Search

Yandara Yoga Institute (San Ysidro)

4.8

Based on 1050 reviews

What is a School Review?



4 more Locations

Connect with Us

San Ysidro

San Diego, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Yandara Yoga Institute
13-260 Pohoiki Road
Pāhoa, Hawaii, United States

Yandara Yoga Institute
Vällarevägen 6,Skinnskatteberg, Sweden

Yandara Yoga Institute (Bali)
Bali, Indonesia

Yandara Yoga Institute (Todos Santos)
Todos Santos 116, Bellavista
23050 La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico

About Yandara Yoga Institute

Yandara Yoga's Teacher Training Courses emphasizes Practice and Teaching Skills; including organizing and sequencing a class, creating confidence, pranayama, philosophy and making postural corrections. You will learn to teach yoga with precision alignment, emphasizing heart-felt...

Yandara Yoga's Teacher Training Courses emphasizes Practice and Teaching Skills; including organizing and sequencing a class, creating confidence, pranayama, philosophy and making postural corrections. You will learn to teach yoga with precision alignment, emphasizing heart-felt presence. Our curriculum will enable you to formulate and nurture your own personal teaching style. We offer a non-denominational style of yoga instruction, comprised with the strengths of selected yoga lineages including Vinyasa Flow yoga, Power Yoga, Yin yoga, Dharma yoga, and Iyengar yoga. Yandara Yoga Institute offers you an immersion into the yogic lifestyle and the path of teaching from the heart. Throughout our programs you will have the experience of living in community while being surrounded by the soothing power of nature. With over 18 training sessions a year Yandara is one of the largest and most successful open-style yoga teacher training schools around. Admission is open to all levels, ages and experience. We have a number of beach front Yoga Teacher Trainings available. If you prefer to visit our beautiful home in Baja, Mexico, you can choose between a 16 or 26 day class. If you choose to travel to Bali or Hawaii, you can enjoy our 16 day courses at our retreat centers there. We look forward to meeting you! Namaste!

First Registered August 2004

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Claire Berdinig May 02, 2021

    My experience at Yandara exceeded all expectations; it offered the ideal mix of asana practice, breath work / meditation and philosophy. Not only did I deepen my knowledge of yoga, but I also learned how to leverage my personal practice so as to create a more authentic teaching style.

    • General Comments

      My experience at Yandara exceeded all expectations; it offered the ideal mix of asana practice, breath work / meditation and philosophy. Not only did I deepen my knowledge of yoga, but I also learned how to leverage my personal practice so as to create a more authentic teaching style.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brandie Van Vliet Apr 27, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Makenzie Shepherd Apr 18, 2021

    Yandara Yoga Institute was the perfect place for my teacher training. The community there is unlike any I've ever met before. They are so welcoming, kind, intelligent, inspiring, and loving. Every person I met at Yandara had incredible knowledge about yoga philosophy, lifestyle, technique, and compassion. I learned more in two weeks at Yandara than I ever could have imagined. It was a life changing experience. I am looking forward to my next training with Yandara.

    • General Comments

      Yandara Yoga Institute was the perfect place for my teacher training. The community there is unlike any I've ever met before. They are so welcoming, kind, intelligent, inspiring, and loving. Every person I met at Yandara had incredible knowledge about yoga philosophy, lifestyle, technique, and compassion. I learned more in two weeks at Yandara than I ever could have imagined. It was a life changing experience. I am looking forward to my next training with Yandara.
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Teri Anderson Apr 06, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kristin Teeples Apr 06, 2021

    Yandara has a beautiful program with wonderful teachers on an amazing campus immersed in nature. I appreciated their Covid protocols and felt completely safe. I received an excellent education but also gained a community and was able to discover my personal teaching style. I highly recommend Yandara!

    • General Comments

      Yandara has a beautiful program with wonderful teachers on an amazing campus immersed in nature. I appreciated their Covid protocols and felt completely safe. I received an excellent education but also gained a community and was able to discover my personal teaching style. I highly recommend Yandara!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Marcela Prado Apr 04, 2021

    A truly place to learn and grow in the path of Yoga.

    • General Comments

      A truly place to learn and grow in the path of Yoga.
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: James Wilson Mar 26, 2021

    The venue is terrific, the food and accommodations are great, the trainers are very experienced, and the teacher training is excellent, as other reviews describe. So this review focuses on A) opportunities to improve the training and B) some things prospective students may want to know. A. Opportunities to Improve the Training 1. There are two manuals, “Philosophy Manual” and “Yandara Asanas Manual”, which are not well organized. For instance, the Asanas Manual, not the Philosophy Manual, has a lot of the philosophy material that we went through (pp. 8-17; chakras, nadis, gunas, koshas, etc.), and the Philosophy Manual, not the Asanas Manual, has a section “Asana” with key material on sequencing and related topics. The manuals would benefit from some reorganization, and there should probably be a third manual, Teacher Training, containing important material for new teachers (ethics, business, etc.) that is neither yoga philosophy nor asana-related. 2. The disorganization of the manuals was reflected in the training to some degree. Much of the discussion of philosophy was very micro, the order in which topics were presented seemed a bit random, and the various pieces were not fit together. I would have liked a broader historical context and more discussion of how it all fits together. 3. There were multiple minor (15-minute) logistical foul-ups and one larger one (a two-hour class where no teacher showed up). B. For Prospective Students 1. A lot of time was spent on activities that most students enjoyed, and that Yoga Alliance apparently accepts as teacher training, but that may surprise some prospective students. I do not know whether other schools also do this to the same extent, or instead spend more time on actual teacher training. A few examples: a. Evening sessions were mainly listening to music and chanting. While enjoyable (if you can stay awake through a 7 AM to 9 PM schedule), it is not clear how much learning is going on after a few such sessions. One evening session was a viewing of the movie “I Am” which is not about yoga at all. One evening session was on astrology. b. A substantial amount of time was spent in sharing circles (“satya”), sitting on the beach and going around giving folks a chance to say what’s on their minds. (On the last day, my group mutinied and we went for a very nice hike instead). 2. All of the Yandara people apparently hold New Age-era views with regard to paranormal phenomena, and also appear to accept the ancient yoga philosophy about the human body (chakras, nadis, etc.) quite literally. A scientifically-inclined person (as I am) can be OK with the yoga philosophy and understanding of the human body in historical context; but unfortunately, the Yandara people claim scientific evidence for it, and for other paranormal phenomena. This is of course well-intentioned (it shows we are all connected, etc.), and it comes up in contexts where it would be very awkward for anyone to question it, and no one does. One trainer told what could be characterized as “Jesus stories” about himself (that is, stories about healing by touch, pushing someone over with mental intention, mind reading, etc. the likes of which people may have heard about Jesus, but not about normal people).

    • General Comments

      The venue is terrific, the food and accommodations are great, the trainers are very experienced, and the teacher training is excellent, as other reviews describe. So this review focuses on A) opportunities to improve the training and B) some things prospective students may want to know. A. Opportunities to Improve the Training 1. There are two manuals, “Philosophy Manual” and “Yandara Asanas Manual”, which are not well organized. For instance, the Asanas Manual, not the Philosophy Manual, has a lot of the philosophy material that we went through (pp. 8-17; chakras, nadis, gunas, koshas, etc.), and the Philosophy Manual, not the Asanas Manual, has a section “Asana” with key material on sequencing and related topics. The manuals would benefit from some reorganization, and there should probably be a third manual, Teacher Training, containing important material for new teachers (ethics, business, etc.) that is neither yoga philosophy nor asana-related. 2. The disorganization of the manuals was reflected in the training to some degree. Much of the discussion of philosophy was very micro, the order in which topics were presented seemed a bit random, and the various pieces were not fit together. I would have liked a broader historical context and more discussion of how it all fits together. 3. There were multiple minor (15-minute) logistical foul-ups and one larger one (a two-hour class where no teacher showed up). B. For Prospective Students 1. A lot of time was spent on activities that most students enjoyed, and that Yoga Alliance apparently accepts as teacher training, but that may surprise some prospective students. I do not know whether other schools also do this to the same extent, or instead spend more time on actual teacher training. A few examples: a. Evening sessions were mainly listening to music and chanting. While enjoyable (if you can stay awake through a 7 AM to 9 PM schedule), it is not clear how much learning is going on after a few such sessions. One evening session was a viewing of the movie “I Am” which is not about yoga at all. One evening session was on astrology. b. A substantial amount of time was spent in sharing circles (“satya”), sitting on the beach and going around giving folks a chance to say what’s on their minds. (On the last day, my group mutinied and we went for a very nice hike instead). 2. All of the Yandara people apparently hold New Age-era views with regard to paranormal phenomena, and also appear to accept the ancient yoga philosophy about the human body (chakras, nadis, etc.) quite literally. A scientifically-inclined person (as I am) can be OK with the yoga philosophy and understanding of the human body in historical context; but unfortunately, the Yandara people claim scientific evidence for it, and for other paranormal phenomena. This is of course well-intentioned (it shows we are all connected, etc.), and it comes up in contexts where it would be very awkward for anyone to question it, and no one does. One trainer told what could be characterized as “Jesus stories” about himself (that is, stories about healing by touch, pushing someone over with mental intention, mind reading, etc. the likes of which people may have heard about Jesus, but not about normal people).
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Carla Costa Mar 20, 2021

    Yoga Teacher Training @ Yandara Yoga Institute was a life change even for me due to the classes and themes shape and deep but above all due to the teachers' soul.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Teacher Training @ Yandara Yoga Institute was a life change even for me due to the classes and themes shape and deep but above all due to the teachers' soul.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Louie Izzo Mar 16, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Scott MacGregor Feb 25, 2021

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2004

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 1050

By Claire Berdinig RYT® 200

May 02, 2021

My experience at Yandara exceeded all expectations; it offered the ideal mix of asana practice, breath work / meditation and philosophy. Not only did I deepen my knowledge of yoga, but I also learned how to leverage my personal practice so as to create a more authentic teaching style. Full Review

By Brandie Van Vliet RYT® 200

Apr 27, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (1050)

Teaching Staff

Allison Eaton

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Craig Perkins

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Shane-Christopher Christopher Perkins Shane-Christopher Christopher Perkins

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Mercy Ananda Mercy Ananda

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Nicolina Sandstedt

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Amber Young

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Sarasvati Young Sarasvati Young

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Anne Dinsmore Anne Dinsmore

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance