Search

Life of Wellness Institute

4.79

Based on 7 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 8.6/10


Connect with Us

26 Creek Springs Rd NW

Airdrie, AB, Canada

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Languages

English

About Life of Wellness Institute

LIVE Trauma-Informed Body-Positive Viniyoga Teacher Training and Advanced Yoga Teacher Training with Somatic Coaching. Includes 1:1 Mentoring with our Founder.  Certify to teach Vinyasa, Restorative, Yin, and Yoga Nidra in person, online, in groups or 1:1 through...

LIVE Trauma-Informed Body-Positive Viniyoga Teacher Training and Advanced Yoga Teacher Training with Somatic Coaching. Includes 1:1 Mentoring with our Founder. 

Certify to teach Vinyasa, Restorative, Yin, and Yoga Nidra in person, online, in groups or 1:1 through the foundations of the Eight Limbs of Yoga


At the heart of everything we do at the Life of Wellness Institute is a diverse and welcoming community of humans who have been touched by the experience of being human, which is the guiding light and fuel behind our work and our vision. We believe everybody deserves access to the tools and capacity to compassionately embrace our true selves with embodied wisdom as we navigate life’s experiences and challenges.

We sincerely believe that Vinyoga can help! Viniyoga is an ancient Sanskrit term that means appropriate application and implies differentiation and adaptation. Its teaching emphasizes a comprehensive and authentic transmission of yoga designed for everyone’s unique body and mind. It is a therapeutic approach to yoga that adapts the various means and methods of practice to each individual’s unique condition, needs, and interests – giving each practitioner the tools to individualize and actualize the process of self-discovery and personal transformation.

The Yoga Sutras tell us that genuinely taking care of ourselves, recognizing, and honoring our uniqueness comes from tapas (the disciplines we undertake to care for ourselves at a multi-dimensional level). At the Life of Wellness Institute, we believe we must also include self-compassion.

The practices of yoga provide the means to support each practitioner to embrace their life, health, and wellness fully and compassionately. This requires understanding a person’s present condition, personal potential, appropriate goals, and the means available. Just as every person is different, these aspects will vary with each individual.

Ultimately, our practice is designed to help us see who we genuinely are, in all our layers (koshas) of self, understanding our functional anatomy, physiology, emotional states, self-concept, beliefs about ourselves and the world around us, the direction of our future so that we can make choices that increase our sense of balance, harmony, and peacefulness—adapting our practice to our needs using the broad spectrum of yoga tools that are available to help us create sympathetic and parasympathetic regulation, love, compassion, forgiveness, tolerance, and clarity. Simultaneously improving our immune function, having structural integrity, sleeping better, and being clear about who we are and where we are heading in our life.

Logistically, Viniyoga is practiced through the offerings of the Yoga Sutras, such as āsana, prāṇāyāma, bandha, sound, chanting, meditation, personal ritual, and study of texts. However, there is an underlying context of appropriately applying these tools of yoga to the student’s Dharma (how each of us fulfills our responsibilities to ourselves, each other, the earth, the universe, and the divine; our purpose), Swadharma (practicing one’s dharma, a personal mission or purpose), with the understanding of a person’s swabhav (their innate traits, nature, and capacities as well as their present condition, potential, goals, and means. Which will differ and vary not only within the individual but also with each individual.)

The long-term goals of Yoga as Therapy include:

Reducing the symptoms of suffering that can be reduced
Managing the symptoms that cannot be reduced
Rooting out causes wherever possible
Improving life function
Shifting attitude and perspective in relationship to life’s challenges

Our training is led live with the supportive guidance of our founder and lead teacher Melanie Taylor.


First Registered July 2019

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Laurel Sherriff Apr 23, 2023
    Training Program held on Sep 08, 2022—Mar 19, 2023

    Life of Wellness Institute is an excellent provider of trauma-informed and body positive Viniyoga teacher training. The program offers ample learning and reflection, yoga practice experience, mentorship opportunities, and a incredibly useful practicum component. I highly recommend to those interested in pursuing yoga teacher training in a holistic and trauma-informed way.

    • General Comments

      Life of Wellness Institute is an excellent provider of trauma-informed and body positive Viniyoga teacher training. The program offers ample learning and reflection, yoga practice experience, mentorship opportunities, and a incredibly useful practicum component. I highly recommend to those interested in pursuing yoga teacher training in a holistic and trauma-informed way.
    School response
    Life of Wellness Institute
    Apr 23, 2023
    Thank you, Laurel, for being a part of our community and for your feedback. We could not offer the value to our community we do without our students. We are grateful for your caring nature, commitment to learning, and the many contributions you brought to your cohort.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Cori Williams Nov 29, 2022
    Training Program held on Jan 03, 2022—Jun 26, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Alexandra Pattison Jul 14, 2022
    Training Program held on Jan 03, 2022—Jun 26, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Caitlin Taylor Feb 17, 2022
    Training Program held on Mar 13, 2020—Jun 20, 2020

    I completed my 200-hour yoga teacher training at the Life of Wellness Institute in June of 2020 with senior teacher Melanie Taylor. She was an astounding teacher throughout the entire program. As covid impacted our community, she adapted swiftly, without disruption, and ensured the support of everyone in the class. During class, Melanie is accommodating and informative. Her approach allows students space to explore yoga within a safe and inclusive environment throughout the program's intellectual and personal challenges. The space created allows for authentic conversations, especially with sensitive topics. The attention to ethical, responsible, and inclusive teaching skills with a trauma-informed lens prepared me to share yoga with care and integrity. The program consistently shared material in an approachable and accessible way through a balance of engaging lectures, community discussion, and a practice that gave us an opportunity for an embodied experience. I highly recommend Melanie and the Life of Wellness Institute!

    • General Comments

      I completed my 200-hour yoga teacher training at the Life of Wellness Institute in June of 2020 with senior teacher Melanie Taylor. She was an astounding teacher throughout the entire program. As covid impacted our community, she adapted swiftly, without disruption, and ensured the support of everyone in the class. During class, Melanie is accommodating and informative. Her approach allows students space to explore yoga within a safe and inclusive environment throughout the program's intellectual and personal challenges. The space created allows for authentic conversations, especially with sensitive topics. The attention to ethical, responsible, and inclusive teaching skills with a trauma-informed lens prepared me to share yoga with care and integrity. The program consistently shared material in an approachable and accessible way through a balance of engaging lectures, community discussion, and a practice that gave us an opportunity for an embodied experience. I highly recommend Melanie and the Life of Wellness Institute!
    School response
    Life of Wellness Institute
    Feb 18, 2022
    Hi Caitlin, thank you for taking the time to share your reflections from your Yoga Teacher Training experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you felt supported, enjoyed our curriculum, and experienced a safe and helpful learning environment. Your satisfaction is our first priority, and as affirmed by your review, we pride ourselves on providing the highest quality learning experience for our students.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tracey Schram Apr 20, 2021
    Training Program held on Mar 13, 2020—Jun 20, 2020

    Melanie delivers. I was afforded a safe place to practice self love and to see my reflection through my styles of being while learning teacher training. I was lead on a journey that helped me understand what it means to practice Vini Yoga and its lifestyle. You get it not only because you achieve a developed foundational vini yoga program, you get it because Melanie ensures your understanding practically, and theoretically. The special parts of Melanie's program are demonstrated through her expertise of working with people where they are at. It takes a very knowledgeable and curious teacher to understand the multitude of complexities people have and Melanie is this master in breaking it down as she has herself walked and shared her experiences from trauma stories to love stories. Melanie delivers from her heart and her experiences are shared through skillful and thought provoking ways to ensure you absorb the intention of her material in the moments. Melanie is an expert and proactive teacher in that she sees you before you see yourself in many ways. I was challenged every moment with Melanie because I met my teacher, the reflection was quite disturbing some days and blissfully awakening others, and as I continue to evolve I often seek out Melanie and her experience to draw my attentions inwards and to resolve my traumatic experiences with a person who will meet me there and hold the space of me to transform what ever part of my constitution I'm working to resolve. Melanie is a leader in my experience and opinion, in more than the professional contributions she makes daily to developing a comprehensive and ever evolving program to support yogis on their interpersonal journey, in that she believes by ensuring you have the foundations and some pretty profound transformational experiences you will then have to share with the persons you serve. Melanie is truly making a difference in the lives of the people she serves as I know she has in mine. Thank you Melanie.

    • General Comments

      Melanie delivers. I was afforded a safe place to practice self love and to see my reflection through my styles of being while learning teacher training. I was lead on a journey that helped me understand what it means to practice Vini Yoga and its lifestyle. You get it not only because you achieve a developed foundational vini yoga program, you get it because Melanie ensures your understanding practically, and theoretically. The special parts of Melanie's program are demonstrated through her expertise of working with people where they are at. It takes a very knowledgeable and curious teacher to understand the multitude of complexities people have and Melanie is this master in breaking it down as she has herself walked and shared her experiences from trauma stories to love stories. Melanie delivers from her heart and her experiences are shared through skillful and thought provoking ways to ensure you absorb the intention of her material in the moments. Melanie is an expert and proactive teacher in that she sees you before you see yourself in many ways. I was challenged every moment with Melanie because I met my teacher, the reflection was quite disturbing some days and blissfully awakening others, and as I continue to evolve I often seek out Melanie and her experience to draw my attentions inwards and to resolve my traumatic experiences with a person who will meet me there and hold the space of me to transform what ever part of my constitution I'm working to resolve. Melanie is a leader in my experience and opinion, in more than the professional contributions she makes daily to developing a comprehensive and ever evolving program to support yogis on their interpersonal journey, in that she believes by ensuring you have the foundations and some pretty profound transformational experiences you will then have to share with the persons you serve. Melanie is truly making a difference in the lives of the people she serves as I know she has in mine. Thank you Melanie.
    School response
    Life of Wellness Institute
    May 06, 2021
    Thank you Tracey for sharing your experience with me and our training. It has been an honor to support your journey on your own mat, and the discovery of the teacher within you. Your courage to look within, hold space for yourself, and beheld where you are is a strength that will continue to serve your own journey and those you serve.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Suzy Quendack Mar 09, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 19, 2020—Mar 07, 2021

    My experience with Life of Wellness Institute teacher training program was one of the best experiences I have ever had. This experience has transformed my life, for myself and the people around me. I highly recommend this training program.

    • General Comments

      My experience with Life of Wellness Institute teacher training program was one of the best experiences I have ever had. This experience has transformed my life, for myself and the people around me. I highly recommend this training program.
    School response
    Life of Wellness Institute
    Mar 09, 2021
    Thank you Suzy for trusting us with your Yoga training journey, it has been an honor to be with you. Thank you for your kind review.
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Tracey Schram Aug 05, 2020
    Training Program held on Mar 13, 2020—Jun 20, 2020

    I signed up for this ViniYoga Teacher Training just before the world experienced the global pandemic of the Coronovirus in March 2020. The school provider did her due dilligence to ensure her students experienced a positive and vibrant learning opportunity despite the global pandemic. If you are new to yoga, I would recommend this opportunity.

    • General Comments

      I signed up for this ViniYoga Teacher Training just before the world experienced the global pandemic of the Coronovirus in March 2020. The school provider did her due dilligence to ensure her students experienced a positive and vibrant learning opportunity despite the global pandemic. If you are new to yoga, I would recommend this opportunity.
    School response
    Life of Wellness Institute
    Aug 05, 2020
    Thank you Tracey for acknowledging the difference we made for you within the program with all the world is dealing with. It is an honor to have been part of your new journey with yoga.
First Registered July 2019

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 7

By Laurel Sherriff RYT® 200

Apr 23, 2023

Life of Wellness Institute is an excellent provider of trauma-informed and body positive Viniyoga teacher training. The program offers ample learning and reflection, yoga practice experience, mentorship opportunities, and a incredibly useful practicum component. I highly recommend to those interested in pursuing yoga teacher training in a holistic and trauma-informed way. Full Review

By Cori Williams RYT® 200

Nov 29, 2022

Full Review

All Reviews (7)

Teaching Staff

Melanie Taylor

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance