Search

Direct Path Institute

4.93

Based on 59 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.5/10


1 more Location

Connect with Us

Aves Hotel & Resort - Retreat Center

Puntarenas Province, Montezuma, Costa Rica

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

Other Locations

Direct Path Institute
The Om Center
Watertown, CT, USA

About Direct Path Institute

The Direct Path Institute (formerly The OM Center) offers 200 & 300-hour yoga teacher training programs and a variety of continuing education.  A deep practice in pranayama and meditation are crucial to the curriculum with a physical focus on Vinyasa. From studies...

The Direct Path Institute (formerly The OM Center) offers 200 & 300-hour yoga teacher training programs and a variety of continuing education. 

A deep practice in pranayama and meditation are crucial to the curriculum with a physical focus on Vinyasa. From studies in history and philosophy to sacred texts, students will pay homage to the lineage and the yogis who have come before through their experiences and education in this program. 

The study of asana (poses) is conducted not only through the understanding and breakdown of poses and how to teach them, but is looked at through the lens of anatomy and physiology as well as theories of energy.

With the primary teaching style of Vinyasa, students will learn and study teaching techniques, languaging, and how to lead and conduct a safe class of dynamic movement and breath. Through our training, we also touch upon restorative yoga, yin yoga, power yoga, chair yoga and gentle practices to ensure students leave feeling that they have a well rounded teaching repertoire under their belt. 

Discuss the business of yoga and ethical practices of a yoga teacher. Creating a safe space for yourself, your students and your community are an important aspect of any yoga teacher's career. 

Enjoy the community aspect of this type of training as you create lifelong, like-minded friends who quickly become your family. 

Our goal is to give you time to be creative, inquisitive, empathetic, studious, and introspective and the space to look at this life with fresh eyes and a new sense of interest and vigor. 

First Registered February 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Mia Grossman Jan 10, 2023
    Training Program held on Sep 10, 2022—Dec 18, 2022

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Robin Goodrich Jan 07, 2023
    Training Program held on Sep 10, 2022—Dec 18, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ethan Antaya Mar 05, 2022

    Taking Yoga Teacher Training at The OM Center is the single best decision I have ever made. The training is designed to truly respect the origins of yoga and help you grow into a confident teacher. There is so much to learn and so much growth to be made during this duration of this training. The patience, knowledge, and professionalism of the teachers is unmatched. This training has so much to offer and was a truly life-changing time for me.

    • General Comments

      Taking Yoga Teacher Training at The OM Center is the single best decision I have ever made. The training is designed to truly respect the origins of yoga and help you grow into a confident teacher. There is so much to learn and so much growth to be made during this duration of this training. The patience, knowledge, and professionalism of the teachers is unmatched. This training has so much to offer and was a truly life-changing time for me.
    School response
    Direct Path Institute
    Mar 06, 2022
    Thank you so much Ethan.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Linda E Boutot Mar 01, 2022

    The OM Center is a perfect place for the Yoga Teacher Training Course. The teachers were so thorough and patient, taking the time to guide us through each part of the course explaining each step in full detail . The director provided a relaxed yet professional, safe and informative space where the class could feel comfortable in asking questions, knowing that they would be answered fully and without judgement. I feel very confident in the training that I have received from The OM Center and am extremely grateful for this opportunity.

    • General Comments

      The OM Center is a perfect place for the Yoga Teacher Training Course. The teachers were so thorough and patient, taking the time to guide us through each part of the course explaining each step in full detail . The director provided a relaxed yet professional, safe and informative space where the class could feel comfortable in asking questions, knowing that they would be answered fully and without judgement. I feel very confident in the training that I have received from The OM Center and am extremely grateful for this opportunity.
    School response
    Direct Path Institute
    Mar 01, 2022
    Linda. Thank you for this lovely review. You put so much of yourself into this training and really worked so hard. We too are confident that you will do amazing things going forward.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kelly Carrasquillo Feb 23, 2022
    Training Program held on Jan 18, 2019—Dec 08, 2019

  • I came to this school looking to find my voice. What I found was an Instructor who skillfully and compassionately guided me into my mind, body and soul. I am confident with my words and movement on my mat, but more importantly in my life.

    • General Comments

      I came to this school looking to find my voice. What I found was an Instructor who skillfully and compassionately guided me into my mind, body and soul. I am confident with my words and movement on my mat, but more importantly in my life.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amy E. Motson Aug 19, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Haylee Snow Aug 18, 2021
    Training Program held on May 01, 2021—Jul 17, 2021

    I am so glad I decided to get my yoga teacher certification with The Om Center. It was the most welcoming environment where I was able to grow tremendously. I gained so much knowledge about myself and about the world in addition to learning to become a yoga teacher. I am forever grateful for this experience and the teachers at The Om Center.

    • General Comments

      I am so glad I decided to get my yoga teacher certification with The Om Center. It was the most welcoming environment where I was able to grow tremendously. I gained so much knowledge about myself and about the world in addition to learning to become a yoga teacher. I am forever grateful for this experience and the teachers at The Om Center.
    School response
    Direct Path Institute
    Aug 19, 2021
    Thank you for such a lovely review Haylee. We are so proud of you and can't wait to see where you go from here!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kristen Lauria Aug 10, 2021
    Training Program held on May 01, 2021—Jul 17, 2021

    Studying at The Om Center was such a pleasure! I learned so much about teaching in a way that is safe, responsible, and receptive to others. I also loved connecting the physical practice to other aspects of yoga. 10/10 would recommend!

    • General Comments

      Studying at The Om Center was such a pleasure! I learned so much about teaching in a way that is safe, responsible, and receptive to others. I also loved connecting the physical practice to other aspects of yoga. 10/10 would recommend!
    School response
    Direct Path Institute
    Aug 19, 2021
    Kristen thank you so much. You brought such an amazing energy to the training and we are excited to see how you blend your training with your current career!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Karen Riccio Aug 06, 2021
    Training Program held on May 01, 2021—Jul 17, 2021

    I could not have asked for more from my training from The Om Center, I left feeling confident and ready to teach in a studio. The material was covered thoroughly to give a deep understanding of what we were learning and what we would need to take with us as we go on to use our certification in the world.

    • General Comments

      I could not have asked for more from my training from The Om Center, I left feeling confident and ready to teach in a studio. The material was covered thoroughly to give a deep understanding of what we were learning and what we would need to take with us as we go on to use our certification in the world.
    School response
    Direct Path Institute
    Aug 19, 2021
    Karen thank you. We are so happy to see that are started teaching right away. You have so much to offer the world. Thank you for the beautiful review!
First Registered February 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 59

By Mia Grossman RYT® 200

Jan 10, 2023

Full Review

By Robin Goodrich RYT® 200

Jan 07, 2023

Full Review

All Reviews (59)

Teaching Staff

Claudette Adams Claudette Adams

E-RYT® 200

Jessica Proulx

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Kristina Carey Kristina Carey

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RPYT®

Rebecca Gleason Rebecca Gleason

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Sara Merrick-Albano

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jackie Portanova Jackie Portanova

E-RYT® 200

All Teaching Staff (6)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2023 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2023 by Yoga Alliance