Search

Yoga West

4.89

Based on 14 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 10/10


Connect with Us

Unit GE, 33 - 34 Westpoint, Warple Way

Acton, London, UK

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

English

About Yoga West

We are a community studio based in between Acton, Chiswick and Shepherd’s Bush in an old art-deco factory. It’s a beautiful building, and a simple and beautiful space. We run around 60 classes a week in a range of styles for a variety of levels. We’re delighted to launch...

We are a community studio based in between Acton, Chiswick and Shepherd’s Bush in an old art-deco factory. It’s a beautiful building, and a simple and beautiful space. We run around 60 classes a week in a range of styles for a variety of levels.

We’re delighted to launch our long-awaited Yoga West teacher training in April 2020. The training will take place over alternate weekends for 11 weeks and will include two longer intensives over the May bank holidays. Creating the training has been an opportunity for the team and teachers here at Yoga West to design our dream programme, and we’d like to invite you to join us on this journey.

We’re working with a fantastic group of experienced senior teachers. The training will be organised in the same way all events and courses are organised at the studio. Well-organised and professional, but run in a fun and friendly manner. It is an incredible platform for transformation and growth, but we hope our friendly, informal and thoughtful approach means you always feel supported and have lots of fun along the way.

Our teacher training is about more than just yoga. It lays the foundations for personal transformation. The training will combine the ancient wisdom of yoga and meditation practices and integrate this with group work and self-enquiry and analysis guided by a practicing psychotherapist. You will leave the training with a far deeper and more powerful understanding of yourself and a much better set of tools to live your best life every day.

The training will deepen your understanding of the yoga practice you already know and love. Working with some of the most experienced and inspirational yoga teachers you will learn more about the origins of yoga and its philosophical underpinnings: enabling you to be a better yoga student.

You will leave this training with the knowledge, practical skills and experience, and inspiration to deliver extraordinary classes and share your love of yoga with others.

Yoga West is a Registered Yoga School (RYS) with Yoga Alliance, which designates this teacher training program as one which follows Yoga Alliance’s standards. Students who complete a verified training with this school may be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as Registered Yoga Teachers (RYTs).

First Registered January 2020

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: sharon long Oct 17, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Anna Bing Sep 19, 2021

    This is a fantastic training school. The teachers and staff are exceptional. They are knowledgeable, kind and supportive. You couldn’t ask for more. The curriculum is broad and in depth, exploring meditation, anatomy, pranayama, philosophy, ashtanga and vinyasa. The real selling point is the focus on personal growth and transformation which was a golden thread across all teachers and sessions. Fantastic fantastic course.

    • General Comments

      This is a fantastic training school. The teachers and staff are exceptional. They are knowledgeable, kind and supportive. You couldn’t ask for more. The curriculum is broad and in depth, exploring meditation, anatomy, pranayama, philosophy, ashtanga and vinyasa. The real selling point is the focus on personal growth and transformation which was a golden thread across all teachers and sessions. Fantastic fantastic course.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Sep 20, 2021
    Dear Anna, thank you for your generous review and for your incredible contribution on this year's training. It really was a joy.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Roubina Tchoboian Aug 14, 2021

    Well-rounded teacher training with amazing teachers.

    • General Comments

      Well-rounded teacher training with amazing teachers.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Sep 20, 2021
    Dear Roubina, we loved having you on the training. Thank you.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sybil Devlin Aug 09, 2021

    Incredibly good training, really tailored to the individual and conscious of different motivations to take the training. I couldn't recommend Yoga West or their Teacher Training programme more.

    • General Comments

      Incredibly good training, really tailored to the individual and conscious of different motivations to take the training. I couldn't recommend Yoga West or their Teacher Training programme more.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Sep 20, 2021
    Dear Sybil, thank you for your wonderful review and the energy and commitment you brought to the training.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: James Muthana Aug 09, 2021

  • Great inspiring teachers, very well organised and capable of dealing with the Covid challenges, wonderful group of fellow students.

    • General Comments

      Great inspiring teachers, very well organised and capable of dealing with the Covid challenges, wonderful group of fellow students.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Sep 02, 2020
    Dear Eugenie, It was a pleasure to see you grow as a teacher over the training. Thank you for joining us at such an uncertain time.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Jay Jolley Aug 17, 2020

    A very professionally run programme. Incredible teachers who set a very high standard for any student aspire to. A very positive experience.

    • General Comments

      A very professionally run programme. Incredible teachers who set a very high standard for any student aspire to. A very positive experience.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Sep 02, 2020
    Dear Jay, Thanks for your review and your energy on the training. It was a pleasure to train alongside you.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Yildiz Atan Jul 27, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sandra Nikolic Jul 27, 2020

    The course was outstanding in every way, from the expertise and dedication of all the teachers, to the depth and breadth of the curriculum, to the thoughtfulness and willingness of everyone involved to be helpful and flexible at what was an extremely challenging time, as the country was in full lockdown for all but the last two weekends. The training was conducted over Zoom which I thought might compromise the quality of the experience. Not only did it not compromise it but as it turned out it was very useful, given that so much teaching in future will be done on Zoom. However we also met in small groups outside to practise teaching in person once that was allowed, so got the best of both worlds, and our last few days of training were done in person which was wonderful. We were taught how to teach asanas in incredible depth and detail by Jeff Phenix - he made it look easy which of course it isn't but his relaxed and easy going style made it a pleasure to learn. Christian Coelho not only made the philosophy and history of yoga completely accessible and fascinating but also taught inspirational vinyasa sequencing. Zeena Kalisperides brilliantly demystified ashtanga and in doing so converted several students to this hugely rewarding practice. She also marked our essays and our workshops and gave detailed individual feedback, which must have been enormously time consuming but was a demonstration of her constant attention and care to detail - a trademark in fact of the entire course. The meditation and pranayama sections by Pete Cherry were extraordinarily good, as was the anatomy section with Cal Wansbrough, both experts in their fields. In addition there were fascinating sections on communication and use of voice; the business of yoga; and two days with a psychotherapist - one at the beginning and one near the end - to support the personal transformational element of the course and to give us some insight into mental health issues. The regular book club sessions not only helped us bond as a group but also deepened our knowledge of the philosophy of yoga, as we covered seminal texts. In fact one of the best elements of this course is that the philosophy of yoga underpinned everything - we learned so much more than simply how to teach postures. It was an intense, demanding but incredibly enriching experience. I wholeheartedly recommend Yoga West YTT.

    • General Comments

      The course was outstanding in every way, from the expertise and dedication of all the teachers, to the depth and breadth of the curriculum, to the thoughtfulness and willingness of everyone involved to be helpful and flexible at what was an extremely challenging time, as the country was in full lockdown for all but the last two weekends. The training was conducted over Zoom which I thought might compromise the quality of the experience. Not only did it not compromise it but as it turned out it was very useful, given that so much teaching in future will be done on Zoom. However we also met in small groups outside to practise teaching in person once that was allowed, so got the best of both worlds, and our last few days of training were done in person which was wonderful. We were taught how to teach asanas in incredible depth and detail by Jeff Phenix - he made it look easy which of course it isn't but his relaxed and easy going style made it a pleasure to learn. Christian Coelho not only made the philosophy and history of yoga completely accessible and fascinating but also taught inspirational vinyasa sequencing. Zeena Kalisperides brilliantly demystified ashtanga and in doing so converted several students to this hugely rewarding practice. She also marked our essays and our workshops and gave detailed individual feedback, which must have been enormously time consuming but was a demonstration of her constant attention and care to detail - a trademark in fact of the entire course. The meditation and pranayama sections by Pete Cherry were extraordinarily good, as was the anatomy section with Cal Wansbrough, both experts in their fields. In addition there were fascinating sections on communication and use of voice; the business of yoga; and two days with a psychotherapist - one at the beginning and one near the end - to support the personal transformational element of the course and to give us some insight into mental health issues. The regular book club sessions not only helped us bond as a group but also deepened our knowledge of the philosophy of yoga, as we covered seminal texts. In fact one of the best elements of this course is that the philosophy of yoga underpinned everything - we learned so much more than simply how to teach postures. It was an intense, demanding but incredibly enriching experience. I wholeheartedly recommend Yoga West YTT.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Jul 28, 2020
    Dear Sandra, thank you for your very generous, powerful review. Any response to such a detailed review would probably be inadequate so perhaps I will simply say thank you for your diligence and great contribution to the training. Yours, James
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Surbhi Monga Jul 22, 2020

    It’s been a huge transformation journey doing this course with Yoga West. Great teachers and wonderfully designed course. A big thank you.

    • General Comments

      It’s been a huge transformation journey doing this course with Yoga West. Great teachers and wonderfully designed course. A big thank you.
    School response
    Yoga West
    Jul 23, 2020
    Dear Surbhi, Thank you for your feedback and kind words. We're really glad you decided to join our group on this training and thank you for your diligence and commitment and your generosity with your own knowledge throughout.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Yoga Therapy Policy in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered January 2020

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 14

By sharon long RYT® 200

Oct 17, 2021

Full Review

By Anna Bing RYT® 200

Sep 19, 2021

This is a fantastic training school. The teachers and staff are exceptional. They are knowledgeable, kind and supportive. You couldn’t ask for more. The curriculum is broad and in depth, exploring meditation, anatomy, pranayama, philosophy, ashtanga and vinyasa. The real selling point is the focus on personal growth and transformation which was a golden thread across all teachers and sessions. Fantastic fantastic course. Full Review

All Reviews (14)

Teaching Staff

Christian Coelho

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Austin Ince

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jeffri Phenix

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (3)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance