Search

The Maze Method (formerly yogamaze)

4.87

Based on 456 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.2/10


Connect with Us

111 North Larchmont Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About The Mazé Method

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs...

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs are Yoga Alliance registered and CEU eligible.

We offer workshops and trainings around the world and ONLINE. Our Yoga Alliance registered teacher trainings are offered ONLINE, and when the world is in the habit of gathering, right here in Los Angeles, or at select locations worldwide, on nearly every continent. 

The Mazé Method teacher trainings consist of a step-by-step approach to becoming a skillful, confident teacher. The curriculum combines detailed alignment knowledge and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory to provide you with sound skills for teaching safe and effective yoga classes. Lead teachers have spent over 75 years collectively investigating nearly every style of yoga, its practices, and associated philosophies. Their knowledge, combined with their approach to experiential education, creates a learning environment that is rich and multi-faceted. We study and deconstruct asana (yoga poses), pranayama (breathwork), meditation, adjustments, yoga theory, yoga practice, yoga history and philosophy, basic Sanskrit, and ethics. Each day in training is treasure trove of learning about anatomy, kinesiology, applied biomechanics, and how to use this knowledge to optimize your yoga and movement practice and teaching. Students learn to apply healthy critical thinking through an inquisitive approach to yoga studies. They practice innovative teaching drills, gain clarity about how scientific principles substantiate training techniques, explore the deeper dimensions of yoga practice, and leave with a cutting-edge understanding of human movement and physiology. In all, students can expect to complete this school’s training with new perspectives on yoga study, a greater understanding of biomechanical alignment principles, and expanded general knowledge.

Ever-advancing the conversation and curriculum in yoga education, Noah Mazé and his wife, Tracy Silver Mazé, have worked together for decades. Together they have founded several schools, and have pioneered training content to enhance and sharpen the skills of yoga teachers. Many talented teachers and facilitators have graduated from the Mazé Method and its preceding organizations, including Nichol Chase, Rocky Heron and many others. Their team has worked together in varying capacities for nearing a decade to create world-class yoga products. 

Our training curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with Vinyasa theory, and is designed and regularly updated by Noah Mazé, who is recognized around the globe as a teacher’s teacher. We emphasize logical analysis, clear language, and critical thinking. We do not advocate one set of principals or one philosophy. Rather, our students are empowered to teach with confidence, because they possess the requisite educational tools to make strong teaching choices in light of their own individual objectives. We limit attendance in our programs. Our extensive, world-class online and in-person learning opportunities are designed to provide the most comprehensive learning experience possible, and if you read what our students have to say about our trainings, we believe we do just that.

The Mazé Method 200-hour teacher trainings take you on a journey of self-discovery and education into all things yoga. Our foundational training (200–hour) program is ideal for serious students of yoga, aspiring yoga teachers, and teachers with varying levels of experience. Our curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory, and provides you with sound knowledge and skills to teach safe and effective yoga classes. This training is recognized by Yoga Alliance and focuses in three areas of study: The Theory and Practice of Yoga, Yoga Philosophy, and The Art of Teaching. Trainees may thus register with Yoga Alliance at its RYT-200 level upon successful completion of this training.

The Mazé Method 300 hour teacher trainings are a year-long learning journey to unlock and unleash your potential and provide you with tools to increase the potency and breadth of your teaching. You will learn self-empowerment strategies to better help yourself on your own path. You will be making a serious investment in the quality of your yoga education, the depth and skill of your yogic practices, the potency of your teaching skills, and improving your knowledge. Enrollment is limited to 45 students or less. You will receive help from Noah individually and from the group as a whole. At the end of this program you will receive a certificate, which qualifies you to register with Yoga Alliance at the 300 RYT level and you also become eligible to continue to participate in The Mazé Method’s post 300 hour certification program.

In addition, we offer continuing education opportunities worldwide, covering topics ranging from yoga philosophy and mythology, to sequencing and anatomy. These 50-hour weeklong Teacher Tuneups and weekend workshops serve to inspire and refine your teaching without requiring the commitment to a longer training program. For those who prefer to pursue your education at home, we have curated a robust collection of online courses on broad ranging topics. These courses can be taken at your own pace, in your own time, and cover similar curriculum to what we teach in person.

As a health-conscious, people-oriented yoga business, The Mazé Method aims to support students in their quest to realize their greatest potential.  We aim to lead by example, making efforts to model what is ‘life-enhancing’ and let go of what is not. We strive for high standards, sweetened with humor and humility, with the intention of continuous evolution.  We endeavor to always speak and act in a way that encourages others to remember how interconnected all things are by being open, clear, direct, kind and considerate of one another.  We also strive to consider our planet in our daily and business practices.

First Registered February 2013

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Robin Tripoli Strom Jan 11, 2023
    Training Program held on May 01, 2022—Oct 30, 2022

    Loved that the training was divided into modules and we could work ahead and catch up as needed. The zoom sessions were highly valuable to work through the material, to ask questions to Noah and to get to know other teachers in training. I am so grateful to have been a part of this 300 hour intense training and I feel more confident as a teacher as well as knowledgable about anatomy, philosophy, sequencing, to name a few. It also deepened my own practice!

    • General Comments

      Loved that the training was divided into modules and we could work ahead and catch up as needed. The zoom sessions were highly valuable to work through the material, to ask questions to Noah and to get to know other teachers in training. I am so grateful to have been a part of this 300 hour intense training and I feel more confident as a teacher as well as knowledgable about anatomy, philosophy, sequencing, to name a few. It also deepened my own practice!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Simply Yin Jan 04, 2023
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

    Excellent training for 200 hr. very thorough on anatomy, bio-mechanics, philosophy and sequencing. It is a psychologically safe course and there is ample support. Note- this required commitment to study and as a full time worker it did take me longer than the prescribed time to complete. I highly recommend.

    • General Comments

      Excellent training for 200 hr. very thorough on anatomy, bio-mechanics, philosophy and sequencing. It is a psychologically safe course and there is ample support. Note- this required commitment to study and as a full time worker it did take me longer than the prescribed time to complete. I highly recommend.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lucas Hergert Jan 03, 2023
    Training Program held on May 01, 2022—Oct 30, 2022

    I found Noah's teaching informative, relatable, and useful. From philosophy to anatomy to sequencing, his depth and range never ceased to impress me. He is a caring and committed teacher, genuinely interested in helping other teachers achieve their goals. I cannot recommend his teacher training enough.

    • General Comments

      I found Noah's teaching informative, relatable, and useful. From philosophy to anatomy to sequencing, his depth and range never ceased to impress me. He is a caring and committed teacher, genuinely interested in helping other teachers achieve their goals. I cannot recommend his teacher training enough.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Terra Meierdierck Dec 30, 2022
    Training Program held on May 01, 2022—Oct 30, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sofia Meleças Dec 30, 2022
    Training Program held on May 01, 2022—Oct 30, 2022

    a very complete training program, a wonderful journey of knowledge!

    • General Comments

      a very complete training program, a wonderful journey of knowledge!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Alexus Johnson Dec 13, 2022
    Training Program held on Jan 16, 2022—Jun 20, 2022

    I could not be any more pleased with my experience with this yoga teacher training. Noah, Rocky, & Nichol were all amazing teachers and guidance through an experience that revealed so much strength and courage within myself. Their experience truly shines through in their teaching and I am so excited to take what I have learned and grow!

    • General Comments

      I could not be any more pleased with my experience with this yoga teacher training. Noah, Rocky, & Nichol were all amazing teachers and guidance through an experience that revealed so much strength and courage within myself. Their experience truly shines through in their teaching and I am so excited to take what I have learned and grow!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Dolly Reno Nov 17, 2022
    Training Program held on Feb 01, 2021—Jan 20, 2022

    What an incredible group of human beings. I feel grateful to have learned from Noah, Tracy, Rocky and so the rest of the team. Thank you, Thank you!

    • General Comments

      What an incredible group of human beings. I feel grateful to have learned from Noah, Tracy, Rocky and so the rest of the team. Thank you, Thank you!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nikolas Sep 05, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gail Lordi Sep 04, 2022
    Training Program held on Feb 01, 2021—Jan 20, 2022

    The Mazé Method 300 level teacher training program is top-notch. I have learned a tremendous amount of knowledge that has inspired my personal practice, as well as my ability to teach with a much deeper insight. Noah and his team are highly qualified and the training is so thorough! I am forever inspired by this exceptional training.

    • General Comments

      The Mazé Method 300 level teacher training program is top-notch. I have learned a tremendous amount of knowledge that has inspired my personal practice, as well as my ability to teach with a much deeper insight. Noah and his team are highly qualified and the training is so thorough! I am forever inspired by this exceptional training.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Yoga with Annerosa Aug 07, 2022
    Training Program held on Feb 01, 2021—Jan 20, 2022

    Great content! I learnt a lot through the Noah's training. My confidence as a teacher grew a lot though the year of completing this 300hr program, I found the teachers tuneup very helpful, the structure of anatomy combined with classes and repeated information was very helpful with retaining information. Noah's ability for story telling made philosophy retainable and enjoyable, I had already done a training with Noah in person and got to enjoy some philosophy training, this was one of the reasons I choose this program for my 300hr training. I found the online platform challenging to keep track of where I was and the slow communication once I completed the workshop was making me a little stressed and anxious.

    • General Comments

      Great content! I learnt a lot through the Noah's training. My confidence as a teacher grew a lot though the year of completing this 300hr program, I found the teachers tuneup very helpful, the structure of anatomy combined with classes and repeated information was very helpful with retaining information. Noah's ability for story telling made philosophy retainable and enjoyable, I had already done a training with Noah in person and got to enjoy some philosophy training, this was one of the reasons I choose this program for my 300hr training. I found the online platform challenging to keep track of where I was and the slow communication once I completed the workshop was making me a little stressed and anxious.
First Registered February 2013

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 456

By Robin Tripoli Strom E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RPYT®, YACEP®

Jan 11, 2023

Loved that the training was divided into modules and we could work ahead and catch up as needed. The zoom sessions were highly valuable to work through the material, to ask questions to Noah and to get to know other teachers in training. I am so grateful to have been a part of this 300 hour intense training and I feel more confident as a teacher as well as knowledgable about anatomy, philosophy, sequencing, to name a few. It also deepened my own practice! Full Review

By Simply Yin RYT® 200

Jan 04, 2023

Excellent training for 200 hr. very thorough on anatomy, bio-mechanics, philosophy and sequencing. It is a psychologically safe course and there is ample support. Note- this required commitment to study and as a full time worker it did take me longer than the prescribed time to complete. I highly recommend. Full Review

All Reviews (456)

Teaching Staff

Nichol Chase

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peach Friedman

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Rocky Heron

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Noah Maze

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Amy Petty

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jennifer Davis

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

HAUM SF

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (7)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2023 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2023 by Yoga Alliance