Search

7 Centers Yoga Arts

4.9

Based on 94 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

2115 Mountain Road

Sedona, AZ 86336, USA

Contact Person
Ruth Hartung
928-203-4400

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

About 7 Centers Yoga Arts

The first yoga studio established in Sedona, 7 Centers Yoga Arts is located in a beautiful building reminiscent of Spanish mission architecture. We are known both locally and internationally for our yoga teacher trainings, which emphasize integrating spiritual and health...


The first yoga studio established in Sedona, 7 Centers Yoga Arts is located in a beautiful building reminiscent of Spanish mission architecture. We are known both locally and internationally for our yoga teacher trainings, which emphasize integrating spiritual and health practices into daily life. 7 Centers is licensed by the State of Arizona and our teacher training tracks are certified by Yoga Alliance. We offer Daily Yoga Classes, Personal Retreats, Concerts and Workshops and we warmly welcome locals and visitors from out of town.  To keep in touch with our expanding community, 7 Centers publishes a monthly educational newsletter with great and informative Articles about Ayurveda, Vedic Astrology and tongue-in-cheek Yogic philosophy by the (in)famous Lionheart, our temple cat.

First Registered September 2003

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christen Rak Jan 25, 2014

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sarah Bunting Jan 30, 2014

    The training I received through 7 Centers was exceptional. What I appreciated the most about this program was the emphasis on establishing a foundational understanding of yoga in its entirety- not only asana, but its philosophy, its holistic approach to wellness and its intimate relationship with Ayurveda that makes yoga a true art and science. I sought training out of the desire to better understand the rich tradition that is yoga. My time at 7 Centers not only fed this desire but awakened a fire of the soul to deepen in my studies of yoga and ayurveda, a fire that I have continue to tend and has led me on a beautiful journey. For me, finding yoga, in its wholeness, was like coming home. Up until this training I had yet to encounter an understanding of the world that resonated with my own experience, which was something I yearned for greatly. Through yoga I found myself and my place in the world, through ayurveda I found a way to be in relationship with the world around me. 7 Centers held beautiful space for this process to unfold within me. I am Ayurveda was a focus of this program. It was at this training that I was introduced to Ayurveda and it has now become an integral part of my life, the lens through which I view the world. I have continued on to study Ayurveda, and it greatly informs the yoga I teach and how I work with my clients. I appreciated the simplicity, humility and authenticity I found at 7 Centers. It is a genuine place, of genuine people, genuinely seeking to support balance and wisdom into the world. The month was not without struggle, as is the nature and one of the gifts of trainings of this nature. For me personally, as one who likes to be surrounded by compassion and support, the training at times was difficult in this respect and there were times in the training that I wanted more contact and feedback from the teachers. Looking back on it now, I see it is not so much a comment on the school itself, but on where I was at that time. In hindsight I see this experience offered an opportunity to practice not taking things personally, a practice I struggled with at the time, but was nonetheless grateful for this lesson. I include this not to dissuade folks from attending, but to encourage yoga-teachers- in-training, no matter what school they choose, to work with their training and teachers as a mirror to more clearly perceive yourself. 7 Centers holds space for this practice and does well at knowing when and how to support us in our journey through the training, allowing our tendencies, our samskaras to likewise be purified through the month. 7 Centers is not only a training in the teaching of yoga, the an opportunity to heal, grow, and evolve. I look forward to returning. Namaste, Sarah

    • General Comments

      The training I received through 7 Centers was exceptional. What I appreciated the most about this program was the emphasis on establishing a foundational understanding of yoga in its entirety- not only asana, but its philosophy, its holistic approach to wellness and its intimate relationship with Ayurveda that makes yoga a true art and science. I sought training out of the desire to better understand the rich tradition that is yoga. My time at 7 Centers not only fed this desire but awakened a fire of the soul to deepen in my studies of yoga and ayurveda, a fire that I have continue to tend and has led me on a beautiful journey. For me, finding yoga, in its wholeness, was like coming home. Up until this training I had yet to encounter an understanding of the world that resonated with my own experience, which was something I yearned for greatly. Through yoga I found myself and my place in the world, through ayurveda I found a way to be in relationship with the world around me. 7 Centers held beautiful space for this process to unfold within me. I am Ayurveda was a focus of this program. It was at this training that I was introduced to Ayurveda and it has now become an integral part of my life, the lens through which I view the world. I have continued on to study Ayurveda, and it greatly informs the yoga I teach and how I work with my clients. I appreciated the simplicity, humility and authenticity I found at 7 Centers. It is a genuine place, of genuine people, genuinely seeking to support balance and wisdom into the world. The month was not without struggle, as is the nature and one of the gifts of trainings of this nature. For me personally, as one who likes to be surrounded by compassion and support, the training at times was difficult in this respect and there were times in the training that I wanted more contact and feedback from the teachers. Looking back on it now, I see it is not so much a comment on the school itself, but on where I was at that time. In hindsight I see this experience offered an opportunity to practice not taking things personally, a practice I struggled with at the time, but was nonetheless grateful for this lesson. I include this not to dissuade folks from attending, but to encourage yoga-teachers- in-training, no matter what school they choose, to work with their training and teachers as a mirror to more clearly perceive yourself. 7 Centers holds space for this practice and does well at knowing when and how to support us in our journey through the training, allowing our tendencies, our samskaras to likewise be purified through the month. 7 Centers is not only a training in the teaching of yoga, the an opportunity to heal, grow, and evolve. I look forward to returning. Namaste, Sarah
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nathaniel Gilbert Feb 13, 2014

    7 Centers has a great Yoga Teacher Training program. The program is both challenging and nourishing. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in all aspects of yoga for one month.

    • General Comments

      7 Centers has a great Yoga Teacher Training program. The program is both challenging and nourishing. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in all aspects of yoga for one month.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Mally Paquette Apr 12, 2014

    7 Centers offers a rich and traditional curriculum.. It was an authentic facility with very qualified teachers. I would highly recommend them!

    • General Comments

      7 Centers offers a rich and traditional curriculum.. It was an authentic facility with very qualified teachers. I would highly recommend them!
  • 3.5 out of 5
    By: Terry Gupta May 14, 2014

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brianna Green May 28, 2014

    Attending 7 Centers was the best decision of my life. I feel that the program not only qualified me to teach yoga but also gave me the tools for self exploration, healing, and peace. I have and will continue to promote this program to anyone interested in improving every single aspect of their being.

    • General Comments

      Attending 7 Centers was the best decision of my life. I feel that the program not only qualified me to teach yoga but also gave me the tools for self exploration, healing, and peace. I have and will continue to promote this program to anyone interested in improving every single aspect of their being.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rhonda Barnhill Jun 07, 2014

    I chose the right school. I will absolutely go back for more training at 7 Centers Sedona. They have put together an amazing very well rounded program that contains all aspects and limbs of yoga and beyond that supports the learning process. 7 Centers and the amazing, very well qualified teachers and staff bring their best to the students so the students have the necessary safe, supportive container needed to learn and grow. I honestly can't say enough about my life changing experience there, I am very fond of my school and teachers and support staff. -Rhonda Barnhill, CMT, RYT200

    • General Comments

      I chose the right school. I will absolutely go back for more training at 7 Centers Sedona. They have put together an amazing very well rounded program that contains all aspects and limbs of yoga and beyond that supports the learning process. 7 Centers and the amazing, very well qualified teachers and staff bring their best to the students so the students have the necessary safe, supportive container needed to learn and grow. I honestly can't say enough about my life changing experience there, I am very fond of my school and teachers and support staff. -Rhonda Barnhill, CMT, RYT200
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sean Neesley Jun 09, 2014

    Amazingly rich learning experience at 7 Centers, the staff, the program, the schedule all completely blew my expectations and have proved invaluable for my evolution as a yoga teacher and as a human being. I would recommend 7 Centers Yoga Arts to anyone interested in a true study and understanding of yoga in its purest form.

    • General Comments

      Amazingly rich learning experience at 7 Centers, the staff, the program, the schedule all completely blew my expectations and have proved invaluable for my evolution as a yoga teacher and as a human being. I would recommend 7 Centers Yoga Arts to anyone interested in a true study and understanding of yoga in its purest form.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Rachael Roehl Jul 28, 2014

    I loved both this school and program - I hope to return to do more trainings with 7 Centers Yoga Arts; it was transformational!

    • General Comments

      I loved both this school and program - I hope to return to do more trainings with 7 Centers Yoga Arts; it was transformational!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Janet Peukert Aug 09, 2014

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered September 2003

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 94

By Lorie Garver RYT® 200

Feb 12, 2018

7 Centers Yoga Arts provided a rigorous and comprehensive teacher training that allowed me to deepen my knowledge in so many areas and expand my own spiritual growth, along with the pedagogy and practice during our five weeks together to become a confident teacher. The staff was outstanding! It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that I treasure. Full Review

By Cara Clatanoff RYT® 200

Feb 07, 2018

I had a truly educational, inspirational, and transformational experience at 7 Centers. All instructors and staff were knowledgeable, experienced, and supportive. I am equipped with invaluable new skills and knowledge to approach my teaching of yoga as well as my personal practice. I especially enjoyed learning about traditional yoga philosophy, cleanses, pranayama, Ayurveda, and Vedic Astrology alongside learning about the yoga asanas, alignment of poses and anatomy. I still can't believe how much I learned in just a month. I am eternally grateful to 7 Centers for this experience! Full Review

All Reviews (94)

Teaching Staff

Ana Hansen

E-RYT® 200, RCYT®

Ruth Hartung

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Taylor Kurz

RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (3)
Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2018 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.
Copyright 2018 by Yoga Alliance