Search

The Maze Method (formerly yogamaze)

4.87

Based on 403 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.2/10


Connect with Us

111 North Larchmont Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About The Mazé Method

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs...

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs are Yoga Alliance registered and CEU eligible.

We offer workshops and trainings around the world and ONLINE. Our Yoga Alliance registered teacher trainings are offered ONLINE, and when the world is in the habit of gathering, right here in Los Angeles, or at select locations worldwide, on nearly every continent. 

The Mazé Method teacher trainings consist of a step-by-step approach to becoming a skillful, confident teacher. The curriculum combines detailed alignment knowledge and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory to provide you with sound skills for teaching safe and effective yoga classes. Lead teachers have spent over 75 years collectively investigating nearly every style of yoga, its practices, and associated philosophies. Their knowledge, combined with their approach to experiential education, creates a learning environment that is rich and multi-faceted. We study and deconstruct asana (yoga poses), pranayama (breathwork), meditation, adjustments, yoga theory, yoga practice, yoga history and philosophy, basic Sanskrit, and ethics. Each day in training is treasure trove of learning about anatomy, kinesiology, applied biomechanics, and how to use this knowledge to optimize your yoga and movement practice and teaching. Students learn to apply healthy critical thinking through an inquisitive approach to yoga studies. They practice innovative teaching drills, gain clarity about how scientific principles substantiate training techniques, explore the deeper dimensions of yoga practice, and leave with a cutting-edge understanding of human movement and physiology. In all, students can expect to complete this school’s training with new perspectives on yoga study, a greater understanding of biomechanical alignment principles, and expanded general knowledge.

Ever-advancing the conversation and curriculum in yoga education, Noah Mazé and his wife, Tracy Silver Mazé, have worked together for decades. Together they have founded several schools, and have pioneered training content to enhance and sharpen the skills of yoga teachers. Many talented teachers and facilitators have graduated from the Mazé Method and its preceding organizations, including Nichol Chase, Rocky Heron and many others. Their team has worked together in varying capacities for nearing a decade to create world-class yoga products. 

Our training curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with Vinyasa theory, and is designed and regularly updated by Noah Mazé, who is recognized around the globe as a teacher’s teacher. We emphasize logical analysis, clear language, and critical thinking. We do not advocate one set of principals or one philosophy. Rather, our students are empowered to teach with confidence, because they possess the requisite educational tools to make strong teaching choices in light of their own individual objectives. We limit attendance in our programs. Our extensive, world-class online and in-person learning opportunities are designed to provide the most comprehensive learning experience possible, and if you read what our students have to say about our trainings, we believe we do just that.

The Mazé Method 200-hour teacher trainings take you on a journey of self-discovery and education into all things yoga. Our foundational training (200–hour) program is ideal for serious students of yoga, aspiring yoga teachers, and teachers with varying levels of experience. Our curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory, and provides you with sound knowledge and skills to teach safe and effective yoga classes. This training is recognized by Yoga Alliance and focuses in three areas of study: The Theory and Practice of Yoga, Yoga Philosophy, and The Art of Teaching. Trainees may thus register with Yoga Alliance at its RYT-200 level upon successful completion of this training.

The Mazé Method 300 hour teacher trainings are a year-long learning journey to unlock and unleash your potential and provide you with tools to increase the potency and breadth of your teaching. You will learn self-empowerment strategies to better help yourself on your own path. You will be making a serious investment in the quality of your yoga education, the depth and skill of your yogic practices, the potency of your teaching skills, and improving your knowledge. Enrollment is limited to 45 students or less. You will receive help from Noah individually and from the group as a whole. At the end of this program you will receive a certificate, which qualifies you to register with Yoga Alliance at the 300 RYT level and you also become eligible to continue to participate in The Mazé Method’s post 300 hour certification program.

In addition, we offer continuing education opportunities worldwide, covering topics ranging from yoga philosophy and mythology, to sequencing and anatomy. These 50-hour weeklong Teacher Tuneups and weekend workshops serve to inspire and refine your teaching without requiring the commitment to a longer training program. For those who prefer to pursue your education at home, we have curated a robust collection of online courses on broad ranging topics. These courses can be taken at your own pace, in your own time, and cover similar curriculum to what we teach in person.

As a health-conscious, people-oriented yoga business, The Mazé Method aims to support students in their quest to realize their greatest potential.  We aim to lead by example, making efforts to model what is ‘life-enhancing’ and let go of what is not. We strive for high standards, sweetened with humor and humility, with the intention of continuous evolution.  We endeavor to always speak and act in a way that encourages others to remember how interconnected all things are by being open, clear, direct, kind and considerate of one another.  We also strive to consider our planet in our daily and business practices.

First Registered February 2013

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Anna Palermo Sep 05, 2021

    I thought the instructors were very knowledgeable and engaging. Sometimes it was unclear where lessons were in books that were a part of the curriculum. It would have been nice if they let you know what page/ chapter correlated with what was being discussed. Especially with the philosophy sections.

    • General Comments

      I thought the instructors were very knowledgeable and engaging. Sometimes it was unclear where lessons were in books that were a part of the curriculum. It would have been nice if they let you know what page/ chapter correlated with what was being discussed. Especially with the philosophy sections.
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Heather Brown Aug 30, 2021

    The content of this program is great. I am looking forward to having this continued resource as I continue my yoga journey. I am so thankful that a program like this has been made available virtually. Being able to get through the material on my own time and reach out with any questions was paramount to me. My one criticism, I wish that there were more "live" events that were focused only on community building within the participants. I was able to drop in to the beginnings of the live trainings from time to time, but the way I was going through the material I could not keep up with the in person tempo. There wasn't really a problem with this except I felt I was missing some of the community connection that it seemed some of the other participants who were able to fully participate live were able to tap into. I think that by creating a few "check in" sessions open to anyone in the program may help with this. Maybe even opening these more social events up to any former students as well might create more of that community feeling between remote learners. I do come from a biased background of having Kripalu be my first YTT experience, but I am also a member of a few other communities that have implemented these types of virtual social gatherings successfully. I also realize that Noah is a busy person :-) so it may not be feasible to have him hold these types of meetings, which I also think would be ok.

    • General Comments

      The content of this program is great. I am looking forward to having this continued resource as I continue my yoga journey. I am so thankful that a program like this has been made available virtually. Being able to get through the material on my own time and reach out with any questions was paramount to me. My one criticism, I wish that there were more "live" events that were focused only on community building within the participants. I was able to drop in to the beginnings of the live trainings from time to time, but the way I was going through the material I could not keep up with the in person tempo. There wasn't really a problem with this except I felt I was missing some of the community connection that it seemed some of the other participants who were able to fully participate live were able to tap into. I think that by creating a few "check in" sessions open to anyone in the program may help with this. Maybe even opening these more social events up to any former students as well might create more of that community feeling between remote learners. I do come from a biased background of having Kripalu be my first YTT experience, but I am also a member of a few other communities that have implemented these types of virtual social gatherings successfully. I also realize that Noah is a busy person :-) so it may not be feasible to have him hold these types of meetings, which I also think would be ok.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Niabh McGlynn Aug 29, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

    The Mazé Method TT program was a comprehensive, holistic and broad approach to teacher training spanning yoga practice, philosophy, meditation, anatomy and physiology. The lecturers made the effort to keep the lessons fun and interesting. It was flexible enough that I could do the course during weekdays and night time. Teacher support and encouragement were consistant and easy to access. The course also covers how to navigate current cultural perceptions, pitfalls, and nuances associated with teaching yoga today. We were also given practical tips on how to set up your own business and manage your on-line 'brand' as a teacher. I found all of the lectures most importantly to be authentic, interesting and relevant to beginning my journey as a yoga teacher. I would recommend this course as a good starting point for any budding yoga teacher to begin.

    • General Comments

      The Mazé Method TT program was a comprehensive, holistic and broad approach to teacher training spanning yoga practice, philosophy, meditation, anatomy and physiology. The lecturers made the effort to keep the lessons fun and interesting. It was flexible enough that I could do the course during weekdays and night time. Teacher support and encouragement were consistant and easy to access. The course also covers how to navigate current cultural perceptions, pitfalls, and nuances associated with teaching yoga today. We were also given practical tips on how to set up your own business and manage your on-line 'brand' as a teacher. I found all of the lectures most importantly to be authentic, interesting and relevant to beginning my journey as a yoga teacher. I would recommend this course as a good starting point for any budding yoga teacher to begin.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Mila De Biaggi Aug 25, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

    Awaken the Teacher within, a course that I will cherish forever. I have deep appreciation to all the students and teachers. Noah Maze, Rocky Heron, Tracy Maze, Nichol Chase, Nikki Meyers, Michelle Johnson, thank you for everything! I am from South Africa and I felt as though I was in the room with everyone! Its a course that will empower you, give you a deep understanding into how our magnificent bodies and minds come together as one. To create balance, harmony, strength and alignment within. I love teaching and knowing confidently that my clients will have a wholesome experience. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    • General Comments

      Awaken the Teacher within, a course that I will cherish forever. I have deep appreciation to all the students and teachers. Noah Maze, Rocky Heron, Tracy Maze, Nichol Chase, Nikki Meyers, Michelle Johnson, thank you for everything! I am from South Africa and I felt as though I was in the room with everyone! Its a course that will empower you, give you a deep understanding into how our magnificent bodies and minds come together as one. To create balance, harmony, strength and alignment within. I love teaching and knowing confidently that my clients will have a wholesome experience. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tazuko Shibusawa Aug 20, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Stacey Gilbert Aug 13, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

    Loved, loved, loved this training! It was such a thorough and thoughtfully put together program. The level of expertise and wisdom was above and beyond my expectations! Noah, Rocky, and Nichol are wonderful teachers and work so beautifully together. The support Tracy gave throughout the program was an added bonus for sure! I am so grateful that I choose this program and would highly recommend. Thank you! Can't wait to get some teaching experience and join the Maze School for the 300 hour training!

    • General Comments

      Loved, loved, loved this training! It was such a thorough and thoughtfully put together program. The level of expertise and wisdom was above and beyond my expectations! Noah, Rocky, and Nichol are wonderful teachers and work so beautifully together. The support Tracy gave throughout the program was an added bonus for sure! I am so grateful that I choose this program and would highly recommend. Thank you! Can't wait to get some teaching experience and join the Maze School for the 300 hour training!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Deena Wohl Devereaux Aug 02, 2021

    Extremely comprehensive, well organized, supportive and personal.

    • General Comments

      Extremely comprehensive, well organized, supportive and personal.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jodie Bierbach Jul 28, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—Jun 04, 2021

    The Mazé Method 200 hour teacher training is an exceptional educational experience. It is rigorous and challenging in ways that will refine you personally and professionally. They offer cumulative knowledge and wisdom that are tough to match or exceed. The pandemic granted me the opportunity to access this superior curriculum online and at an affordable price. Going forward I have access to all of the videos and sessions indefinitely- a rich trove that goes beyond just the manual and notes one usually has after a training. If you feel nudged to become a teacher, grab this chance and run with it!

    • General Comments

      The Mazé Method 200 hour teacher training is an exceptional educational experience. It is rigorous and challenging in ways that will refine you personally and professionally. They offer cumulative knowledge and wisdom that are tough to match or exceed. The pandemic granted me the opportunity to access this superior curriculum online and at an affordable price. Going forward I have access to all of the videos and sessions indefinitely- a rich trove that goes beyond just the manual and notes one usually has after a training. If you feel nudged to become a teacher, grab this chance and run with it!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Hannah Skye Wenzel Jul 19, 2021

    Noah is an amazing teacher with a wealth of knowledge and passion. The transition to online learning during the pandemic was a little disorganized, and I found the online format challenging - but they made it work and upheld their commitment to their trainees. I'm glad I chose to train with Noah.

    • General Comments

      Noah is an amazing teacher with a wealth of knowledge and passion. The transition to online learning during the pandemic was a little disorganized, and I found the online format challenging - but they made it work and upheld their commitment to their trainees. I'm glad I chose to train with Noah.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Claire Ziewitz Gilbert Jul 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 06, 2020—Jan 10, 2020

    I had a wonderful experience with the Maze Method 200-hr Teacher Training! Nichol Chase is an exemplary teacher who provided a thorough, rigorous, and compassionate training. I also learned a lot from my fellow student-teachers, who were all kind, intelligent, and very talented yogis. Overall, it was an unforgettable life experience and I feel well prepared to be a teacher myself.

    • General Comments

      I had a wonderful experience with the Maze Method 200-hr Teacher Training! Nichol Chase is an exemplary teacher who provided a thorough, rigorous, and compassionate training. I also learned a lot from my fellow student-teachers, who were all kind, intelligent, and very talented yogis. Overall, it was an unforgettable life experience and I feel well prepared to be a teacher myself.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered February 2013

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 403

By Anna Palermo RYT® 200

Sep 05, 2021

I thought the instructors were very knowledgeable and engaging. Sometimes it was unclear where lessons were in books that were a part of the curriculum. It would have been nice if they let you know what page/ chapter correlated with what was being discussed. Especially with the philosophy sections. Full Review

By Heather Brown RYT® 500

Aug 30, 2021

The content of this program is great. I am looking forward to having this continued resource as I continue my yoga journey. I am so thankful that a program like this has been made available virtually. Being able to get through the material on my own time and reach out with any questions was paramount to me. My one criticism, I wish that there were more "live" events that were focused only on community building within the participants. I was able to drop in to the beginnings of the live trainings from time to time, but the way I was going through the material I could not keep up with the in person tempo. There wasn't really a problem with this except I felt I was missing some of the community connection that it seemed some of the other participants who were able to fully participate live were able to tap into. I think that by creating a few "check in" sessions open to anyone in the program may help with this. Maybe even opening these more social events up to any former students as well might create more of that community feeling between remote learners. I do come from a biased background of having Kripalu be my first YTT experience, but I am also a member of a few other communities that have implemented these types of virtual social gatherings successfully. I also realize that Noah is a busy person :-) so it may not be feasible to have him hold these types of meetings, which I also think would be ok. Full Review

All Reviews (403)

Teaching Staff

Nichol Chase

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peach Friedman Peach Friedman

E-RYT® 500

Rocky Heron

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Noah Maze

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Amy Petty

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jennifer Davis

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

HAUM SF

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (7)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance