Search

Yandara Yoga Institute (San Ysidro)

4.8

Based on 1135 reviews

What is a School Review?



4 more Locations

Connect with Us

San Ysidro

San Diego, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Fitness Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Yandara Yoga Institute
13-260 Pohoiki Road
Pāhoa, Hawaii, United States

Yandara Yoga Institute
Vällarevägen 6,Skinnskatteberg, Sweden

Yandara Yoga Institute (Bali)
Bali, Indonesia

Yandara Yoga Institute (Todos Santos)
Todos Santos 116, Bellavista
23050 La Paz, B.C.S., Mexico

About Yandara Yoga Institute

Yandara Yoga's Teacher Training Courses emphasizes Practice and Teaching Skills; including organizing and sequencing a class, creating confidence, pranayama, philosophy and making postural corrections. You will learn to teach yoga with precision alignment, emphasizing heart-felt...

Yandara Yoga's Teacher Training Courses emphasizes Practice and Teaching Skills; including organizing and sequencing a class, creating confidence, pranayama, philosophy and making postural corrections. You will learn to teach yoga with precision alignment, emphasizing heart-felt presence. Our curriculum will enable you to formulate and nurture your own personal teaching style. We offer a non-denominational style of yoga instruction, comprised with the strengths of selected yoga lineages including Vinyasa Flow yoga, Power Yoga, Yin yoga, Dharma yoga, and Iyengar yoga. Yandara Yoga Institute offers you an immersion into the yogic lifestyle and the path of teaching from the heart. Throughout our programs you will have the experience of living in community while being surrounded by the soothing power of nature. With over 18 training sessions a year Yandara is one of the largest and most successful open-style yoga teacher training schools around. Admission is open to all levels, ages and experience. We have a number of beach front Yoga Teacher Trainings available. If you prefer to visit our beautiful home in Baja, Mexico, you can choose between a 16 or 26 day class. If you choose to travel to Bali or Hawaii, you can enjoy our 16 day courses at our retreat centers there. We look forward to meeting you! Namaste!

First Registered August 2004

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tamina Prexl Sep 18, 2022

  • Its was amazing, thank you so much for inspiring me to be the best teacher I can be.

    • General Comments

      Its was amazing, thank you so much for inspiring me to be the best teacher I can be.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Alicia Setvanich Aug 30, 2022

    I am so glad that I chose to train and expand my practice at Yandara. The locations of the studios being by an ocean and mountains helped to set a beautiful learning environment, along with the teachers and staff. Incorporating meditation, centering in, along with learning the asanas made it a well rounded course. It was so beneficial to be taught how to feel safe opening yourself up to others in your community and to want to bring that practice back home. I am so grateful for the teachers there for sharing their knowledge and support.

    • General Comments

      I am so glad that I chose to train and expand my practice at Yandara. The locations of the studios being by an ocean and mountains helped to set a beautiful learning environment, along with the teachers and staff. Incorporating meditation, centering in, along with learning the asanas made it a well rounded course. It was so beneficial to be taught how to feel safe opening yourself up to others in your community and to want to bring that practice back home. I am so grateful for the teachers there for sharing their knowledge and support.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Carlotta Barelli Aug 30, 2022

    The teacher training with Yandara was a life-changing experience. It was an extraordinary journey which allowed me to explore the multiple facets of yoga and to get to know my deeper self.

    • General Comments

      The teacher training with Yandara was a life-changing experience. It was an extraordinary journey which allowed me to explore the multiple facets of yoga and to get to know my deeper self.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Aisha Aug 29, 2022

    its way more than a YTT, much more than just practicing yoga, its a life changing experience.

    • General Comments

      its way more than a YTT, much more than just practicing yoga, its a life changing experience.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rachel Hessheimer Aug 23, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lola Gravel Aug 21, 2022

    Humble school and teachers. Amazing program. They teach to be confident teachers and learn all you need to know to start teaching with love. Heart openning experience, I highly reccommand.

    • General Comments

      Humble school and teachers. Amazing program. They teach to be confident teachers and learn all you need to know to start teaching with love. Heart openning experience, I highly reccommand.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Theresa Neumann Aug 19, 2022

    Generally, I really enjoyed this program and would recommend each of the instructors to anyone. Their knowledge base of yoga was really impressive and I felt like I was in safe hands. As this was such an intense program, however, I felt that there needed to be a stronger awareness of time, as some of our lectures tended to go over, which made it hard to prepare for our practice teaching, mental integration of the course material, and getting rest. I do also wish that there was a firmer control over some class participants going off topic or talking too much--perhaps it would be best to ask those whom take up a lot of space during class time to kindly write down their questions / comments for later or after class.

    • General Comments

      Generally, I really enjoyed this program and would recommend each of the instructors to anyone. Their knowledge base of yoga was really impressive and I felt like I was in safe hands. As this was such an intense program, however, I felt that there needed to be a stronger awareness of time, as some of our lectures tended to go over, which made it hard to prepare for our practice teaching, mental integration of the course material, and getting rest. I do also wish that there was a firmer control over some class participants going off topic or talking too much--perhaps it would be best to ask those whom take up a lot of space during class time to kindly write down their questions / comments for later or after class.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sarah Taylor Aug 18, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Carli Fluegge Aug 12, 2022

    I really couldn't have guessed what I was getting myself into with YTT. Overwhelmed by the amount of schools I found in my research, I felt a pull leading me towards Yandara and I booked the flights shortly afterwards. Trying to relay what all happened there nestled between the mountains and the beach in Baja to my loved ones here back home has been lovingly summarized by "how to be a better human training", SO SO much more than yoga, more than I could have ever imagined. The genuine staff and the light that each of their bright souls bring to the campus is hands-down the most influential part of the course. I was consistently delighted on the emphasis of other key foundational principles of yoga other than physical asana. Including practicing teaching in the curriculum is a very beneficial way to introduce the more practical parts of yoga in a very natural way. The foods and location were just the cherry on top to add to the overall messages and teachings passed along at Yandara. Most of all, I will cherish the connections made there and along the way for the entirety of my life. Thank-you. Namaste.

    • General Comments

      I really couldn't have guessed what I was getting myself into with YTT. Overwhelmed by the amount of schools I found in my research, I felt a pull leading me towards Yandara and I booked the flights shortly afterwards. Trying to relay what all happened there nestled between the mountains and the beach in Baja to my loved ones here back home has been lovingly summarized by "how to be a better human training", SO SO much more than yoga, more than I could have ever imagined. The genuine staff and the light that each of their bright souls bring to the campus is hands-down the most influential part of the course. I was consistently delighted on the emphasis of other key foundational principles of yoga other than physical asana. Including practicing teaching in the curriculum is a very beneficial way to introduce the more practical parts of yoga in a very natural way. The foods and location were just the cherry on top to add to the overall messages and teachings passed along at Yandara. Most of all, I will cherish the connections made there and along the way for the entirety of my life. Thank-you. Namaste.
First Registered August 2004

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 1135

By Tamina Prexl RYT® 200

Sep 18, 2022

Full Review

By Sofía del Carmen Rodríguez Alonso E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Sep 18, 2022

Its was amazing, thank you so much for inspiring me to be the best teacher I can be. Full Review

All Reviews (1135)

Teaching Staff

Allison Eaton

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Craig Perkins

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Shane-Christopher Christopher Perkins Shane-Christopher Christopher Perkins

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Mercy Ananda

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Nicolina Sandstedt

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Amber Young

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Sarasvati Young Sarasvati Young

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500

Anne Dinsmore Anne Dinsmore

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (9)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance