Search

The Kaivalya Yoga Method

4.62

Based on 540 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

1014 47th Road

Long Island City, NY, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

English

About The Kaivalya Yoga Method

The Kaivalya Yoga Method has been formulated after over a decade of dedicated study and research and teaching experience. It is a comprehensive compilation of the fundamentals of yoga directed at creating teachers who can translate this ancient practice for a modern-day...

The Kaivalya Yoga Method has been formulated after over a decade of dedicated study and research and teaching experience. It is a comprehensive compilation of the fundamentals of yoga directed at creating teachers who can translate this ancient practice for a modern-day audience while staying true to yoga’s highest aim.

As a graduate, you will receive:

  • A top-quality, advanced level education that exceeds Yoga Alliance standards of training, and is designed to empower today’s teachers to intelligently work with and inspire students
  • Personalized training by Alanna Kaivalya in the fields of Alignment, Philosophy, Teaching Methodology, Sequencing, Psychology, Mythology and more
  • One-on-one instruction in an environment committed to learning, development and real integration and application of skills
  • A comprehensive in-depth manual for each module
  • 200, 300, or 500-hour Registered Yoga Teacher eligibility with Yoga Alliance.

TKYM TRAINING MODULES

Alchemical Sequencing and the Subtle Body

  • Learn and practice applied sequencing techniques with direct focus on the application to yoga practice and working intelligently with students
  • Subtle Anatomy including extensive work with the chakra system for aligning the energetic body
  • Understand how to be creative yet safe within your sequencing while working with the mechanics of the body and seeing through the asana to create sequences that stretch, strengthen and invigorate the whole person
  • Successful teaching skills including: vocal training and concise cueing

Yoga Sutra, Philosophy & Psychology

  • Yoga Philosophy including: Yoga Sutra, Bhagavad Gita, and an exploration of Upanishadic & Puranic texts
  • Learn the basics of depth psychology and its essential addition to the yoga practice in order to aid in more complete psychological and spiritual transformation
  • Understand how to weave the essential philosophy of yoga into your teaching to give students a fuller experience of a holistic, transformational yoga practice

Insightful Alignment and Anatomy

  • Learn the “holes” in asana practice and how to fill them with a deep intelligence of alignment and body mechanics
  • Through the techniques of insightful alignment, you will learn the universal application of intelligent alignment in almost every posture in the asana practice
  • Learn how to work with a wide variety of special needs to serve students from a variety of backgrounds and levels
  • Fluidly work with the body as a tool to allow students greater comfort in their practice of asana through thinking outside the box with modifications, props, adjustments and alignment

Bhakti, Mythology & Nada Yoga

  • Discover the magic of music, kirtan and chant as part of a complete transformational yoga practice, and how to weave these elements seamlessly into your teaching practice
  • Understand the power of meditation and how to teach it to a wide range of students
  • Explore more deeply the sacred myths of yoga from the Ramayana, the Puranas and other texts

 

Begin your coursework today!

Individual modules may also be taken for continuing education credits.


First Registered April 2012

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Blythe Edwards Sep 22, 2022

    This program allowed me to complete my additional yoga training at home which was perfect during COVID. I loved the framework of the program and the support of the teachers and staff.

    • General Comments

      This program allowed me to complete my additional yoga training at home which was perfect during COVID. I loved the framework of the program and the support of the teachers and staff.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tanya Snyder Sep 19, 2022

    The course was extremely well laid out in establishing the foundational knowledge and theory. I would love if there was more opportunity for mentors to connect with students.

    • General Comments

      The course was extremely well laid out in establishing the foundational knowledge and theory. I would love if there was more opportunity for mentors to connect with students.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Wendy K. Miller Sep 13, 2022

    My last review submitted for the 200 RYT included my review of the additional 300. I was very pleased with my 500 RYT education through The Kaivalya Yoga Method.

    • General Comments

      My last review submitted for the 200 RYT included my review of the additional 300. I was very pleased with my 500 RYT education through The Kaivalya Yoga Method.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Wendy K. Miller Aug 29, 2022

    I chose The Kaivalya Yoga Method because it came with the highly accredited Yoga Alliance seal of approval which was important to me. This program also allowed a self study pace which worked well for my schedule as I work part time and raise my family. Alanna is highly educated and knowledgeable in her deep love of yoga. The content is rich in history and the resources are plentiful. I loved diving into Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras and the Bhagavad Gita. I was looking for a practice that went beyond a simple asana. Not only have I enjoyed learning the myths of poses, I am enjoying the benefits of meditation. Mentors are available along the way to help support the self guided study and there are established support groups with other students and graduates one can access during their journey. I am so happy with my progress throughout this program and achieving my RYT500 designation. I look forward to continuing my education through The Kaivalya Yoga Method whether it be through Mythology, Astrology or Spiritual Coaching and beyond. I am now a Kaivalya Yogi Alumni

    • General Comments

      I chose The Kaivalya Yoga Method because it came with the highly accredited Yoga Alliance seal of approval which was important to me. This program also allowed a self study pace which worked well for my schedule as I work part time and raise my family. Alanna is highly educated and knowledgeable in her deep love of yoga. The content is rich in history and the resources are plentiful. I loved diving into Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras and the Bhagavad Gita. I was looking for a practice that went beyond a simple asana. Not only have I enjoyed learning the myths of poses, I am enjoying the benefits of meditation. Mentors are available along the way to help support the self guided study and there are established support groups with other students and graduates one can access during their journey. I am so happy with my progress throughout this program and achieving my RYT500 designation. I look forward to continuing my education through The Kaivalya Yoga Method whether it be through Mythology, Astrology or Spiritual Coaching and beyond. I am now a Kaivalya Yogi Alumni
  • 5 out of 5
    By: D. Denise St. Clair Aug 24, 2022

    The Kaivalya Yoga Method was a great learning experience. Although I had been practicing Yoga for many years, I learned so much about anatomy, alignment, breathwork, Chakras, etc. Alanna and the mentors were amazing and offered superior support throughout the training.

    • General Comments

      The Kaivalya Yoga Method was a great learning experience. Although I had been practicing Yoga for many years, I learned so much about anatomy, alignment, breathwork, Chakras, etc. Alanna and the mentors were amazing and offered superior support throughout the training.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jill Erin Cooperman Aug 09, 2022

    The additional information about anatomy and alignment changed my personal practice and how I assist my students. The deep dive into philosophy changed everything else. I am a huge believer in “never stop learning” and I am grateful to this program for giving that a huge boost when I needed it.

    • General Comments

      The additional information about anatomy and alignment changed my personal practice and how I assist my students. The deep dive into philosophy changed everything else. I am a huge believer in “never stop learning” and I am grateful to this program for giving that a huge boost when I needed it.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Angela Prosser Aug 06, 2022

  • 5 out of 5
    By: LeeAnn Rigau Aug 04, 2022

    I felt that my trainingn was very comprehensive. The addition of myths and legends was much more interesting than expected. The feedback regarding video submissions was extremely helpful.

    • General Comments

      I felt that my trainingn was very comprehensive. The addition of myths and legends was much more interesting than expected. The feedback regarding video submissions was extremely helpful.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kristen Mockler Aug 01, 2022

    The Kaivalya Yoga Method was personable and full of learning material in a self paced, organized learning approach. I found it fun and the feedback to help me grow as a teacher.

    • General Comments

      The Kaivalya Yoga Method was personable and full of learning material in a self paced, organized learning approach. I found it fun and the feedback to help me grow as a teacher.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Holly Osborn Aug 01, 2022

First Registered April 2012

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 540

By Blythe Edwards RYT® 500

Sep 22, 2022

This program allowed me to complete my additional yoga training at home which was perfect during COVID. I loved the framework of the program and the support of the teachers and staff. Full Review

By Tanya Snyder RYT® 200

Sep 19, 2022

The course was extremely well laid out in establishing the foundational knowledge and theory. I would love if there was more opportunity for mentors to connect with students. Full Review

All Reviews (540)

Teaching Staff

Alanna Kaivalya, Ph.D.

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2022 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance