Search

Yoga for the Special Child

4.95

Based on 51 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

232 Hidden Bay Drive

Osprey, FL, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

ENGLISH, PORTUGUESE, SPANISH, JAPANESE

About Yoga for the Special Child

Yoga for the Special Child® , LLC is a comprehensive Program of Yoga techniques designed to enhance the natural development of children with special needs. Our style of Yoga is gentle and beneficial - safe for babies and children with  Down Syndrome ,  Cerebral...

Yoga for the Special Child®, LLC is a comprehensive Program of Yoga techniques designed to enhance the natural development of children with special needs. Our style of Yoga is gentle and beneficial - safe for babies and children with Down SyndromeCerebral Palsy, Microcephaly, Autism and other developmental disabilities. These methods also provide an effective help for children with Attention Deficit DisorderADHD and Learning Disabilities.

Our Program includes:
  • An integrated series of balanced Yoga poses to increase body awareness, strength and 
  • Specialized breathing exercises and relaxation techniques to improve concentration and 
  • An early intervention program to assure the healthy formative development of infants and toddlers
Yoga for the Special Child®, LLC training Programs offer a unique learning environment for children and their parents, special education teachers, Yoga teachers and health care professionals. Courses are taught by internationally renowned Yoga Teacher and author Sonia Sumar, whose innovative teaching methods have been improving the lives of children with special needs for over 40 years.

First Registered May 2004

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kathy Randolph Sep 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Mar 01, 2020—Apr 01, 2023

    The Yoga for the Special Child 300 Hour Teacher Training is the capstone course, the culmination of all the training I have taken with Sonia Sumar and Renata Sumar Gaertner since 1999. Everything I learned in the 200 Hour, the 95 Hour Children's TT, trainings to deepen my own practice, philosophy, specialty trainings to serve populations who don't normally get yoga, it was all here, all pulled together in a clear vision that is Yoga for the Special Child.

    • General Comments

      The Yoga for the Special Child 300 Hour Teacher Training is the capstone course, the culmination of all the training I have taken with Sonia Sumar and Renata Sumar Gaertner since 1999. Everything I learned in the 200 Hour, the 95 Hour Children's TT, trainings to deepen my own practice, philosophy, specialty trainings to serve populations who don't normally get yoga, it was all here, all pulled together in a clear vision that is Yoga for the Special Child.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Ada Wong May 11, 2021
    Training Program held on Nov 06, 2020—Nov 14, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Cheryl Albright Apr 12, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 04, 2014—Aug 09, 2014

    Recommend this course to all yoga teachers even if they are not going to work with children.

    • General Comments

      Recommend this course to all yoga teachers even if they are not going to work with children.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Reut Yaacobi Pasi Nov 08, 2020

    Yoga for the the Special child has opened a brand new world for me. Sonia Sumar and Renata Sumar Gaertner are extremely professional and very knowledgeable, the classes are well organized, with a variety of subjects and areas that allows me as a teacher to expand my understanding of the fascinating world of Yoga for the special child.

    • General Comments

      Yoga for the the Special child has opened a brand new world for me. Sonia Sumar and Renata Sumar Gaertner are extremely professional and very knowledgeable, the classes are well organized, with a variety of subjects and areas that allows me as a teacher to expand my understanding of the fascinating world of Yoga for the special child.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Ayelen Special Yoga Sep 14, 2020
    Training Program held on Jun 24, 2019—Jun 29, 2019

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Keren Melamed Sep 09, 2020

    "Yoga for the special child" hold an in depth and comprehensive training that equips you as a teacher to lead a yoga class that is rich in components, and that can be tailored for the individual's needs and abilities. Training is very clear, and includes demonstrations that make all the material much clearer. I truly recommend their courses for all yoga teachers and professional in the field working with kids.

    • General Comments

      "Yoga for the special child" hold an in depth and comprehensive training that equips you as a teacher to lead a yoga class that is rich in components, and that can be tailored for the individual's needs and abilities. Training is very clear, and includes demonstrations that make all the material much clearer. I truly recommend their courses for all yoga teachers and professional in the field working with kids.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Fadi Hosn Aug 27, 2020
    Training Program held on Jun 24, 2019—Jun 29, 2019

    I am so grateful to have been taught by such a high quality teacher. Thank you so much for your efforts and kindness.

    • General Comments

      I am so grateful to have been taught by such a high quality teacher. Thank you so much for your efforts and kindness.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Beth Rich May 17, 2020
    Training Program held on Apr 06, 2020—Apr 17, 2020

    Sonia and Renata, both teach from the heart providing a wealth of knowledge about the beautiful practice of yoga. They both share their experience, teaching techniques, and adaptations in such a way that is inspiring and informative. This course also provided time for self reflection which has allowed me to deepen my own practice.

    • General Comments

      Sonia and Renata, both teach from the heart providing a wealth of knowledge about the beautiful practice of yoga. They both share their experience, teaching techniques, and adaptations in such a way that is inspiring and informative. This course also provided time for self reflection which has allowed me to deepen my own practice.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sue Liebross May 11, 2020

    Love my instructors who are experts in their field

    • General Comments

      Love my instructors who are experts in their field
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Denisa Nenova Nov 22, 2019
    Training Program held on Aug 09, 2015—Aug 15, 2015

First Registered May 2004

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 51

By Kathy Randolph E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Sep 17, 2021

The Yoga for the Special Child 300 Hour Teacher Training is the capstone course, the culmination of all the training I have taken with Sonia Sumar and Renata Sumar Gaertner since 1999. Everything I learned in the 200 Hour, the 95 Hour Children's TT, trainings to deepen my own practice, philosophy, specialty trainings to serve populations who don't normally get yoga, it was all here, all pulled together in a clear vision that is Yoga for the Special Child. Full Review

By Ada Wong E-RYT® 200, RCYT®, YACEP®

May 11, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (51)

Teaching Staff

Renata Sumar Gaertner (MahaJyoti)

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Sonia Sumar

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Cheryl Albright

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Erin Shanthi Haddock

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Sherry LeBlanc

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Ryoko Ohtaki Ryoko Ohtaki

RYT® 200, RCYT®

Denisa Nenova

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Kathy Randolph

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Elizabeth Wivell

RYT® 200, RCYT®

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance