Search

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Headquarters)

4.9

Based on 313 reviews

What is a School Review?



6 more Locations

Connect with Us

405 3rd Street West

Cardston, AB, Canada

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Calgary/Strathmore)
3160 118th Avenue Southeast
Calgary, AB, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Creston)
1204 Northwest Boulevard
Creston, BC V0B 1G8, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Michigan/Florida)
12372 Center Road
Traverse City, MI, USA

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Penticton/Mexico)
100 Nanaimo Ave E
Penticton, BC, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Prince George)
1600 3rd Ave
Prince George, BC, Canada

South Okanagan Yoga Academy (Vancouver)
12520 190A Street
Pitt Meadows, BC, Canada

About South Okanagan Yoga Academy

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:...

With more than 25 years of training yoga teachers SOYA has transformed into an Academy owned by Marion (Mugs) and Robert McConnell. SOYA offers one of the most diverse and accessible yoga teacher training programs in full-time immersion and part-time formats, in these locations:
Penticton, Prince George, and Creston, BC/ Calgary, AB, /Michigan and Florida/ and Mexico.

With its roots in the Sivananda lineage, and guided by the highest standards, SOYA gives students a diverse and broad exposure to many styles, lineages and philosophies. Ever evolving, SOYA’s Teacher Training is designed with flexibility, accessibility and transformation at its heart.

SOYA’s lead trainers have extensive experience teaching, training and are dedicated to continued study. Some of the master yoga teachers they have had the blessing to study with include Dr. Hari Dickman, Swami Vishnudevananda, Namadeva Acharya, Erich Schiffmann, Rod Stryker and Dr. Ananda Balayogi Bhavanani (son of Dr. Swami Gitananda Giri). SOYA is proud to offer students exposure to various lineages or styles such as Ashtanga, Sivananda, Gitananda, Yin, Restorative, and Vinyasa, as well as Mantra and Mudra.

South Okanagan Yoga Academy has trained over 900 teachers at the 200, 300 Advanced Upgrade and 500 hour levels. We offer ongoing support to our students after graduation as they advance their skills as teachers. The SOYA website at www.soyayoga.com has all the details on our yoga teacher training. After certification SOYA teachers are eligible to apply for RYT with Yoga Alliance, and with thee 500 hour certification they can become Full Teaching Members with the International Yoga Teachers’ Association (IYTA). We endeavour to open students’ world up to the many paths available to them so that they may find their path. As Swami Sivananda once said, “The paths are many, the Truth is One”.

First Registered January 2001

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amrika Tikasingh May 05, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—Apr 21, 2021

    the teachers are amazing and their love and compassion really shine through. Soya training is heavy on philosophy which I think is essential to the yoga teacher experience. They have ongoing support which is greatly appreciated. Highly recommend!

    • General Comments

      the teachers are amazing and their love and compassion really shine through. Soya training is heavy on philosophy which I think is essential to the yoga teacher experience. They have ongoing support which is greatly appreciated. Highly recommend!
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    May 05, 2021
    thank you Amrika. We hope you have a great journey ahead sharing the depth of yoga with others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Bren Leclerc Apr 29, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—Apr 21, 2021

    Thank you SOYA

    • General Comments

      Thank you SOYA
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Amber Hipkiss Apr 18, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 23, 2019—Feb 02, 2020

    Such an amazing experience. The teachers are so knowledgable - and care about more than just asana. I feel very confident in the skills I aquired through this school!

    • General Comments

      Such an amazing experience. The teachers are so knowledgable - and care about more than just asana. I feel very confident in the skills I aquired through this school!
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Apr 19, 2021
    Thank you so much Amber. It was a pleasure to serve you. Namaste, Mugs
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Teresa Woodward Mar 31, 2021
    Training Program held on Feb 07, 2020—Jul 12, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Fabiola Pérez Treviño Mar 29, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 19, 2016—Oct 27, 2016

    SOYA provided me with wonderful knowledge, once training was over I felt extremely confident to share my new learnings with my yoga students. What I love about SOYA is their commitment to the traditional Yoga philosophy, lifestyle, to honor the teachers that have come before us.

    • General Comments

      SOYA provided me with wonderful knowledge, once training was over I felt extremely confident to share my new learnings with my yoga students. What I love about SOYA is their commitment to the traditional Yoga philosophy, lifestyle, to honor the teachers that have come before us.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ashley Howe Feb 21, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 04, 2020—Dec 07, 2020

    Due to COVID, I completed my training online via zoom. I don't know training for the 200 hour any different, but I wouldn't have changed my experience. I got to meet wonderful souls throughout BC and into Alberta and if it wasn't for Zoom, that wouldn't have happened. Our instructors were so supportive and patience as we navigated the new format and I feel like we left our training experience as prepared as any in-person group would have.

    • General Comments

      Due to COVID, I completed my training online via zoom. I don't know training for the 200 hour any different, but I wouldn't have changed my experience. I got to meet wonderful souls throughout BC and into Alberta and if it wasn't for Zoom, that wouldn't have happened. Our instructors were so supportive and patience as we navigated the new format and I feel like we left our training experience as prepared as any in-person group would have.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Feb 21, 2021
    Thank you so much Ashley. We are so excited for your students to enjoy your teaching skills and solid foundation in philosophy. Namaste.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Kanazawa Feb 08, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 24, 2017—Oct 06, 2017

    The South Okanagan Yoga Academy (SOYA) 300h YTT has been an experience that has helped transform my life. I have had the opportunity to learn from teachers who have practiced and studied for most of their lives. Studying traditional yoga practices rich in yogic history and philosophy from a lineage that I am so very blessed to grow from and share. Years later I remain actively teaching and immersed in self study, my heart is full of gratitude as my practice ignites my life with joy and peaceful understanding each and every day.

    • General Comments

      The South Okanagan Yoga Academy (SOYA) 300h YTT has been an experience that has helped transform my life. I have had the opportunity to learn from teachers who have practiced and studied for most of their lives. Studying traditional yoga practices rich in yogic history and philosophy from a lineage that I am so very blessed to grow from and share. Years later I remain actively teaching and immersed in self study, my heart is full of gratitude as my practice ignites my life with joy and peaceful understanding each and every day.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: doreen onthank Jan 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Oct 05, 2019—Mar 20, 2020

    a rich, challenging experience with vast information in all necessary areas

    • General Comments

      a rich, challenging experience with vast information in all necessary areas
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christina Rossi Jan 10, 2021
    Training Program held on Aug 23, 2019—Feb 02, 2020

    was an amazing experience.

    • General Comments

      was an amazing experience.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: nadine english Jan 07, 2021
    Training Program held on Jun 01, 2020—Oct 04, 2020

    I am always impressed by SOYA standards and expectations. The teachers are a wealth of knowledge and have dedicated their lives to the practice of yoga. I am proud to say that I am a student of SOYA because I know I worked hard for the designation. I would refer anyone to a teacher who has graduated from SOYA with complete confidence. They follow the guidelines set out by YA and go beyond by enriching the lives of those that participate. SOYA supported my practice both on and off the mat. The training made me a better person and gave me a positive lifestyle. I was looking for a way to deal with pain from a car accident and I was provided so much more. I keep the texts and learning material always at hand. It truly was the best learning experience.

    • General Comments

      I am always impressed by SOYA standards and expectations. The teachers are a wealth of knowledge and have dedicated their lives to the practice of yoga. I am proud to say that I am a student of SOYA because I know I worked hard for the designation. I would refer anyone to a teacher who has graduated from SOYA with complete confidence. They follow the guidelines set out by YA and go beyond by enriching the lives of those that participate. SOYA supported my practice both on and off the mat. The training made me a better person and gave me a positive lifestyle. I was looking for a way to deal with pain from a car accident and I was provided so much more. I keep the texts and learning material always at hand. It truly was the best learning experience.
    School response
    South Okanagan Yoga Academy
    Jan 07, 2021
    Thank you Nadine, I would have to say that you too have persisted to complete the training and made sure it came to fruition. We are all very proud of your accomplishments and exemplary desire to learn, learn, learn. Thank you so much for being a part of SOYA.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered January 2001

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 313

By Amrika Tikasingh RYT® 200

May 05, 2021

the teachers are amazing and their love and compassion really shine through. Soya training is heavy on philosophy which I think is essential to the yoga teacher experience. They have ongoing support which is greatly appreciated. Highly recommend! Full Review

By Bren Leclerc RYT® 200

Apr 29, 2021

Thank you SOYA Full Review

All Reviews (313)

Teaching Staff

Emma Faulkner

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Dorothy Fizzell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Marion Mugs McConnell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Terri McDermott

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Helen Mikuska

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Natasha Scott

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Becky Stone

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Cindy Szekely

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Chloe Haddad

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance