Search

A. Soma Yoga Institute ONLINE

4.86

Based on 298 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.4/10


3 more Locations

Connect with Us

101 H Street

Arcata, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Soma Yoga Institute - Costa Rica
Playa Coyote, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica

Soma Yoga Institute Greece
Okreblue Yoga Center
Naousa Paros, Greece

Soma Yoga Institute Hawaii
58-996 Kohala Mountain Rd
Waimea, HI, USA

About Soma Yoga Institute

NEW:  We now offer 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training under the new COVID-19 provision.  Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access  NEXT COHORT START DATES FOR THE 200 HOUR ONLINE YOGA TEACHER...

NEW:  We now offer 200 Hour ONLINE Yoga Teacher Training under the new COVID-19 provision. 

Online Live Zoom Group Calls + One to One Faculty Mentoring + Pre-recorded Content + Lifetime Access 

NEXT COHORT START DATES FOR THE 200 HOUR ONLINE YOGA TEACHER TRAINING

April 15, 2021
June 1, 2021
July 15, 2021
September 1, 2021
October 15, 2021

Join us for our NEXT FREE Q & A ZOOM Webinar to learn more about our 200 Hour Online YTT program and meet the teachers.  Sign Up For the Free Webinar Here

You may also get in touch with us by visiting our website here, calling us at 808-333-9591, emailing us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com or setting up a meeting via phone, zoom or facetime here.

Upon successful completion you will be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as a RYT-200 (Please note you must complete by the deadline set by Yoga Alliance through their online COVID provision. This deadline is currently set for December 31, 2021. Please email us at somayogainstitute@gmail.com for more information). Our program has personalized one-to-one teacher mentoring and live zoom calls as well as prerecorded content.  

Please visit our website: https://somayogainstitute.com/course-200

Soma Yoga Institute offers 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training Programs. 

The 200 Hour Therapeutic Elements Yoga Teacher Training includes vinyasa flow, bio-mechanically sound alignment principles and the path of Yoga as a framework for Holistic Health. This program offers students in-depth skills to explore Yoga as a vehicle for vibrant health, self-transformation, and personal empowerment. Our curriculum includes a unique blend of alignment based vinyasa flow, a solid foundation in Hatha Yoga and 200 hours of instruction offered within a holistic wellness framework. The instruction will cover a wide range of yoga techniques including yoga postures, anatomy, relaxation, breath awareness, pranayama, meditations to calm the mind, contemplations to transform limiting tendencies into life affirming thought patterns, and the application of clear principles of alignment to create safety, balance and freedom in yoga poses. Students explore concepts from Ayurveda, the Upanishads, Patanjali and the Chakra System as frameworks for the application of yoga as a journey towards radiant health and wellbeing. The asana emphasis includes both level one/two alignment based vinyasa flow sequencing as well as gentler and restorative variations. Rather than offer standard sequencing or rigid methodologies, students are exposed to frameworks that inspire each trainee to adapt the practices, awaken their creativity and find their own authentic voice as a teacher. Graduates of this program feel empowered to teach a variety of yoga class types, including: all levels vinyasa yoga, alignment-based classes, yoga foundations, senior, gentle, and restorative.

The 300 hour Advanced Yoga Teacher Training course is designed specifically for those who are ready to deepen their knowledge base, teach with more authenticity, expand their repertoire and increase their efficacy in offering yoga as a vehicle for positive personal and planetary transformation and change. The program is open to yoga teachers from all disciplines with six months or more teaching experience (or by permission).

First Registered May 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jana Lühr Apr 27, 2021
    Training Program held on Jul 15, 2020—Oct 14, 2020

    I did the Online 200 hour YTT with Soma in 2020 <3 My experience with SomaYogaInstitute was BEYOND my expectation and I was absolutely mindblown by the amount of knowledge I received. My entire practice changed, to being so much more aware of alignment and in touch with my body and what feels good for me. The teachers were ALL incredible and you could tell their passion and everything they taught felt like it was coming from their hearts - such an inspiring journey! I also never felt that I was learning less due to taking the training online, we were constantly in touch via live calls and email, and the teams was always there to answer any questions. The material is so in depth and also you learn it over a period of 8 weeks (or longer) so I felt that there was more time to take it all in compared to a in person 21 day or 1 month course! If you are feeling drawn to the YTT with Soma, but are hesitent, I definitely recommend going for it from the bottom of my heart!! Much love, Jana

    • General Comments

      I did the Online 200 hour YTT with Soma in 2020 <3 My experience with SomaYogaInstitute was BEYOND my expectation and I was absolutely mindblown by the amount of knowledge I received. My entire practice changed, to being so much more aware of alignment and in touch with my body and what feels good for me. The teachers were ALL incredible and you could tell their passion and everything they taught felt like it was coming from their hearts - such an inspiring journey! I also never felt that I was learning less due to taking the training online, we were constantly in touch via live calls and email, and the teams was always there to answer any questions. The material is so in depth and also you learn it over a period of 8 weeks (or longer) so I felt that there was more time to take it all in compared to a in person 21 day or 1 month course! If you are feeling drawn to the YTT with Soma, but are hesitent, I definitely recommend going for it from the bottom of my heart!! Much love, Jana
  • 3 out of 5
    By: Tashana Husom Apr 26, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Susanna Livermore Apr 23, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 11, 2017—Feb 28, 2017

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Alyssa Tantillo Apr 10, 2021

    I really felt supported through my 200 Hour Online Yoga Teacher Training. I really have enjoyed all of the resources that have been provided to me and I want these opportunities to learn and grow with Liz, Molly, Sam, and Peggy to never end. I definitely feel more confident as a yoga teacher in terms of feeling overall way more knowledgeable. I have really begun to bring the niyamas and yamas into daily life and feel that they help me through my everyday struggles. I really loved the discussions about the subtle body and anatomy! I look forward to learning more about the chakra system as well as the vast amount of knowledge that I feel that I can still learn about anatomy and kinesiology. I would absolutely do another YTT with Soma Yoga Institute and I definitely would recommend this training to others!!!

    • General Comments

      I really felt supported through my 200 Hour Online Yoga Teacher Training. I really have enjoyed all of the resources that have been provided to me and I want these opportunities to learn and grow with Liz, Molly, Sam, and Peggy to never end. I definitely feel more confident as a yoga teacher in terms of feeling overall way more knowledgeable. I have really begun to bring the niyamas and yamas into daily life and feel that they help me through my everyday struggles. I really loved the discussions about the subtle body and anatomy! I look forward to learning more about the chakra system as well as the vast amount of knowledge that I feel that I can still learn about anatomy and kinesiology. I would absolutely do another YTT with Soma Yoga Institute and I definitely would recommend this training to others!!!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: MIchelle Kuhn Mar 26, 2021

    This has been such a beautiful outlet of self-care and growth for me. I loved the gentle and kind energy of the teacher, the encouragement to jump into imperfect action and be ourselves. I found a lot of freedom in the non-dualistic perspective and authentic teaching. I also really liked the anatomy and alignment portion, which I think about all the time when practicing, especially the "interlocking gears" concept. I enjoyed the meditation and philosophy, as well as the yoga nidra experiences. I learned a lot from practice teaching with a partner. I am finding myself in a less judgmental headspace after completing this program. I also feel more grounded and connected to my body. Before this training, I had the idea that I would get in super good shape and become way more flexible as a result of this training. Now I understand that yoga is not about changing our bodies but finding space and acceptance for what is already here. I also used to think there was a right way to do a pose, and now I understand that there are more stable and more flexible bodies, and both have their own challenges. I was so proud of myself for teaching an entire class, something I didn't know if I could do! I am looking forward to incorporating yoga techniques into my work as a mental health counselor. - Michelle Kuhn

    • General Comments

      This has been such a beautiful outlet of self-care and growth for me. I loved the gentle and kind energy of the teacher, the encouragement to jump into imperfect action and be ourselves. I found a lot of freedom in the non-dualistic perspective and authentic teaching. I also really liked the anatomy and alignment portion, which I think about all the time when practicing, especially the "interlocking gears" concept. I enjoyed the meditation and philosophy, as well as the yoga nidra experiences. I learned a lot from practice teaching with a partner. I am finding myself in a less judgmental headspace after completing this program. I also feel more grounded and connected to my body. Before this training, I had the idea that I would get in super good shape and become way more flexible as a result of this training. Now I understand that yoga is not about changing our bodies but finding space and acceptance for what is already here. I also used to think there was a right way to do a pose, and now I understand that there are more stable and more flexible bodies, and both have their own challenges. I was so proud of myself for teaching an entire class, something I didn't know if I could do! I am looking forward to incorporating yoga techniques into my work as a mental health counselor. - Michelle Kuhn
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Maedean Yvonne Myers Mar 18, 2021

    I would highly recommend this program to anyone seeking a thorough grounding in the many aspects of yoga. I gained a deeper appreciation for the breadth and depth of knowledge to be gained through the study of yoga, its history, the physical practice, and philosophy. The teachers were highly knowledgeable and accessible.

    • General Comments

      I would highly recommend this program to anyone seeking a thorough grounding in the many aspects of yoga. I gained a deeper appreciation for the breadth and depth of knowledge to be gained through the study of yoga, its history, the physical practice, and philosophy. The teachers were highly knowledgeable and accessible.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Whitney Aragaki Mar 09, 2021

    This was a great program and I am so happy to have this hybrid program with the ability to self-pace through the informational videos and the live cohort meetings. I appreciated having a sense of community, while still being self-directed and aligned with my own intrinsic goals.

    • General Comments

      This was a great program and I am so happy to have this hybrid program with the ability to self-pace through the informational videos and the live cohort meetings. I appreciated having a sense of community, while still being self-directed and aligned with my own intrinsic goals.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Melanie Schauwecker Feb 26, 2021

    This is a wonderful program led by compassionate and generous teachers with many years of expertise and experience. I'm now building a continuing relationship with some of the teachers and other students. I was surprised to discover how a virtual program could be so successful - not only was I able to go at my own pace and integrate the studies into my daily life over a period of a few months, but I now have ongoing access to the material online, and I regularly refer back to a variety of the lessons offered.

    • General Comments

      This is a wonderful program led by compassionate and generous teachers with many years of expertise and experience. I'm now building a continuing relationship with some of the teachers and other students. I was surprised to discover how a virtual program could be so successful - not only was I able to go at my own pace and integrate the studies into my daily life over a period of a few months, but I now have ongoing access to the material online, and I regularly refer back to a variety of the lessons offered.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Elizabeth Oberg Feb 02, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 01, 2020—Dec 31, 2020

    Some of the best teachers I've had the privilege of learning from and so helpful. It was a little hard to connect with the community virtually but I believe it was the best in the circumstances but more live classes would be even better.

    • General Comments

      Some of the best teachers I've had the privilege of learning from and so helpful. It was a little hard to connect with the community virtually but I believe it was the best in the circumstances but more live classes would be even better.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Aliki Traianou Feb 02, 2021

    Really fantastic teacher training programme. Liz and Alison were so knowledgeable and passionate about what they were teaching. They built confidence in the students and I loved that we were practising teaching from early on in the training. I also loved that there was a good focus on alignment. It was a fantastic experience to be fully immersed in an incredible setting. Would recommend Soma Yoga Institute Teacher Trainings.

    • General Comments

      Really fantastic teacher training programme. Liz and Alison were so knowledgeable and passionate about what they were teaching. They built confidence in the students and I loved that we were practising teaching from early on in the training. I also loved that there was a good focus on alignment. It was a fantastic experience to be fully immersed in an incredible setting. Would recommend Soma Yoga Institute Teacher Trainings.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered May 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 298

By Jana Lühr RYT® 200

Apr 27, 2021

I did the Online 200 hour YTT with Soma in 2020 <3 My experience with SomaYogaInstitute was BEYOND my expectation and I was absolutely mindblown by the amount of knowledge I received. My entire practice changed, to being so much more aware of alignment and in touch with my body and what feels good for me. The teachers were ALL incredible and you could tell their passion and everything they taught felt like it was coming from their hearts - such an inspiring journey! I also never felt that I was learning less due to taking the training online, we were constantly in touch via live calls and email, and the teams was always there to answer any questions. The material is so in depth and also you learn it over a period of 8 weeks (or longer) so I felt that there was more time to take it all in compared to a in person 21 day or 1 month course! If you are feeling drawn to the YTT with Soma, but are hesitent, I definitely recommend going for it from the bottom of my heart!! Much love, Jana Full Review

By Tashana Husom RYT® 200

Apr 26, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (298)

Teaching Staff

Samantha Akers

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Liz Heffernan

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Molly Masaoka

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peggy Profant

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alison Scola C-IAYT

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance