Search

Manipura Yoga College

4.87

Based on 38 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

2371 Arbot Rd

Nanaimo, BC, Canada

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Destination / retreat

Languages

English

About Manipura Yoga College

Manipura Yoga College Vancouver Island's Yoga College Offering 200 Hour Foundational Teacher Training and Advanced Teacher Training. Manipura Yoga College is founded on principles of excellence in practice. When teachers are trained to the highest caliber, they can share...

Manipura Yoga College

Vancouver Island's Yoga College

Offering 200 Hour Foundational Teacher Training and Advanced Teacher Training.

Manipura Yoga College is founded on principles of excellence in practice. When teachers are trained to the highest caliber, they can share an accessible, safe, insightful, and unified practice with their students. The traditions and technologies, which span thousands of years, are the 
art and the practice of authenticity, internal guidance, empowerment and connection. 

Founded by Jay Suttonbrown, ERYT-500, RPYT, YACEP, Manipura Yoga College is rooted in Kundalini Yoga and Meditation (the yoga of awareness) and Hatha Yoga (the yoga of balance) traditions. 

The Manipura Chakra is the “City of Jewels” in which we find the pearls of clarity, wisdom, self-confidence and wellbeing. The Manipura program is excellent for those looking to teach yoga as a Registered Yoga Teacher, AND/OR for profound personal development.

Your journey awaits, the time is now.

First Registered November 2015

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: manipura college Apr 11, 2024
    Training Program held on Sep 30, 2023—Feb 11, 2024

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Michael Chiorando Apr 05, 2024
    Training Program held on Sep 30, 2023—Feb 11, 2024

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Jennifer Brock Apr 02, 2024

    I went into this training for the purpose of deepening my spirituality and inner awareness and it delivered! I developed personal boundaries, self compassion and confidence, and a level of self trust that I've never known before . What I didn't expect is how I would end with a whole new family - my fellow teachers and I grew close throughout the process and I now I have life long friends alongside colleagues I can bounce ideas off and even develop a practice with. I'm not going to lie: this was an extremely rigorous process that asks you to dig deep, dedicating much time, resources and effort into developing the physical, mental, emotional skills to become a proficient teacher. It's not just buying books & attending class but also homework, class observations, papers, assignments, daily meditation requirements, developing class plans, and finals but in the end, I would do it all again in a heart beat. I'm grateful to Jay and Manipura Yoga for giving me the training to be a yoga teacher but more importantly, the inner knowing that I've got everything I need to succeed in life and attain my highest purpose. Sat Nam!!!

    • General Comments

      I went into this training for the purpose of deepening my spirituality and inner awareness and it delivered! I developed personal boundaries, self compassion and confidence, and a level of self trust that I've never known before . What I didn't expect is how I would end with a whole new family - my fellow teachers and I grew close throughout the process and I now I have life long friends alongside colleagues I can bounce ideas off and even develop a practice with. I'm not going to lie: this was an extremely rigorous process that asks you to dig deep, dedicating much time, resources and effort into developing the physical, mental, emotional skills to become a proficient teacher. It's not just buying books & attending class but also homework, class observations, papers, assignments, daily meditation requirements, developing class plans, and finals but in the end, I would do it all again in a heart beat. I'm grateful to Jay and Manipura Yoga for giving me the training to be a yoga teacher but more importantly, the inner knowing that I've got everything I need to succeed in life and attain my highest purpose. Sat Nam!!!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Melody Haaland Mar 23, 2024
    Training Program held on Sep 30, 2023—Feb 11, 2024

    This yoga teacher training was profound and helped me faster and more thoroughly than any regular weekly therapy/counselling that I've done over years!? I was able to release some deep trauma/baggage i had been carrying my whole life. It has literally changed my life, my outlook, my being, how I interact, see and live in the world. I'm calmer, more grounded/centered, more patient, happier and more at peace. How can you express or explain something that has significantly altered your life for the better and put you on a different path? I'm more myself now than I ever was. I feel like I've finally figured out who I'm supposed to grow up to be, I've found out who I was meant to be and my purpose here on earth. It all sounds corny, but so true! I have the deepest gratitude and appreciation for this gift of yoga teacher training from Jay/Manipura Yoga College. <3

    • General Comments

      This yoga teacher training was profound and helped me faster and more thoroughly than any regular weekly therapy/counselling that I've done over years!? I was able to release some deep trauma/baggage i had been carrying my whole life. It has literally changed my life, my outlook, my being, how I interact, see and live in the world. I'm calmer, more grounded/centered, more patient, happier and more at peace. How can you express or explain something that has significantly altered your life for the better and put you on a different path? I'm more myself now than I ever was. I feel like I've finally figured out who I'm supposed to grow up to be, I've found out who I was meant to be and my purpose here on earth. It all sounds corny, but so true! I have the deepest gratitude and appreciation for this gift of yoga teacher training from Jay/Manipura Yoga College. <3
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Mark Leitao Jan 03, 2024
    Training Program held on Jan 08, 2021—Apr 18, 2021

    Jay Sutton-Brown is a no nonsense instructor who asks a lot but gives even more. I highly recommend her!

    • General Comments

      Jay Sutton-Brown is a no nonsense instructor who asks a lot but gives even more. I highly recommend her!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Shanna Esau Dec 28, 2023
    Training Program held on Jan 08, 2021—Apr 18, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nicole Busby May 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Jan 08, 2021—Apr 18, 2021

    I was so curious about the inner workings of Kundalini Yoga as I had experienced the amazing benefits to my body, energy, mood and ability to work through areas of my life that were stuck. Jay provided so much insight, experience and information in a wonderfully multilayered approach to suit any learning style. The course was so uplifting with many opportunities to experience the technology as well as teach it. This was such a joyful, expansive time and I cannot wait to begin teaching myself!

    • General Comments

      I was so curious about the inner workings of Kundalini Yoga as I had experienced the amazing benefits to my body, energy, mood and ability to work through areas of my life that were stuck. Jay provided so much insight, experience and information in a wonderfully multilayered approach to suit any learning style. The course was so uplifting with many opportunities to experience the technology as well as teach it. This was such a joyful, expansive time and I cannot wait to begin teaching myself!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Holly Bender May 24, 2020
    Training Program held on Jan 10, 2020—Apr 26, 2020

    My experience with Manipura Yoga College was like no other training- personal, and thought provoking in a transformational way. These past months together brought much refinement to my teaching and clarity in my personal life.

    • General Comments

      My experience with Manipura Yoga College was like no other training- personal, and thought provoking in a transformational way. These past months together brought much refinement to my teaching and clarity in my personal life.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Shawnett DePasquale May 19, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katie Mickolwin May 05, 2020

    This was an experience of a lifetime. I was so happy that a yoga teacher training could happen in my home town and be offered on weekends. This made it extremely accessible which I appreciated so much. Jay is a wonderful, inspiring, and motivating teacher. I am so grateful to have taken this course with her as my teacher. Considering I was able to complete the teacher training online due to COVID-19 (we were so close to being done when that happened), this truly was an experience of a lifetime. Jay and my fellow students were so adaptable and I am forever grateful for that. Jay has a way of teaching that captures your interest and you want to just learn more more more!! Can you tell I loved it? Thanks Jay for an amazing experience and can't wait for future ones. I highly recommend Manipura Yoga College.

    • General Comments

      This was an experience of a lifetime. I was so happy that a yoga teacher training could happen in my home town and be offered on weekends. This made it extremely accessible which I appreciated so much. Jay is a wonderful, inspiring, and motivating teacher. I am so grateful to have taken this course with her as my teacher. Considering I was able to complete the teacher training online due to COVID-19 (we were so close to being done when that happened), this truly was an experience of a lifetime. Jay and my fellow students were so adaptable and I am forever grateful for that. Jay has a way of teaching that captures your interest and you want to just learn more more more!! Can you tell I loved it? Thanks Jay for an amazing experience and can't wait for future ones. I highly recommend Manipura Yoga College.
First Registered November 2015

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 38

By manipura college RYT® 200

Apr 11, 2024

Full Review

By Michael Chiorando RYT® 200

Apr 05, 2024

Full Review

All Reviews (38)

Teaching Staff

Jay Suttonbrown

E-RYT® 500, RPYT®, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance