Search

Lake Tahoe Yoga School

4.12

Based on 13 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 3.1/10


Connect with Us

Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest, Round Hill Village Shopping Center, 100 Mcfaul Way

Glenbrook, NV 89413, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Languages

ENGLISH

About Lake Tahoe Yoga School

The Lake Tahoe Yoga School was established in 2013.  The training lineage is Rajahatha as taught by Amy Pearce-Hayden.   The program is exclusively offered as an individualized training.  Training days and times are scheduled to accommodate each...

The Lake Tahoe Yoga School was established in 2013.  The training lineage is Rajahatha as taught by Amy Pearce-Hayden.  

The program is exclusively offered as an individualized training.  Training days and times are scheduled to accommodate each individual participant.  The approach is traditional: we seek practitioners looking to deepen their practice and understand the basics of teaching.  

Developed by Lake Tahoe Yoga director, Jenay, the program spirals: building from basic concepts to more complex ones and requiring that trainees apply that which they have learned on an on-going basis.  

Graduates demonstrate a strong understanding of anatomy and physiology, alignment and the importance of recognizing each individual practitioner as unique.  The course includes in-depth discussion of Yoga history and philosophy as well as a comparison to current scientific studies. 

Upon completion of the program you will have the ability to teach an all-level vinyasa practice that includes specific alignment and strength in verbal & physical cuing as well as tool usage.

First Registered February 2013

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jamie Otterstrom Jul 03, 2020
    Training Program held on Oct 12, 2016—Mar 29, 2017

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gail McCabe May 25, 2020
    Training Program held on Apr 08, 2019—Apr 15, 2020

    When I walked into Lake Tahoe Yoga I knew immediately that Jenay Aiksnoras, owner of Lake Tahoe Yoga was the teacher I wanted to train with for my RYT 200. She was very thorough in her approach and truly cared about the correct relaying of information and proper instruction of the curriculum. I look forward to continuing my education with her!

    • General Comments

      When I walked into Lake Tahoe Yoga I knew immediately that Jenay Aiksnoras, owner of Lake Tahoe Yoga was the teacher I wanted to train with for my RYT 200. She was very thorough in her approach and truly cared about the correct relaying of information and proper instruction of the curriculum. I look forward to continuing my education with her!
    School response
    Lake Tahoe Yoga School
    May 26, 2020
    It has been a pleasure to share the practice with and to guide Gail on her path to becoming a Yoga Teacher. She has continually demonstrated her dedication and commitment to the LTY program through her efforts, engagement, and continued practice. I am very proud to include her as a graduate from the LTY RYS. I look forward to seeing her bloom as a teacher and guide on the path of Yoga.
  • 3 out of 5
    By: LeeAnn Mills Sep 10, 2019

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Mostly

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kristin Noble Apr 27, 2019

    As I have only been through this one 200 RYT Training, I feel lucky that this was the school I chose. I signed up for the one-on-one program and Jenay was great working with my schedule. She was incredibly flexible and patient. Each class session, she made the expectations clear - if I was dedicated to the practice, she would be dedicated to teaching me. For me, personally, Jenay's style and this program fit my needs. My values and interests lined up with the Raja Hatha Yoga taught at Lake Tahoe Yoga. I feel confident going forward as a new yoga teacher and look forward to learning more.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      As I have only been through this one 200 RYT Training, I feel lucky that this was the school I chose. I signed up for the one-on-one program and Jenay was great working with my schedule. She was incredibly flexible and patient. Each class session, she made the expectations clear - if I was dedicated to the practice, she would be dedicated to teaching me. For me, personally, Jenay's style and this program fit my needs. My values and interests lined up with the Raja Hatha Yoga taught at Lake Tahoe Yoga. I feel confident going forward as a new yoga teacher and look forward to learning more.
    School response
    Lake Tahoe Yoga School
    Apr 27, 2019
    It has been a pleasure not only to guide Kristin through the process of becoming a Yoga Teacher, but also to see her in action. She already was a very strong instructor before beginning the program. Kristin dove in to learning more than just how to teach poses. She has truly demonstrated a grasp of the content and demonstrates a desire to continue to deepen her own Sadhana.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sara Guldin - Yoga To Unite Jun 12, 2018

    I would highly recommend Lake Tahoe Yoga School. The owner, Jenay, is professional, driven, experienced and provides actionable feedback. I am confident that I am prepared to begin my yoga teaching journey because of the high quality program Lake Tahoe Yoga School/Jenay provided.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      I would highly recommend Lake Tahoe Yoga School. The owner, Jenay, is professional, driven, experienced and provides actionable feedback. I am confident that I am prepared to begin my yoga teaching journey because of the high quality program Lake Tahoe Yoga School/Jenay provided.
    School response
    Lake Tahoe Yoga School
    Apr 27, 2019
    Sara truly dedicated herself to learning the practice of Yoga beyond the Asana. Her thoughtful and deep questions exposed her inner awareness and desire to grow as an individual. She actively applied that which she learned during lecture and practice to her life. Sara has changed is so many amazing ways as a result of doing the work to become a stronger practitioner and quality teacher.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gold Country Yoga Feb 13, 2017

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

  • 4 out of 5
    By: Jenn Trombley Jul 17, 2015

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Mostly

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Brent Grueter Apr 25, 2015

    Jenay's program at Lake Tahoe Yoga School was a comprehensive and exciting journey that prepared me to continue my greater understanding of yoga through teaching and continual education.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Jenay's program at Lake Tahoe Yoga School was a comprehensive and exciting journey that prepared me to continue my greater understanding of yoga through teaching and continual education.
    School response
    Lake Tahoe Yoga School
    Apr 27, 2019
    Brent has the qualities of a strong teacher and guide for those who are interested in developing not only a strong physical practice, but also the understanding of the practices of Karma. He is a generous with his time and energy which is bound to open up doors as he continues to practice and teach.
  • 2 out of 5
    By: Crystal woodward Mar 13, 2015

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Mostly

  • 2.5 out of 5
    By: Emily Winter Aug 23, 2014

    This yoga teacher training is affordable and convenient if you are working full-time, as it is spread out over a period of 6 months. The lead instructor is competent and has a great depth of knowledge of Raja-Hatha Yoga principles and practice. I came away from the training feeling prepared to begin writing my own sequences and knowing I have the skills and knowledge to lead a safe yoga class. The lead instructor is flexible and understanding of concerns when approached one-on-one. The lead instructor maintained high expectations for her teacher trainees and was creative and fun in many aspects of the teacher training. My main critiques of this program are (1) the anatomy section was rather weak and I felt the need to supplement with external resources and teachers, as it was not applied to yoga, specifically, and led by the instructor's husband who is a PT without a yoga background. Secondly, I feel it is important to mention that the lead instructor did not always create a welcoming, accepting or inviting environment for yoga teacher trainees to express themselves, ask questions, or raise different points of view. Often, these occurrences were met with negative or harsh criticism from the lead instructor. This made it difficult to have productive, positive discourse between the instructor and other teacher trainees. I also felt there was a disdain from the yoga instructor for other yoga studios in the area; at times, it felt that the lead instructor held a competitive, "my way is right" viewpoint and was not necessarily encouraging of teacher trainees making use of our prior yoga mentors and teachers at other studios to deepen our knowledge and practice. More than anything this just prevented open communication between the training's lead instructor and the teacher trainees. Lastly, the final written exam was graded harshly - though it was open-note, several questions were marked wrong even when the answers were pulled directly from a printed hand-out the lead instructor had provided, which made it challenging to know what was correct in these instances. In the future, I would recommend the printed resources for this teacher training program be presented more professionally in a binder or bound notebook and not just printed off various websites and handed out during every session.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      Lake Tahoe Yoga School’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Mostly

    • General Comments

      This yoga teacher training is affordable and convenient if you are working full-time, as it is spread out over a period of 6 months. The lead instructor is competent and has a great depth of knowledge of Raja-Hatha Yoga principles and practice. I came away from the training feeling prepared to begin writing my own sequences and knowing I have the skills and knowledge to lead a safe yoga class. The lead instructor is flexible and understanding of concerns when approached one-on-one. The lead instructor maintained high expectations for her teacher trainees and was creative and fun in many aspects of the teacher training. My main critiques of this program are (1) the anatomy section was rather weak and I felt the need to supplement with external resources and teachers, as it was not applied to yoga, specifically, and led by the instructor's husband who is a PT without a yoga background. Secondly, I feel it is important to mention that the lead instructor did not always create a welcoming, accepting or inviting environment for yoga teacher trainees to express themselves, ask questions, or raise different points of view. Often, these occurrences were met with negative or harsh criticism from the lead instructor. This made it difficult to have productive, positive discourse between the instructor and other teacher trainees. I also felt there was a disdain from the yoga instructor for other yoga studios in the area; at times, it felt that the lead instructor held a competitive, "my way is right" viewpoint and was not necessarily encouraging of teacher trainees making use of our prior yoga mentors and teachers at other studios to deepen our knowledge and practice. More than anything this just prevented open communication between the training's lead instructor and the teacher trainees. Lastly, the final written exam was graded harshly - though it was open-note, several questions were marked wrong even when the answers were pulled directly from a printed hand-out the lead instructor had provided, which made it challenging to know what was correct in these instances. In the future, I would recommend the printed resources for this teacher training program be presented more professionally in a binder or bound notebook and not just printed off various websites and handed out during every session.
    School response
    Lake Tahoe Yoga School
    Apr 27, 2019
    Emily's review is accurate. The training is specific to the Rajahatha Lineage and honors the practices as explained in the course. Just as you would be critiqued and corrected in any other training the same will occur in this one. Responses and information from other lineages will not be accepted or approved as they may not align with the information and requirements of the Rajahatha School of Yoga. The information provided in the program is detailed and your grasp of the content and knowledge will only be as good as your focus and notes. Hand-outs are provided as additional reference and the materials change as the program evolves. It is up to each of practitioner to decide how they best learn, gather information and manage their materials. The A&P portion of the training is in-depth and presented professionally by an experienced Physical Therapist. Reference texts are assigned to be used in conjunction with the lecture. The focus is beyond the poses. It is upon the body as a whole. This program is for those of you who truly want to understand how Yoga is a lifestyle, science and lifelong study. If you are seeking a training that gives you the ability to teach Vinyasa to the masses, this is not the one for you.
First Registered February 2013

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 13

By Jamie Otterstrom RYT® 200

Jul 03, 2020

Full Review

By Gail McCabe RYT® 200

May 25, 2020

When I walked into Lake Tahoe Yoga I knew immediately that Jenay Aiksnoras, owner of Lake Tahoe Yoga was the teacher I wanted to train with for my RYT 200. She was very thorough in her approach and truly cared about the correct relaying of information and proper instruction of the curriculum. I look forward to continuing my education with her! Full Review

All Reviews (13)

Teaching Staff

Jenay Aiksnoras

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance