Search

Yoga Vida

4.76

Based on 274 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

99 University Place

New York, NY, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

About Yoga Vida

Mission   To build a community that supports healthier, happier lives.   Philosophy   At our studios we make yoga accessible and inclusive - without judgment, pressure or demands.  This is yoga for everyone!   The Yoga Vida method connects purposeful...

Mission

 

To build a community that supports healthier, happier lives.

 

Philosophy

 

At our studios we make yoga accessible and inclusive - without judgment, pressure or demands.  This is yoga for everyone!

 

The Yoga Vida method connects purposeful movements with conscious breath.  Our educational approach improves body awareness and promotes individual choice.  We present yoga in a way that helps you think independently so you can incorporate what you learn into your life beyond the mat.

Our classes may give you a sweet set of abs and a well-contoured backside, but these are merely physical benefits of a consistent practice.  Walking on your hands and touching your toes are discoveries along the path - not the destination.

 

In a traditional sense, yoga seeks peace of mind and happiness.  Asana alone may not get you there, but it opens the door to awareness in all forms.  At Yoga Vida, we use physical practice as an entry point to a calm, steady, and undisturbed mind.

 

We are committed to beginning and continuing your education with quality yoga at an affordable price.

 

History

 

Founded in 2009 by a Princeton University economics graduate, college ice hockey player, Wall Street broker turned yogi - Mike Patton.  And by an NYU alumna, former professional dancer, Extra TV correspondent, mother, yoga teacher, and wellness expert Hilaria Baldwin.

First Registered August 2011

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Lucile Hernandez Rodriguez Jul 27, 2021

    I'm so grateful to have done my training with Yoga Vida and I recommend it to everyone looking for a 500 hour yoga training!

    • General Comments

      I'm so grateful to have done my training with Yoga Vida and I recommend it to everyone looking for a 500 hour yoga training!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Amanda Collins Jul 03, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jamal Hansberry May 19, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Hannah Shepherd May 12, 2021

    Yoga Vida's online Yoga Teacher Training was invaluable! I have been a life-long yogi and truly felt what it means to "deepen your practice" through this training. All of the content was extremely well thought and compiled and the weekend sessions were great to meet other people and build a virtual community. Notably, the weekend sessions were great for some alignment diagnostics and the modules were incredibly well described I didn't feel like I was missing out on in-person adjustments. I have two very young children, one of which was 3 months old when I started the program, and a full time corporate job and found the program to be manageable. The teachers are supportive and the program allowed us all a few weeks post-graduation to finalize any missed modules. I look forward to more trainings with Yoga Vida!

    • General Comments

      Yoga Vida's online Yoga Teacher Training was invaluable! I have been a life-long yogi and truly felt what it means to "deepen your practice" through this training. All of the content was extremely well thought and compiled and the weekend sessions were great to meet other people and build a virtual community. Notably, the weekend sessions were great for some alignment diagnostics and the modules were incredibly well described I didn't feel like I was missing out on in-person adjustments. I have two very young children, one of which was 3 months old when I started the program, and a full time corporate job and found the program to be manageable. The teachers are supportive and the program allowed us all a few weeks post-graduation to finalize any missed modules. I look forward to more trainings with Yoga Vida!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katherine Feeney Apr 21, 2021

    Overall, Yoga Vida did a fantastic job with their 200hr Teacher Training. I would highly recommend to anyone who is interested.

    • General Comments

      Overall, Yoga Vida did a fantastic job with their 200hr Teacher Training. I would highly recommend to anyone who is interested.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Hannah DeFranzo Apr 20, 2021

    Each instructor with Yoga Vida's teacher training program offered their own unique perspectives, knowledge, and talents, each inspiring me in different aspects and providing a holistic experience for the group.

    • General Comments

      Each instructor with Yoga Vida's teacher training program offered their own unique perspectives, knowledge, and talents, each inspiring me in different aspects and providing a holistic experience for the group.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brooke Savona Apr 17, 2021

    Amidst a pandemic, Yoga Vida was committed to continuing its Yoga Teacher Training to students all over the world and I am so grateful. They found a way to gracefully pivot the program from in-person learning to virtual and I feel like all of us were able to get that same sense of community, bonding and learning that we would have if it was held in the studio. This was a great experience for me and I am forever grateful that it has become the beginning of what i hope is a very long yoga journey for me.

    • General Comments

      Amidst a pandemic, Yoga Vida was committed to continuing its Yoga Teacher Training to students all over the world and I am so grateful. They found a way to gracefully pivot the program from in-person learning to virtual and I feel like all of us were able to get that same sense of community, bonding and learning that we would have if it was held in the studio. This was a great experience for me and I am forever grateful that it has become the beginning of what i hope is a very long yoga journey for me.
  • The teachers are authentic, patient, and highly knowledgeable!

    • General Comments

      The teachers are authentic, patient, and highly knowledgeable!
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Ashley Ann Jones Mar 29, 2021

    Yoga Vida had a great program. The module set up was nice and made it easier to schedule and make payments. The only thing I wish is that they offered all of the courses on a regular basis. Sometimes the anatomy course and the Iyengar course wouldn't come around for over a year. So that was disappointing. Other than that the subjects of study were great, the teachers were great, and I met a lot of wonderful people!

    • General Comments

      Yoga Vida had a great program. The module set up was nice and made it easier to schedule and make payments. The only thing I wish is that they offered all of the courses on a regular basis. Sometimes the anatomy course and the Iyengar course wouldn't come around for over a year. So that was disappointing. Other than that the subjects of study were great, the teachers were great, and I met a lot of wonderful people!
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Gerold Koch Mar 13, 2021

    Great school and teachers. Very high standard of quality training. Great balance between spirituality and real life aspects.

    • General Comments

      Great school and teachers. Very high standard of quality training. Great balance between spirituality and real life aspects.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2011

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 274

By Lucile Hernandez Rodriguez RYT® 500, RPYT®

Jul 27, 2021

I'm so grateful to have done my training with Yoga Vida and I recommend it to everyone looking for a 500 hour yoga training! Full Review

By Amanda Collins RYT® 200

Jul 03, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (274)

Teaching Staff

Lindsay Hilscher

E-RYT® 500

Clare Ryan

E-RYT® 200, RPYT®, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance