Search

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Headquarters)

4.9

Based on 323 reviews

What is a School Review?



6 more Locations

Connect with Us

405 3rd Street West

Cardston, AB, Canada

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Calgary/Strathmore)
3160 118th Avenue Southeast
Calgary, AB, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Creston)
1204 Northwest Boulevard
Creston, BC V0B 1G8, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Michigan/Florida)
12372 Center Road
Traverse City, MI, USA

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Penticton/Mexico)
100 Nanaimo Ave E
Penticton, BC, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Prince George)
1600 3rd Ave
Prince George, BC, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Vancouver)
12520 190A Street
Pitt Meadows, BC, Canada

About South Okanagan Yoga Academy

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:...

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:
Penticton, Prince George, and Creston, BC/ Calgary, AB, /Michigan and Florida/ and Mexico.

With its roots in the Sivananda lineage, and guided by the highest standards, SOYA gives students a diverse and broad exposure to many styles, lineages and philosophies. Ever evolving, SOYA’s Teacher Training is designed with flexibility, accessibility and transformation at its heart.

SOYA’s lead trainers have extensive experience teaching, training and are dedicated to continued study. Some of the master yoga teachers they have had the blessing to study with include Dr. Hari Dickman, Swami Vishnudevananda, Namadeva Acharya, Erich Schiffmann, Rod Stryker and Dr. Ananda Balayogi Bhavanani (son of Dr. Swami Gitananda Giri). SOYA is proud to offer students exposure to various lineages or styles such as Ashtanga, Sivananda, Gitananda, Yin, Restorative, and Vinyasa, as well as Mantra and Mudra.

South Okanagan Yoga Academy has trained over 900 teachers at the 200, 300 Advanced Upgrade and 500 hour levels. We offer ongoing support to our students after graduation as they advance their skills as teachers. The SOYA website at www.soyayoga.com has all the details on our yoga teacher training. After certification SOYA teachers are eligible to apply for RYT with Yoga Alliance, and with thee 500 hour certification they can become Full Teaching Members with the International Yoga Teachers’ Association (IYTA). We endeavour to open students’ world up to the many paths available to them so that they may find their path. As Swami Sivananda once said, “The paths are many, the Truth is One”.

First Registered January 2001

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lisa Irvine Jul 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 03, 2021—May 19, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Natasha Hinsche Jul 11, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2020—May 07, 2021

    My 300 hour immersion upgrade was nothing short of life changing. I have formed lifelong bonds with my cohort and my teachers that will continue to elevate me on my journey forwards. The shared teachings from Mugs' book, 'Letters From the Yoga Masters', daily rituals, specialty yoga teacher workshops, lengthy philosophical conversations and insights towards my future success as a yoga instructor are just a couple of highlights that a SOYA teacher training has to offer. I highly recommend, to infinity ∞, SOYA, Mugs and Lalitā in Penticton as their lead trainer, to the ends of the earth! I love you so much and am so grateful and honoured to call you my teachers and share the SOYA path.

    • General Comments

      My 300 hour immersion upgrade was nothing short of life changing. I have formed lifelong bonds with my cohort and my teachers that will continue to elevate me on my journey forwards. The shared teachings from Mugs' book, 'Letters From the Yoga Masters', daily rituals, specialty yoga teacher workshops, lengthy philosophical conversations and insights towards my future success as a yoga instructor are just a couple of highlights that a SOYA teacher training has to offer. I highly recommend, to infinity ∞, SOYA, Mugs and Lalitā in Penticton as their lead trainer, to the ends of the earth! I love you so much and am so grateful and honoured to call you my teachers and share the SOYA path.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Jul 11, 2021
    Thank you so much Natasha, for putting so much of yourself into the advancing of your teaching skills! We are so grateful that you have found the teachings beneficial for your journey in this lifetime. I know your students will learn so much from you! Namaste.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lauren Kelly Jun 22, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 05, 2021—May 14, 2021

    This program goes far beyond the asana practice and enhances spirituality by diving deep into yoga philosophy straight from the source. You will leave this program feeling prepared, inspired, and overall proud to be a SOYA grad. I cannot express how meaningful it is to get an education like this that honors true yoga and produces teachers who are respectful of the culture and traditions. 10/10!!!

    • General Comments

      This program goes far beyond the asana practice and enhances spirituality by diving deep into yoga philosophy straight from the source. You will leave this program feeling prepared, inspired, and overall proud to be a SOYA grad. I cannot express how meaningful it is to get an education like this that honors true yoga and produces teachers who are respectful of the culture and traditions. 10/10!!!
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Jun 25, 2021
    Thank you so much Lauren. It is so rewarding when the teachings of yoga are comprehended and carried forward to share with others. Thank you so much for being a part of our journey on this path! And all the best to you in your teaching endeavours.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Lisa Irvine Jun 17, 2021

    Loved the training - educational, detailed, inclusive and informative.

    • General Comments

      Loved the training - educational, detailed, inclusive and informative.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Angie Mrau May 26, 2021

    My experience with South Okanagan Yoga Academy was not only high quality education but provided me with life changing experiences to develop as a practitioner and a teacher. I have always felt personally supported and celebrated by this school and would high recommend choosing this program for an in depth yoga training .

    • General Comments

      My experience with South Okanagan Yoga Academy was not only high quality education but provided me with life changing experiences to develop as a practitioner and a teacher. I have always felt personally supported and celebrated by this school and would high recommend choosing this program for an in depth yoga training .
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Darcie Johnson May 26, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2020—May 07, 2021

    SOYA has been a life-changing positive force for me as a teacher and as a mother, friend and human-being. The 300 hour training is steeped in Yogic Philosophy, practice of all 8 limbs and leaves you feeling inspired, confident to teach from your own unique heart, and forever apart of something special! Tash Scott was able to facilitate the needs of the students and empower each of us to shine. I feel so fortunate to have taken this training! Thank you!

    • General Comments

      SOYA has been a life-changing positive force for me as a teacher and as a mother, friend and human-being. The 300 hour training is steeped in Yogic Philosophy, practice of all 8 limbs and leaves you feeling inspired, confident to teach from your own unique heart, and forever apart of something special! Tash Scott was able to facilitate the needs of the students and empower each of us to shine. I feel so fortunate to have taken this training! Thank you!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Mary Cahalin May 22, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—Apr 21, 2021

    SOYA provides the most beautiful teacher training you could ever dream of. It is rooted in love and light, and offers so much healing, growth, and knowledge. The studies are very philosophical and engaging. The asana practices are fantastic. Our teacher, Tash, is a soul like no other, it was an absolute honour to learn from her. We were afforded the opportunity to learn from multiple people in the community who kindly shared their expertise with our group. The program has been created by an incredible woman with an even more incredible heart. I cannot recommend SOYA enough!

    • General Comments

      SOYA provides the most beautiful teacher training you could ever dream of. It is rooted in love and light, and offers so much healing, growth, and knowledge. The studies are very philosophical and engaging. The asana practices are fantastic. Our teacher, Tash, is a soul like no other, it was an absolute honour to learn from her. We were afforded the opportunity to learn from multiple people in the community who kindly shared their expertise with our group. The program has been created by an incredible woman with an even more incredible heart. I cannot recommend SOYA enough!
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    May 22, 2021
    Thank you so much Mary for your feedback. We are so grateful you were able to join us in a window of free space during the pandemic. We hope you have so much fun teaching in the days and years to come! Mugs
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Afa Wright May 18, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—Apr 21, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kendra Mitchell-Foster May 13, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2020—May 07, 2021

    This training is transformational! The focus on philosophy and spirituality is strong, and the deeper practices have shifted my own practice and teaching in a profoundly meaningful way. The integrity of this school is solid, and the experience of training with the teachers at all levels within SOYA is a gift.

    • General Comments

      This training is transformational! The focus on philosophy and spirituality is strong, and the deeper practices have shifted my own practice and teaching in a profoundly meaningful way. The integrity of this school is solid, and the experience of training with the teachers at all levels within SOYA is a gift.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    May 13, 2021
    It is always a pleasure to work with you Kendra. Thank you for your incredible efforts to graduate even during the pandemic! Blessings ahead on your continued teaching journey of yoga.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Dana Powell May 11, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 04, 2020—May 07, 2021

    Incredible program. Incredible lead teacher - Natasha Scott.

    • General Comments

      Incredible program. Incredible lead teacher - Natasha Scott.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered January 2001

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 323

By Lisa Irvine E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Jul 14, 2021

Full Review

By Natasha Hinsche RYT® 500

Jul 11, 2021

My 300 hour immersion upgrade was nothing short of life changing. I have formed lifelong bonds with my cohort and my teachers that will continue to elevate me on my journey forwards. The shared teachings from Mugs' book, 'Letters From the Yoga Masters', daily rituals, specialty yoga teacher workshops, lengthy philosophical conversations and insights towards my future success as a yoga instructor are just a couple of highlights that a SOYA teacher training has to offer. I highly recommend, to infinity ∞, SOYA, Mugs and Lalitā in Penticton as their lead trainer, to the ends of the earth! I love you so much and am so grateful and honoured to call you my teachers and share the SOYA path. Full Review

All Reviews (323)

Teaching Staff

Emma Faulkner

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Dorothy Fizzell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Marion Mugs McConnell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Terri McDermott

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Helen Mikuska

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Natasha Scott

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Becky Stone

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Cindy Szekely

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Chloe Haddad

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance