Search

The Maze Method (formerly yogamaze)

4.88

Based on 378 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 9.2/10


Connect with Us

111 North Larchmont Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About The Mazé Method

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs...

The Mazé Method, a unique yoga school known for its dedication to the pursuit of educational excellence, offers unparalleled student experiences across a spectrum of yoga academia and experiential education via classes and trainings around the world—and online. All programs are Yoga Alliance registered and CEU eligible.

We offer workshops and trainings around the world and ONLINE. Our Yoga Alliance registered teacher trainings are offered ONLINE, and when the world is in the habit of gathering, right here in Los Angeles, or at select locations worldwide, on nearly every continent. 

The Mazé Method teacher trainings consist of a step-by-step approach to becoming a skillful, confident teacher. The curriculum combines detailed alignment knowledge and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory to provide you with sound skills for teaching safe and effective yoga classes. Lead teachers have spent over 75 years collectively investigating nearly every style of yoga, its practices, and associated philosophies. Their knowledge, combined with their approach to experiential education, creates a learning environment that is rich and multi-faceted. We study and deconstruct asana (yoga poses), pranayama (breathwork), meditation, adjustments, yoga theory, yoga practice, yoga history and philosophy, basic Sanskrit, and ethics. Each day in training is treasure trove of learning about anatomy, kinesiology, applied biomechanics, and how to use this knowledge to optimize your yoga and movement practice and teaching. Students learn to apply healthy critical thinking through an inquisitive approach to yoga studies. They practice innovative teaching drills, gain clarity about how scientific principles substantiate training techniques, explore the deeper dimensions of yoga practice, and leave with a cutting-edge understanding of human movement and physiology. In all, students can expect to complete this school’s training with new perspectives on yoga study, a greater understanding of biomechanical alignment principles, and expanded general knowledge.

Ever-advancing the conversation and curriculum in yoga education, Noah Mazé and his wife, Tracy Silver Mazé, have worked together for decades. Together they have founded several schools, and have pioneered training content to enhance and sharpen the skills of yoga teachers. Many talented teachers and facilitators have graduated from the Mazé Method and its preceding organizations, including Nichol Chase, Rocky Heron and many others. Their team has worked together in varying capacities for nearing a decade to create world-class yoga products. 

Our training curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with Vinyasa theory, and is designed and regularly updated by Noah Mazé, who is recognized around the globe as a teacher’s teacher. We emphasize logical analysis, clear language, and critical thinking. We do not advocate one set of principals or one philosophy. Rather, our students are empowered to teach with confidence, because they possess the requisite educational tools to make strong teaching choices in light of their own individual objectives. We limit attendance in our programs. Our extensive, world-class online and in-person learning opportunities are designed to provide the most comprehensive learning experience possible, and if you read what our students have to say about our trainings, we believe we do just that.

The Mazé Method 200-hour teacher trainings take you on a journey of self-discovery and education into all things yoga. Our foundational training (200–hour) program is ideal for serious students of yoga, aspiring yoga teachers, and teachers with varying levels of experience. Our curriculum combines detailed alignment and intelligent sequencing with vinyasa theory, and provides you with sound knowledge and skills to teach safe and effective yoga classes. This training is recognized by Yoga Alliance and focuses in three areas of study: The Theory and Practice of Yoga, Yoga Philosophy, and The Art of Teaching. Trainees may thus register with Yoga Alliance at its RYT-200 level upon successful completion of this training.

The Mazé Method 300 hour teacher trainings are a year-long learning journey to unlock and unleash your potential and provide you with tools to increase the potency and breadth of your teaching. You will learn self-empowerment strategies to better help yourself on your own path. You will be making a serious investment in the quality of your yoga education, the depth and skill of your yogic practices, the potency of your teaching skills, and improving your knowledge. Enrollment is limited to 45 students or less. You will receive help from Noah individually and from the group as a whole. At the end of this program you will receive a certificate, which qualifies you to register with Yoga Alliance at the 300 RYT level and you also become eligible to continue to participate in The Mazé Method’s post 300 hour certification program.

In addition, we offer continuing education opportunities worldwide, covering topics ranging from yoga philosophy and mythology, to sequencing and anatomy. These 50-hour weeklong Teacher Tuneups and weekend workshops serve to inspire and refine your teaching without requiring the commitment to a longer training program. For those who prefer to pursue your education at home, we have curated a robust collection of online courses on broad ranging topics. These courses can be taken at your own pace, in your own time, and cover similar curriculum to what we teach in person.

As a health-conscious, people-oriented yoga business, The Mazé Method aims to support students in their quest to realize their greatest potential.  We aim to lead by example, making efforts to model what is ‘life-enhancing’ and let go of what is not. We strive for high standards, sweetened with humor and humility, with the intention of continuous evolution.  We endeavor to always speak and act in a way that encourages others to remember how interconnected all things are by being open, clear, direct, kind and considerate of one another.  We also strive to consider our planet in our daily and business practices.

First Registered February 2013

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Natalia Anjali Chambers May 04, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 11, 2021—Jan 15, 2021

    This program was vigorous and engaging! I got so much out of it, there were ZERO corners cut and I would recommend it anyone who is serious about deepening their practice and understanding of yoga. Noah is an incredible and knowledgable teacher and I feel really lucky to have had this experience.

    • General Comments

      This program was vigorous and engaging! I got so much out of it, there were ZERO corners cut and I would recommend it anyone who is serious about deepening their practice and understanding of yoga. Noah is an incredible and knowledgable teacher and I feel really lucky to have had this experience.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Cheryl Rehnberg Apr 28, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 19, 2019—Aug 23, 2019

    The Maze Method Training approach is thoughtful and practical. Students are encouraged to make the most of their learning experience. I was inspired to continue studying and growing in an effort to better serve those I teach.

    • General Comments

      The Maze Method Training approach is thoughtful and practical. Students are encouraged to make the most of their learning experience. I was inspired to continue studying and growing in an effort to better serve those I teach.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lorna Hanna Apr 28, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 17, 2020—Nov 30, 2020

    Instructors were fantastic. So much incredible information. A lot of work and difficult, be prepared to spend a good amount of time outside of video classes and practice. As with all online formats, you need a strong work ethic. But a wealth of knowledge. I would love to take it again in person for the full experience.

    • General Comments

      Instructors were fantastic. So much incredible information. A lot of work and difficult, be prepared to spend a good amount of time outside of video classes and practice. As with all online formats, you need a strong work ethic. But a wealth of knowledge. I would love to take it again in person for the full experience.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Samantha Martin Apr 26, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 02, 2020—Dec 05, 2020

    I had a great experience with Noah and the team during the virtual/online 200-hr YTT. It was so convenient for me to be able to take the training online since I work full time and don't live anywhere near LA. I learned so much and feel that I will be able to go back to the vault of materials (videos, recordings, yoga classes, and readings) for years to come. This training is definitely for people who love learning -- you will be fully immersed into all things yoga. By the end of the training, I felt fully empowered to begin my teaching journey.

    • General Comments

      I had a great experience with Noah and the team during the virtual/online 200-hr YTT. It was so convenient for me to be able to take the training online since I work full time and don't live anywhere near LA. I learned so much and feel that I will be able to go back to the vault of materials (videos, recordings, yoga classes, and readings) for years to come. This training is definitely for people who love learning -- you will be fully immersed into all things yoga. By the end of the training, I felt fully empowered to begin my teaching journey.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kate Callaway Apr 26, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 18, 2021—Jan 22, 2021

    Thorough training. Left feeling much further along as a teacher. Diverse and supportive environment. Teachers challenged students to learn in compelling ways. Also a really fun staff to train with. Loved this program whole-heartedly.

    • General Comments

      Thorough training. Left feeling much further along as a teacher. Diverse and supportive environment. Teachers challenged students to learn in compelling ways. Also a really fun staff to train with. Loved this program whole-heartedly.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sher Amos-Grosser Apr 22, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 18, 2021—Jan 22, 2021

    As a result of the 300 hour training, I am more capable leading a yoga philosophy discussion, teaching yoga in relation to the body's anatomy, and supporting a meditative and reflective practice. Noah Maze and the entire teaching team, including support staff, were/are phenomenal. I should add that I earned the 200 hour certification through the Maze Method, so I am very familiar with the teaching style and his in-depth, well-rounded instruction. In the 300 hour training, when I compared my base knowledge to other students in the cohort, I was happy -and so incredibly proud- to have a broader foundation in philosophy, anatomy, and, surprisingly, Sanskrit knowledge. I'm a more confident yoga instructor and inquisitive lifelong yoga student because of Noah and his team.

    • General Comments

      As a result of the 300 hour training, I am more capable leading a yoga philosophy discussion, teaching yoga in relation to the body's anatomy, and supporting a meditative and reflective practice. Noah Maze and the entire teaching team, including support staff, were/are phenomenal. I should add that I earned the 200 hour certification through the Maze Method, so I am very familiar with the teaching style and his in-depth, well-rounded instruction. In the 300 hour training, when I compared my base knowledge to other students in the cohort, I was happy -and so incredibly proud- to have a broader foundation in philosophy, anatomy, and, surprisingly, Sanskrit knowledge. I'm a more confident yoga instructor and inquisitive lifelong yoga student because of Noah and his team.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Elizabeth York Apr 18, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 17, 2020—Nov 30, 2020

    I found the depth of teaching in the subjects of anatomy, asana and philosophy to be thorough and applicable to the practicalities of teaching. All of the teachers on the course had their own unique engaging style but they all shared a passion for yoga and a sense of warmth and kindness, which shone through. There was a great opportunity to engage in an online community with fellow students which was very valuable. There were also lots of opportunities to communicate directly with each teacher in different time zones, which was extremely well organised and helpful. The videos were beautifully created and produced so as to be easy and entertaining to watch whilst maintaining each teachers individual style and personality. Overall a fantastic course produced by caring and knowledgeable instructors.

    • General Comments

      I found the depth of teaching in the subjects of anatomy, asana and philosophy to be thorough and applicable to the practicalities of teaching. All of the teachers on the course had their own unique engaging style but they all shared a passion for yoga and a sense of warmth and kindness, which shone through. There was a great opportunity to engage in an online community with fellow students which was very valuable. There were also lots of opportunities to communicate directly with each teacher in different time zones, which was extremely well organised and helpful. The videos were beautifully created and produced so as to be easy and entertaining to watch whilst maintaining each teachers individual style and personality. Overall a fantastic course produced by caring and knowledgeable instructors.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katarina Guder Apr 10, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 17, 2020—Nov 30, 2020

    Really thoughtful and comprehensive online provision, very engaged and organised teacher and admin team. I am reusing the material from the YTT, and I have already been back for more and supplementary material. I hope that Yoga Alliance will accommodate online training on an ongoing basis post Covid, as ideally i would like to pursue further certification through the Maze Method.

    • General Comments

      Really thoughtful and comprehensive online provision, very engaged and organised teacher and admin team. I am reusing the material from the YTT, and I have already been back for more and supplementary material. I hope that Yoga Alliance will accommodate online training on an ongoing basis post Covid, as ideally i would like to pursue further certification through the Maze Method.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jarlath Caldwell Mar 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 17, 2020—Nov 30, 2020

    The Maze Method (through the tutelage of Rocky and Noah) was the ideal experience for me and my journey in Yoga. Upon reflection, they provided me with a core foundation of asana that can be applied in many diverse routes from here. They reintroduced me to the anatomy of my body, the history of the practice, and the peace of company during this era of life we all find ourselves in. I feel literate in the practice to now go forth with more confidence and better grasp what speaks to me in looking ahead. Thank you for this gift

    • General Comments

      The Maze Method (through the tutelage of Rocky and Noah) was the ideal experience for me and my journey in Yoga. Upon reflection, they provided me with a core foundation of asana that can be applied in many diverse routes from here. They reintroduced me to the anatomy of my body, the history of the practice, and the peace of company during this era of life we all find ourselves in. I feel literate in the practice to now go forth with more confidence and better grasp what speaks to me in looking ahead. Thank you for this gift
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jan Herzog Mar 04, 2021

    Noah and Rocky and the entire team were professional and dedicated.

    • General Comments

      Noah and Rocky and the entire team were professional and dedicated.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered February 2013

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 378

May 04, 2021

This program was vigorous and engaging! I got so much out of it, there were ZERO corners cut and I would recommend it anyone who is serious about deepening their practice and understanding of yoga. Noah is an incredible and knowledgable teacher and I feel really lucky to have had this experience. Full Review

By Cheryl Rehnberg RYT® 500

Apr 28, 2021

The Maze Method Training approach is thoughtful and practical. Students are encouraged to make the most of their learning experience. I was inspired to continue studying and growing in an effort to better serve those I teach. Full Review

All Reviews (378)

Teaching Staff

Nichol Chase

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Peach Friedman Peach Friedman

E-RYT® 500

Rocky Heron

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Noah Maze

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Amy Petty

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jennifer Davis

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Danni Pomplun

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (7)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance