and I'm so happy that I chose this particular 200h YTT. It's an amazing course and I would highly recommend it! It's such a comprehensive and solid yoga teacher foundation, which includes topics like anatomy, biomechanics, alignment, sequencing, yin yoga, restorative yoga, ball rolling and the fascia, philosophy, and much more. The course is structured and organised in such a way that you can follow their suggested curriculum, or you can do it at your own pace, following your preferences on any given day. All of the teachers are so knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects that it's impossible to not get interested and nerdy about it too, whether it's about anatomy, the fascia, or sequencing. All the various yoga classes were amazing too, both the ones included in the curriculum and the bonus classes. Also, I really appreciated the live sessions at the start of the course, and that we were given so many 1-1 mentoring sessions. It was the perfect blend of self-paced and having just enough support and accountability to keep you focused. Loved everything about this training and I’m very proud to be a Soma Yoga Institute graduate! :)

    • General Comments

      I loved every minute of this training with Soma Yoga Institute and I'm so happy that I chose this particular 200h YTT. It's an amazing course and I would highly recommend it! It's such a comprehensive and solid yoga teacher foundation, which includes topics like anatomy, biomechanics, alignment, sequencing, yin yoga, restorative yoga, ball rolling and the fascia, philosophy, and much more. The course is structured and organised in such a way that you can follow their suggested curriculum, or you can do it at your own pace, following your preferences on any given day. All of the teachers are so knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects that it's impossible to not get interested and nerdy about it too, whether it's about anatomy, the fascia, or sequencing. All the various yoga classes were amazing too, both the ones included in the curriculum and the bonus classes. Also, I really appreciated the live sessions at the start of the course, and that we were given so many 1-1 mentoring sessions. It was the perfect blend of self-paced and having just enough support and accountability to keep you focused. Loved everything about this training and I’m very proud to be a Soma Yoga Institute graduate! :)
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Melissa Carr Feb 26, 2024
    Training Program held on Apr 15, 2021—Jun 15, 2021

    This 200 Hour Online Yoga Teacher Training has taught me so much about myself and how to be more fully present and show up in the world. It has given me tools for approaching life that I will carry with me always. My understanding of Yoga has grown to encompass more than I dreamed--it is definitely a way of being that touches all parts of life. I now feel empowered to create and sustain my own deep personal yoga practice that will include much more than just practicing the physical asana to also encompass meditation, breathwork, deep relaxation, metta practice, and contemplation of the Yamas and Niyamas. It will continue to increase my confidence in my ability to teach as I revisit the course material again and again.

    • General Comments

      This 200 Hour Online Yoga Teacher Training has taught me so much about myself and how to be more fully present and show up in the world. It has given me tools for approaching life that I will carry with me always. My understanding of Yoga has grown to encompass more than I dreamed--it is definitely a way of being that touches all parts of life. I now feel empowered to create and sustain my own deep personal yoga practice that will include much more than just practicing the physical asana to also encompass meditation, breathwork, deep relaxation, metta practice, and contemplation of the Yamas and Niyamas. It will continue to increase my confidence in my ability to teach as I revisit the course material again and again.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lacey J. Rentschler Feb 22, 2024
    Training Program held on Jan 05, 2024—Jan 22, 2024

  • 5 out of 5
    By: JuliKa Yoga Feb 20, 2024
    Training Program held on Jun 01, 2022—Jun 18, 2022

    I highly recommend Soma Yoga Institute for the program design, teaching method, therapeutic alignment, and yoga philosophy teachings. The daily schedule was perfect, a good balance of contemplation, movement, input, breaks, and integration. Learning sequencing was my favorite part, the alignment sessions combined with anatomy were really helpful. I also broadened my understanding of yoga philosophy and how to bring yogic qualities into the yoga classroom and daily life. The program was very accessible to all body types, levels of experience and personal background. Soma Yoga Institute left us students with compassionate hearts and confidence to share the joy of Yoga with our communities. I am confident and excited to teach others with the bhava of service to humanity!

    • General Comments

      I highly recommend Soma Yoga Institute for the program design, teaching method, therapeutic alignment, and yoga philosophy teachings. The daily schedule was perfect, a good balance of contemplation, movement, input, breaks, and integration. Learning sequencing was my favorite part, the alignment sessions combined with anatomy were really helpful. I also broadened my understanding of yoga philosophy and how to bring yogic qualities into the yoga classroom and daily life. The program was very accessible to all body types, levels of experience and personal background. Soma Yoga Institute left us students with compassionate hearts and confidence to share the joy of Yoga with our communities. I am confident and excited to teach others with the bhava of service to humanity!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Donna Rae Feb 08, 2024
    Training Program held on Jun 15, 2023—Aug 31, 2023

    The online training with live Zoom meeting support was very comprehensive, convenient, and affordable.

    • General Comments

      The online training with live Zoom meeting support was very comprehensive, convenient, and affordable.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Samantha Murphy Feb 06, 2024

    The 200 hour yoga teacher training environment was exceptionally welcoming and fostered openness. The instructors with their wealth of knowledge and approachable demeanor played a pivotal role in making this journey enriching. Taking the leap into this training without any expectations was a game changer. It allowed me to uncover a whole new side of myself. I found profound connection to my inner self and a heightened sense of self-worth.

    • General Comments

      The 200 hour yoga teacher training environment was exceptionally welcoming and fostered openness. The instructors with their wealth of knowledge and approachable demeanor played a pivotal role in making this journey enriching. Taking the leap into this training without any expectations was a game changer. It allowed me to uncover a whole new side of myself. I found profound connection to my inner self and a heightened sense of self-worth.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Lindquist Feb 02, 2024
    Training Program held on Dec 01, 2023—Dec 18, 2023

    Soma Yoga Institute exceeded all my expectations. From the location of our training, to the materials and quality of lessons, to the amazing teachers that guided us throughout the course. I learned so much and can confidently say I am ready to begin my journey as a yoga teacher. I am beyond grateful for Soma and will continue to be the biggest advocate of this school.

    • General Comments

      Soma Yoga Institute exceeded all my expectations. From the location of our training, to the materials and quality of lessons, to the amazing teachers that guided us throughout the course. I learned so much and can confidently say I am ready to begin my journey as a yoga teacher. I am beyond grateful for Soma and will continue to be the biggest advocate of this school.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Susan F Long Feb 01, 2024
    Training Program held on Jan 05, 2024—Jan 22, 2024

    Knowledgeable and effective instructors that were very inspiring,

    • General Comments

      Knowledgeable and effective instructors that were very inspiring,
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amy Golightly Jan 29, 2024
    Training Program held on Aug 01, 2023—Aug 18, 2023

    First and foremost, the training was excellent. It was a lot to process in 18 days, and so the access to online content after completion of the program was a great benefit. The only drawbacks were the mosquitoes, no screens in the shala or eating areas, and the food, while fresh, was pretty much the same thing all the time, which was a bit of a bummer. Sleeping was sometimes tough because it was so hot/humid. The pools and the ocean provided lovely relief, however. I learned a lot and made some great friends. I'll never forget my time in Costa Rica and appreciate all the knowledge the Liz and Allison shared with us, and the supportive learning environment that they mindfully created. I look forward to doing another training with Soma Yoga, in a different location next time.

    • General Comments

      First and foremost, the training was excellent. It was a lot to process in 18 days, and so the access to online content after completion of the program was a great benefit. The only drawbacks were the mosquitoes, no screens in the shala or eating areas, and the food, while fresh, was pretty much the same thing all the time, which was a bit of a bummer. Sleeping was sometimes tough because it was so hot/humid. The pools and the ocean provided lovely relief, however. I learned a lot and made some great friends. I'll never forget my time in Costa Rica and appreciate all the knowledge the Liz and Allison shared with us, and the supportive learning environment that they mindfully created. I look forward to doing another training with Soma Yoga, in a different location next time.
    School response
    Soma Yoga Institute
    Jan 29, 2024
    Hi Amy, Thank you so much for posting your review and providing us with useful feedback. I am so glad you found the course supportive and the education of high quality. It was great to get to know you and we are thrilled you are accessing the online content to keep learning. After your course ended in August I shared much of this feedback with the Salvatierra retreat center in Costa Rica. They have ordered the screens which will be installed in the yoga shala by our next program in August of 2024 and they have significantly improved on their menu. We just returned from there in December and January so I can personally attest to the improvements. One great thing about the team at the Salvatierra retreat is that they truly want to create magical experiences and have been very responsive to our feedback. Keep in touch with us with news of your yoga teaching journey. I imagine that you are already teaching and sharing yoga with others. Warmly and with Peace, Liz
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Colleen Monaco Jan 26, 2024
    Training Program held on Dec 01, 2023—Dec 18, 2023

First Registered May 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 492

By Sofia Englund RYT® 200

Feb 27, 2024

I loved every minute of this training with Soma Yoga Institute and I'm so happy that I chose this particular 200h YTT. It's an amazing course and I would highly recommend it! It's such a comprehensive and solid yoga teacher foundation, which includes topics like anatomy, biomechanics, alignment, sequencing, yin yoga, restorative yoga, ball rolling and the fascia, philosophy, and much more. The course is structured and organised in such a way that you can follow their suggested curriculum, or you can do it at your own pace, following your preferences on any given day. All of the teachers are so knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects that it's impossible to not get interested and nerdy about it too, whether it's about anatomy, the fascia, or sequencing. All the various yoga classes were amazing too, both the ones included in the curriculum and the bonus classes. Also, I really appreciated the live sessions at the start of the course, and that we were given so many 1-1 mentoring sessions. It was the perfect blend of self-paced and having just enough support and accountability to keep you focused. Loved everything about this training and I’m very proud to be a Soma Yoga Institute graduate! :) Full Review

By Melissa Carr RYT® 200

Feb 26, 2024

This 200 Hour Online Yoga Teacher Training has taught me so much about myself and how to be more fully present and show up in the world. It has given me tools for approaching life that I will carry with me always. My understanding of Yoga has grown to encompass more than I dreamed--it is definitely a way of being that touches all parts of life. I now feel empowered to create and sustain my own deep personal yoga practice that will include much more than just practicing the physical asana to also encompass meditation, breathwork, deep relaxation, metta practice, and contemplation of the Yamas and Niyamas. It will continue to increase my confidence in my ability to teach as I revisit the course material again and again. Full Review

All Reviews (492)

Teaching Staff

Samantha Akers

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Liz Heffernan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Molly Masaoka

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peggy Profant

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alison Scola C-IAYT

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance