Search

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Headquarters)

4.9

Based on 332 reviews

What is a School Review?



5 more Locations

Connect with Us

4340 Macaulay Road

Black Creek, BC, Canada

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Calgary/Strathmore)
258 Maple Grove Crescent
Strathmore, AB, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Michigan/Florida/Costa Rica))
12372 Center Road
Traverse City, MI, USA

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (New Brunswick)
Long Reach, NB, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Penticton/Sorrento/Mexico)
100 Nanaimo Ave E
Penticton, BC, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Prince George)
1600 3rd Ave
Prince George, BC, Canada

About South Okanagan Yoga Academy

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:...

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:
Penticton, Prince George, and Creston, BC/ Calgary, AB, /Michigan and Florida/ and Mexico.

With its roots in the Sivananda lineage, and guided by the highest standards, SOYA gives students a diverse and broad exposure to many styles, lineages and philosophies. Ever evolving, SOYA’s Teacher Training is designed with flexibility, accessibility and transformation at its heart.

SOYA’s lead trainers have extensive experience teaching, training and are dedicated to continued study. Some of the master yoga teachers they have had the blessing to study with include Dr. Hari Dickman, Swami Vishnudevananda, Namadeva Acharya, Erich Schiffmann, Rod Stryker and Dr. Ananda Balayogi Bhavanani (son of Dr. Swami Gitananda Giri). SOYA is proud to offer students exposure to various lineages or styles such as Ashtanga, Sivananda, Gitananda, Yin, Restorative, and Vinyasa, as well as Mantra and Mudra.

South Okanagan Yoga Academy has trained over 900 teachers at the 200, 300 Advanced Upgrade and 500 hour levels. We offer ongoing support to our students after graduation as they advance their skills as teachers. The SOYA website at www.soyayoga.com has all the details on our yoga teacher training. After certification SOYA teachers are eligible to apply for RYT with Yoga Alliance, and with thee 500 hour certification they can become Full Teaching Members with the International Yoga Teachers’ Association (IYTA). We endeavour to open students’ world up to the many paths available to them so that they may find their path. As Swami Sivananda once said, “The paths are many, the Truth is One”.

First Registered January 2001

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amrika Tikasingh Jun 22, 2022
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2021—May 05, 2022

    Training was rich in philosophy and technique, and the teachings compiled in the content Letters from the Yoga Masters was exceptional to experience. The Immersion was at a magical venue at Sorrento Center, was unforgettable. Lead trainer Natasha Scott was knowledgeable, kind and a blessing to learn from.

    • General Comments

      Training was rich in philosophy and technique, and the teachings compiled in the content Letters from the Yoga Masters was exceptional to experience. The Immersion was at a magical venue at Sorrento Center, was unforgettable. Lead trainer Natasha Scott was knowledgeable, kind and a blessing to learn from.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Alison Grootveld Jun 02, 2022
    Training Program held on Nov 19, 2021—Dec 05, 2021

    My experience with SOYA was fantastic! I was amazingly surprised at how much content we covered, and enjoyed it all! Not only did I come out learning what I had anticipated, I learned a whole lot more, in which I would like to further my knowledge on. My teacher was more than qualified and a truly lovely person to learn from. I would highly recommend SOYA for anyone looking to further their education and knowledge in the realm of yoga. I’m excited to have open these new doors, and look forward to more opportunities in this world of finding peace within —thru Yoga.

    • General Comments

      My experience with SOYA was fantastic! I was amazingly surprised at how much content we covered, and enjoyed it all! Not only did I come out learning what I had anticipated, I learned a whole lot more, in which I would like to further my knowledge on. My teacher was more than qualified and a truly lovely person to learn from. I would highly recommend SOYA for anyone looking to further their education and knowledge in the realm of yoga. I’m excited to have open these new doors, and look forward to more opportunities in this world of finding peace within —thru Yoga.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Bren Leclerc May 18, 2022
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2021—May 05, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Marcus Willems May 08, 2022
    Training Program held on Nov 19, 2021—Dec 05, 2021

    The program was well developed and professional. the Staff were excellent and extremely friendly and helpful.

    • General Comments

      The program was well developed and professional. the Staff were excellent and extremely friendly and helpful.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: teresa pakpahan Mar 02, 2022
    Training Program held on Aug 21, 2021—Jan 30, 2022

    I took the extended weekend version of the 200h ytt with SOYA in Penticton, BC, I loved it. Firstly Our teacher, Lalita, is absolutely amazing; so patient, knowledgeable and up for a laugh. The class size was small so we could ask questions and really feel like our teacher had time for us individually, and there was such a lovely sense of community- I made some amazing friends. The training you receive is so rounded and complete. You learn about all aspects of yoga and they help you to come out of the training really equipped to start teaching. The weekends are intense (long days) but so enjoyable because of the way the days are paced and how accessible all of the learning was made by our teacher. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in deepening their yoga practice and/or become a yoga teacher.

    • General Comments

      I took the extended weekend version of the 200h ytt with SOYA in Penticton, BC, I loved it. Firstly Our teacher, Lalita, is absolutely amazing; so patient, knowledgeable and up for a laugh. The class size was small so we could ask questions and really feel like our teacher had time for us individually, and there was such a lovely sense of community- I made some amazing friends. The training you receive is so rounded and complete. You learn about all aspects of yoga and they help you to come out of the training really equipped to start teaching. The weekends are intense (long days) but so enjoyable because of the way the days are paced and how accessible all of the learning was made by our teacher. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in deepening their yoga practice and/or become a yoga teacher.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Mar 02, 2022
    Thank you Teresa, You are the one who put in the effort to learn yoga in depth. We are always so grateful for students like you who are open to learning and receiving. You make our work so much easier. Congratulations and we hope to see you in the 300 YTT upgrade to RYT500!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Emma MacDermaid Feb 22, 2022
    Training Program held on Apr 11, 2021—Jan 29, 2022

    I am so glad my friend recommended me to be a student at SOYA. It was one of the best experiences of my life, although it was online, it was still such a transformational time and I'm so thankful and grateful for my teachers and Mugs who founded this beautiful Academy. Looking forward to meeting you all in person!

    • General Comments

      I am so glad my friend recommended me to be a student at SOYA. It was one of the best experiences of my life, although it was online, it was still such a transformational time and I'm so thankful and grateful for my teachers and Mugs who founded this beautiful Academy. Looking forward to meeting you all in person!
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Feb 22, 2022
    Thank you Emma, I look forward to meeting you in person too, and am so glad you got so much in return for your efforts!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: BJ TUMANUT Jan 29, 2022
    Training Program held on Sep 06, 2019—Jun 28, 2020

    I received my 200 and 300 teacher training through SOYA by Tash Scott. Both the curriculum and instruction were top-notch. They offer an emphasis on yoga philosophy, ensure you are well equipped for the written and practical exam, and leave you with a practical collection of self-made plans for classes and workshops. I highly recommend the SOYA program, particularly if you would like to go deeper with yoga philosophy.

    • General Comments

      I received my 200 and 300 teacher training through SOYA by Tash Scott. Both the curriculum and instruction were top-notch. They offer an emphasis on yoga philosophy, ensure you are well equipped for the written and practical exam, and leave you with a practical collection of self-made plans for classes and workshops. I highly recommend the SOYA program, particularly if you would like to go deeper with yoga philosophy.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Feb 22, 2022
    Thank you BJ. We are equally blessed to have had you in the programs. All the best for you in the future as you share the teachings to others.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Caitlin Nield Dec 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 28, 2020—Jul 12, 2020

    SOYA teacher training was one of the best decisions I've made. The program was thorough yet accessible and the information provided an excellent foundation. Not to mention the amazing people I met along the way.

    • General Comments

      SOYA teacher training was one of the best decisions I've made. The program was thorough yet accessible and the information provided an excellent foundation. Not to mention the amazing people I met along the way.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Patricia M Boucher Oct 26, 2021

    SOYA is an inclusive and supportive yoga training school. The teachers promote professional ethics and practices. SOYA offers training in classical yoga in 200 hr and 300 hr training levels.

    • General Comments

      SOYA is an inclusive and supportive yoga training school. The teachers promote professional ethics and practices. SOYA offers training in classical yoga in 200 hr and 300 hr training levels.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lisa Irvine Jul 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—May 19, 2021

First Registered January 2001

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 332

By Amrika Tikasingh RYT® 500

Jun 22, 2022

Training was rich in philosophy and technique, and the teachings compiled in the content Letters from the Yoga Masters was exceptional to experience. The Immersion was at a magical venue at Sorrento Center, was unforgettable. Lead trainer Natasha Scott was knowledgeable, kind and a blessing to learn from. Full Review

By Alison Grootveld RYT® 200

Jun 02, 2022

My experience with SOYA was fantastic! I was amazingly surprised at how much content we covered, and enjoyed it all! Not only did I come out learning what I had anticipated, I learned a whole lot more, in which I would like to further my knowledge on. My teacher was more than qualified and a truly lovely person to learn from. I would highly recommend SOYA for anyone looking to further their education and knowledge in the realm of yoga. I’m excited to have open these new doors, and look forward to more opportunities in this world of finding peace within —thru Yoga. Full Review

All Reviews (332)

Teaching Staff

Emma Faulkner

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Marion Mugs McConnell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Terri McDermott

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Lalita

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Becky Stone

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Cindy Szekely Cindy Szekely

E-RYT® 500

Dorothy Fizzell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Chloe Haddad

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Courtney Mollins-Bidlake

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance