Search

1. Soma Yoga Institute ONLINE

4.87

Based on 326 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.4/10


3 more Locations

Connect with Us

101 H Street

Arcata, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Soma Yoga Institute - Costa Rica
Playa Coyote, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Soma Yoga Institute Greece
Okreblue Yoga Center
Naousa Paros, Greece

Soma Yoga Institute Hawaii
58-996 Kohala Mountain Rd
Waimea, HI, USA

About Soma Yoga Institute

We are now enrolling for both  ONLINE 200 Hour  and ONLINE  300 Hour Y oga Teacher Trainings and  LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSION Yoga Teacher Trainings . Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates: September 1, 2021 October 1, 2021 October 15, 2021 January...

We are now enrolling for both ONLINE 200 Hour and ONLINE 300 Hour Yoga Teacher Trainings and LIVE IN-PERSON IMMERSION Yoga Teacher Trainings.

Next ONLINE 200 Hour Program Start Dates:
September 1, 2021
October 1, 2021
October 15, 2021
January 15, 2022
**Complete in 8 weeks, 12 weeks, 16 weeks or up to 8 months. TO BE ELIGIBLE TO REGISTER AS AN RYT-200 WITH YOGA ALLIANCE YOU MUST REGISTER IN 2021 AND COMPLETE NO LATER THAN DEC 31, 2022.
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/200-hr-Online-YTT


Next 200 HOUR Immersion Dates
December 1-18, 2021 Costa Rica
January 5-22, 2022 Costa Rica
March 31-April 20, 2022 Peru
June 1-18, 2022 Greece
July 20 - August 6, 2022 Hawaii
https://somayogainstitute.com/

Next 300 HOUR ONLINE Dates
October 16, 2021 - June 19, 2022
February 1-November 26, 2022
https://www.somayogainstitute.online/300hrOnlineYTT

Next 300 HOUR Immersion Dates
May 23-June 18, 2022 Greece
https://somayogainstitute.com/300-greece

ONLINE INFORMATION

Offering the 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training under the new COVID-19 provision. 

Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access 

NEXT COHORT START DATES FOR THE 200 HOUR ONLINE YOGA TEACHER TRAINING

September 1, 2021
October 1, 2021
October 15, 2021

Join us for our NEXT FREE Q & A ZOOM Webinar to learn more about our 200 Hour Online YTT program and meet the teachers.  Sign Up For the Free Webinar Here

You may also get in touch with us by visiting our website here, calling us at 808-333-9591, emailing us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com or setting up a meeting via phone, zoom or facetime here.

Upon successful completion you will be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as a RYT-200 (Please note you must register in 2021 AND complete by the deadline set by Yoga Alliance through their online COVID provision. This deadline is currently set for December 31, 2022. Please email us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com for more information). Our program has personalized one-to-one teacher mentoring and live zoom calls as well as prerecorded content.  

Please visit our website: https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Soma Yoga Institute offers 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

The 200 Hour Therapeutic Elements Yoga Teacher Training includes vinyasa flow, bio-mechanically sound alignment principles and the path of Yoga as a framework for Holistic Health. This program offers students in-depth skills to explore Yoga as a vehicle for vibrant health, self-transformation, and personal empowerment. Our curriculum includes a unique blend of alignment based vinyasa flow, a solid foundation in Hatha Yoga and 200 hours of instruction offered within a holistic wellness framework. The instruction will cover a wide range of yoga techniques including yoga postures, anatomy, relaxation, breath awareness, pranayama, meditations to calm the mind, contemplations to transform limiting tendencies into life affirming thought patterns, and the application of clear principles of alignment to create safety, balance and freedom in yoga poses. Students explore concepts from Ayurveda, the Upanishads, Patanjali and the Chakra System as frameworks for the application of yoga as a journey towards radiant health and wellbeing. The asana emphasis includes both level one/two alignment based vinyasa flow sequencing as well as gentler and restorative variations. Rather than offer standard sequencing or rigid methodologies, students are exposed to frameworks that inspire each trainee to adapt the practices, awaken their creativity and find their own authentic voice as a teacher. Graduates of this program feel empowered to teach a variety of yoga class types, including: all levels vinyasa yoga, alignment-based classes, yoga foundations, senior, gentle, and restorative.

The 300 hour Advanced Yoga Teacher Training course is designed specifically for those who are ready to deepen their knowledge base, teach with more authenticity, expand their repertoire and increase their efficacy in offering yoga as a vehicle for positive personal and planetary transformation and change. The program is open to yoga teachers from all disciplines with six months or more teaching experience (or by permission).

First Registered May 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Samantha Gonzalez Nov 28, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 01, 2021—Apr 30, 2021

    I really enjoyed this program and felt I learned so much given the pandemic circumstances! I always felt supported along the way from my mentor Sam and the rest of the instructors. I appreciated the several zoom lectures and group sessions that were always open for us to learn and connect with others. All in all, I learned to be more loving not only with myself but with others. I have learned to not be so hard on myself, especially when it comes to practicing asana or teaching yoga to others. This course has given me the confidence to teach yoga to others by reviewing the foundations of alignment, anatomy, and the history of yoga. I really enjoyed the format of this training, especially the fact I can learn at my own pace without feeling pressured or having the need to rush through material.

    • General Comments

      I really enjoyed this program and felt I learned so much given the pandemic circumstances! I always felt supported along the way from my mentor Sam and the rest of the instructors. I appreciated the several zoom lectures and group sessions that were always open for us to learn and connect with others. All in all, I learned to be more loving not only with myself but with others. I have learned to not be so hard on myself, especially when it comes to practicing asana or teaching yoga to others. This course has given me the confidence to teach yoga to others by reviewing the foundations of alignment, anatomy, and the history of yoga. I really enjoyed the format of this training, especially the fact I can learn at my own pace without feeling pressured or having the need to rush through material.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kaelena Kent Hale Nov 26, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 15, 2021—Jun 15, 2021

    Such a wonderful experience- especially for an online version of the course. I love the instructors and learned so much.

    • General Comments

      Such a wonderful experience- especially for an online version of the course. I love the instructors and learned so much.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Raquel Wright-Mair Nov 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Jul 15, 2021—Oct 31, 2021

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Corris Nov 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Jul 15, 2021—Oct 31, 2021

    I absolutely loved this program- it was extremely thorough and included so much information that you would not normally get in a 200 hr program. I loved that it was taught through a therapeutic lens.

    • General Comments

      I absolutely loved this program- it was extremely thorough and included so much information that you would not normally get in a 200 hr program. I loved that it was taught through a therapeutic lens.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Mackenzie Surbey Nov 10, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 01, 2021—Apr 30, 2021

    Love, love, loved Soma Yoga Institute's Yoga Teacher Training Program! I am so appreciative of the instructor's care and attention to detail. The virtual aspect was very easy to follow and made it possible for me to get amazing training on my own schedule. I am forever grateful for this training and the therapeutic approach.

    • General Comments

      Love, love, loved Soma Yoga Institute's Yoga Teacher Training Program! I am so appreciative of the instructor's care and attention to detail. The virtual aspect was very easy to follow and made it possible for me to get amazing training on my own schedule. I am forever grateful for this training and the therapeutic approach.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: October Newson Nov 05, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 15, 2021—Mar 31, 2021

    I am very grateful for the opportunity to have studied with Soma Yoga Institute.

    • General Comments

      I am very grateful for the opportunity to have studied with Soma Yoga Institute.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Taeisha Arnell Nov 05, 2021

    My experience with Soma Yoga Institute was tremendous. I attended during the first and second wave of the covid-19 pandemic in 2021 and I was so pleased with the teachers and made friends with confidence very easily. Despite having an injury during the school term, my teachers helped me to feel knowledgable about the yoga I teach now. I would highly recommend this school to others as well as continue my education for years to come at this school facility. Hopefully with ability to someday attend their yoga retreat school!

    • General Comments

      My experience with Soma Yoga Institute was tremendous. I attended during the first and second wave of the covid-19 pandemic in 2021 and I was so pleased with the teachers and made friends with confidence very easily. Despite having an injury during the school term, my teachers helped me to feel knowledgable about the yoga I teach now. I would highly recommend this school to others as well as continue my education for years to come at this school facility. Hopefully with ability to someday attend their yoga retreat school!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Renee Evans Nov 05, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 15, 2021—Jun 15, 2021

    I thoroughly enjoyed my learning experience at Soma Yoga Institute. The teachers are knowledgable, compassionate, experienced, and organized. They are always available to answer questions or offer support. I originally signed up for the 200 YTT course to deepen my knowledge about yoga but the experience gave me so much more. I highly recommend Soma!

    • General Comments

      I thoroughly enjoyed my learning experience at Soma Yoga Institute. The teachers are knowledgable, compassionate, experienced, and organized. They are always available to answer questions or offer support. I originally signed up for the 200 YTT course to deepen my knowledge about yoga but the experience gave me so much more. I highly recommend Soma!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gina DeNoble Nov 03, 2021
    Training Program held on Mar 01, 2021—May 15, 2021

    My life has changed significantly over the course of this training. The most impactful change has got to be the change in my actual bodily ability. Using the knowledge and asana coursework included in this program, I was able to achieve levels of function in six months I had not been able to achieve in YEARS of physical therapy. Seriously, years. I'm a little sad because I realize, if I had only known these things sooner, I could have avoided so much time being miserable in my body. But I am grateful to have the knowledge now, and have already begun to use the knowledge to help people. Everything I was able to do for my own body, I am passing along to my family members! My 64-year-old mother and 60-year-old aunt have both experienced gains in functionality since volunteering to be my teaching guinea pigs. The only thing better than the feeling of regaining functionality is seeing others regain it, and watching their quality of life increase as a result. My understanding of yoga has progressed considerably, though I now truly appreciate that learning about and practicing yoga is a lifelong endeavor. There will always be deeper levels of understanding to be reached. My personal yoga practice has become much more enjoyable and habitual. I am starting to show up on my mat more easily and naturally. I definitely feel more aware and familiar with my body than I have in a long time. I was also moved over the past three to six months to lean far into aparigraha. I cleansed my life of many of my belongings, clearing out a ton of decades-old clutter (physical, energetic, and metaphorical). This is the most significant cleansing of this type I have ever done. As I did this, I noticed old adhesions and patterns of holding from old injuries in my body begin to clear out, as well! I really wanted to prioritize the new values I have developed through my commitment to yoga as a lifestyle, and create space in my life for what is to come. My relationships with my family have improved - we now hold family yoga night via Zoom every week so we can check in with each other on opposite coasts...and I can practice teaching! The most important relationship that has and continues to improve is my relationship with myself (as corny as that sounds). My confidence level in terms of teaching has been steadily increasing as I moved through the program. My confidence shot up after successfully completing my practicum. I truly enjoyed the authenticity and expertise of the instructors! The course content and materials were comprehensive and thoughtfully designed. I like that each instructor is very unique in their personality and areas of knowledge, but similarly engaging, accomplished, and inspiring.

    • General Comments

      My life has changed significantly over the course of this training. The most impactful change has got to be the change in my actual bodily ability. Using the knowledge and asana coursework included in this program, I was able to achieve levels of function in six months I had not been able to achieve in YEARS of physical therapy. Seriously, years. I'm a little sad because I realize, if I had only known these things sooner, I could have avoided so much time being miserable in my body. But I am grateful to have the knowledge now, and have already begun to use the knowledge to help people. Everything I was able to do for my own body, I am passing along to my family members! My 64-year-old mother and 60-year-old aunt have both experienced gains in functionality since volunteering to be my teaching guinea pigs. The only thing better than the feeling of regaining functionality is seeing others regain it, and watching their quality of life increase as a result. My understanding of yoga has progressed considerably, though I now truly appreciate that learning about and practicing yoga is a lifelong endeavor. There will always be deeper levels of understanding to be reached. My personal yoga practice has become much more enjoyable and habitual. I am starting to show up on my mat more easily and naturally. I definitely feel more aware and familiar with my body than I have in a long time. I was also moved over the past three to six months to lean far into aparigraha. I cleansed my life of many of my belongings, clearing out a ton of decades-old clutter (physical, energetic, and metaphorical). This is the most significant cleansing of this type I have ever done. As I did this, I noticed old adhesions and patterns of holding from old injuries in my body begin to clear out, as well! I really wanted to prioritize the new values I have developed through my commitment to yoga as a lifestyle, and create space in my life for what is to come. My relationships with my family have improved - we now hold family yoga night via Zoom every week so we can check in with each other on opposite coasts...and I can practice teaching! The most important relationship that has and continues to improve is my relationship with myself (as corny as that sounds). My confidence level in terms of teaching has been steadily increasing as I moved through the program. My confidence shot up after successfully completing my practicum. I truly enjoyed the authenticity and expertise of the instructors! The course content and materials were comprehensive and thoughtfully designed. I like that each instructor is very unique in their personality and areas of knowledge, but similarly engaging, accomplished, and inspiring.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amy Hott Nov 02, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 15, 2021—Jun 15, 2021

    I very much enjoyed the entire process! The virtual option was perfect for me and Soma Yoga Institute did an excellent job with all of the materials. The instructors were clearly very passionate and knowledgeable and I feel as if my training helped me become a very well-rounded instructor.

    • General Comments

      I very much enjoyed the entire process! The virtual option was perfect for me and Soma Yoga Institute did an excellent job with all of the materials. The instructors were clearly very passionate and knowledgeable and I feel as if my training helped me become a very well-rounded instructor.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Yoga Therapy Policy in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered May 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 326

By Samantha Gonzalez RYT® 200

Nov 28, 2021

I really enjoyed this program and felt I learned so much given the pandemic circumstances! I always felt supported along the way from my mentor Sam and the rest of the instructors. I appreciated the several zoom lectures and group sessions that were always open for us to learn and connect with others. All in all, I learned to be more loving not only with myself but with others. I have learned to not be so hard on myself, especially when it comes to practicing asana or teaching yoga to others. This course has given me the confidence to teach yoga to others by reviewing the foundations of alignment, anatomy, and the history of yoga. I really enjoyed the format of this training, especially the fact I can learn at my own pace without feeling pressured or having the need to rush through material. Full Review

By Kaelena Kent Hale RYT® 200

Nov 26, 2021

Such a wonderful experience- especially for an online version of the course. I love the instructors and learned so much. Full Review

All Reviews (326)

Teaching Staff

Samantha Akers

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Liz Heffernan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Molly Masaoka

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peggy Profant

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alison Scola C-IAYT

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance