Search

The Kaivalya Yoga Method

4.6

Based on 620 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

Grand Rapids, MI, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

English

About The Kaivalya Yoga Method

The Kaivalya Yoga Method has been formulated after over a decade of dedicated study and research and teaching experience. It is a comprehensive compilation of the fundamentals of yoga directed at creating teachers who can translate this ancient practice for a modern-day...

The Kaivalya Yoga Method has been formulated after over a decade of dedicated study and research and teaching experience. It is a comprehensive compilation of the fundamentals of yoga directed at creating teachers who can translate this ancient practice for a modern-day audience while staying true to yoga’s highest aim.

As a graduate, you will receive:

  • A top-quality, advanced level education that exceeds Yoga Alliance standards of training, and is designed to empower today’s teachers to intelligently work with and inspire students
  • Personalized training by Alanna Kaivalya in the fields of Alignment, Philosophy, Teaching Methodology, Sequencing, Psychology, Mythology and more
  • One-on-one instruction in an environment committed to learning, development and real integration and application of skills
  • A comprehensive in-depth manual for each module
  • 200, 300, or 500-hour Registered Yoga Teacher eligibility with Yoga Alliance.

TKYM TRAINING MODULES

Alchemical Sequencing and the Subtle Body

  • Learn and practice applied sequencing techniques with direct focus on the application to yoga practice and working intelligently with students
  • Subtle Anatomy including extensive work with the chakra system for aligning the energetic body
  • Understand how to be creative yet safe within your sequencing while working with the mechanics of the body and seeing through the asana to create sequences that stretch, strengthen and invigorate the whole person
  • Successful teaching skills including: vocal training and concise cueing

Yoga Sutra, Philosophy & Psychology

  • Yoga Philosophy including: Yoga Sutra, Bhagavad Gita, and an exploration of Upanishadic & Puranic texts
  • Learn the basics of depth psychology and its essential addition to the yoga practice in order to aid in more complete psychological and spiritual transformation
  • Understand how to weave the essential philosophy of yoga into your teaching to give students a fuller experience of a holistic, transformational yoga practice

Insightful Alignment and Anatomy

  • Learn the “holes” in asana practice and how to fill them with a deep intelligence of alignment and body mechanics
  • Through the techniques of insightful alignment, you will learn the universal application of intelligent alignment in almost every posture in the asana practice
  • Learn how to work with a wide variety of special needs to serve students from a variety of backgrounds and levels
  • Fluidly work with the body as a tool to allow students greater comfort in their practice of asana through thinking outside the box with modifications, props, adjustments and alignment

Bhakti, Mythology & Nada Yoga

  • Discover the magic of music, kirtan and chant as part of a complete transformational yoga practice, and how to weave these elements seamlessly into your teaching practice
  • Understand the power of meditation and how to teach it to a wide range of students
  • Explore more deeply the sacred myths of yoga from the Ramayana, the Puranas and other texts

 

Begin your coursework today!

Individual modules may also be taken for continuing education credits.


First Registered April 2012

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Aparna Ravichander Apr 15, 2024

    The Kaivalya yoga method came at a time in my life where attending an in person 300 hour training was not feasible. More importantly, I had trouble finding a teacher training for 300 hours that aligned with the way I teach, and the importance I place on the roots and philosophies of yoga. The Kaivalya method's modules on the myths, yoga sutras, and Gita were really helpful and wonderful dive into the world of yoga philosophy which is so important for teachers. Also, while practicing with the teacher virtually, I found a lot of similarity in the way I teach to the way Alanna teaches so I felt as if I knew her. It was a really great, easily to follow, and intuitive training program,

    • General Comments

      The Kaivalya yoga method came at a time in my life where attending an in person 300 hour training was not feasible. More importantly, I had trouble finding a teacher training for 300 hours that aligned with the way I teach, and the importance I place on the roots and philosophies of yoga. The Kaivalya method's modules on the myths, yoga sutras, and Gita were really helpful and wonderful dive into the world of yoga philosophy which is so important for teachers. Also, while practicing with the teacher virtually, I found a lot of similarity in the way I teach to the way Alanna teaches so I felt as if I knew her. It was a really great, easily to follow, and intuitive training program,
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Consuela Haralambie Apr 08, 2024

    It was a solid course offering relevant and accurate information in various modules with focus on meditation/ yoga philosophy and dharma talks as well as adjustments and I learnt a lot through the online course offered by TKYM. I liked that you had to submit homework and videos to be rated, including research and reading a few books. What I liked the best was the feedback received was always respectful, human and offering valid points - Pam was a great help to me personally and I always knew she was there at the other end checking my progress and giving thoughtful advice. Also the course is very reasonably priced!

    • General Comments

      It was a solid course offering relevant and accurate information in various modules with focus on meditation/ yoga philosophy and dharma talks as well as adjustments and I learnt a lot through the online course offered by TKYM. I liked that you had to submit homework and videos to be rated, including research and reading a few books. What I liked the best was the feedback received was always respectful, human and offering valid points - Pam was a great help to me personally and I always knew she was there at the other end checking my progress and giving thoughtful advice. Also the course is very reasonably priced!
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Apr 08, 2024
    Thank you Consuela! It was a joy working with you and watching you grow! Pamela
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jaime Vlassopulos Mar 28, 2024

    Good online option

    • General Comments

      Good online option
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Apr 08, 2024
    Thank you!
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Angie Morrison Mar 22, 2024

    Alanna is very gifted and an excellent teacher. Her knowledge of yoga history, yoga philosophy, and yoga stories bring an added benefit to the overall training. The modules were easy to access and understand. The feedback was relevant and helpful.

    • General Comments

      Alanna is very gifted and an excellent teacher. Her knowledge of yoga history, yoga philosophy, and yoga stories bring an added benefit to the overall training. The modules were easy to access and understand. The feedback was relevant and helpful.
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Mar 28, 2024
    Thank you so much! Team AlannaK
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Angela Thompson Mar 15, 2024

    Great information, helpful mentors and overall an excellent experience.

    • General Comments

      Great information, helpful mentors and overall an excellent experience.
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Mar 28, 2024
    Thank you Angela so much! This means a lot to the Team! Pamela
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Minoru Saito Mar 05, 2024

    I really liked this school. It was very easy to follow and when I had questions, they responded quickly. Their feedback about my presentations were extremely helpful. Yoga will be my whole life study.

    • General Comments

      I really liked this school. It was very easy to follow and when I had questions, they responded quickly. Their feedback about my presentations were extremely helpful. Yoga will be my whole life study.
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Mar 28, 2024
    As it should be! Even the Great Masters still call it the Practice of Yoga! Yoga will teach you new things everyday! Thank you! Team AlannaK
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Amy Kelley Feb 15, 2024

  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Jessica R Moore Feb 13, 2024

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Yoga with Ri Feb 12, 2024

    Supportive, comprehensive and helpful throughout. Thank you.

    • General Comments

      Supportive, comprehensive and helpful throughout. Thank you.
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Feb 24, 2024
    Thank you for the kind words; they mean a lot to the team!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kim Hirt Feb 09, 2024

    The Kaivalya Yoga Method teaching program was excellent. Alanna was superb in how she teaches. Very detailed and explained very well. I was able to follow along with the videos as if I was actually there. I am looking forward to taking more classes in the near future to solidify my yoga knowledge and training.

    • General Comments

      The Kaivalya Yoga Method teaching program was excellent. Alanna was superb in how she teaches. Very detailed and explained very well. I was able to follow along with the videos as if I was actually there. I am looking forward to taking more classes in the near future to solidify my yoga knowledge and training.
    School response
    The Kaivalya Yoga Method
    Feb 24, 2024
    Thank you, Kim! It was a pleasure to watch you grow through the process! We wish you all the best! Pamela
First Registered April 2012

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 620

By Aparna Ravichander E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

Apr 15, 2024

The Kaivalya yoga method came at a time in my life where attending an in person 300 hour training was not feasible. More importantly, I had trouble finding a teacher training for 300 hours that aligned with the way I teach, and the importance I place on the roots and philosophies of yoga. The Kaivalya method's modules on the myths, yoga sutras, and Gita were really helpful and wonderful dive into the world of yoga philosophy which is so important for teachers. Also, while practicing with the teacher virtually, I found a lot of similarity in the way I teach to the way Alanna teaches so I felt as if I knew her. It was a really great, easily to follow, and intuitive training program, Full Review

By Consuela Haralambie RYT® 500

Apr 08, 2024

It was a solid course offering relevant and accurate information in various modules with focus on meditation/ yoga philosophy and dharma talks as well as adjustments and I learnt a lot through the online course offered by TKYM. I liked that you had to submit homework and videos to be rated, including research and reading a few books. What I liked the best was the feedback received was always respectful, human and offering valid points - Pam was a great help to me personally and I always knew she was there at the other end checking my progress and giving thoughtful advice. Also the course is very reasonably priced! Full Review

All Reviews (620)

Teaching Staff

Pamela Cooper

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Alanna Kaivalya, Ph.D.

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2024 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2024 by Yoga Alliance