Search

Yoga Lab

5

Based on 32 reviews

What is a School Review?


NPS Score 10/10


Connect with Us

124 McAllister Alley

State College, PA, United States

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

English, Chinese, Spanish

About Yoga Lab

Yoga is an opportunity to know yourself better. Only you can become the world’s leading expert on your life—but first you must learn how to observe yourself and how you work. In yoga, you are the laboratory. We created Yoga Lab as a supportive environment where people...

Yoga is an opportunity to know yourself better. Only you can become the world’s leading expert on your life—but first you must learn how to observe yourself and how you work. In yoga, you are the laboratory. We created Yoga Lab as a supportive environment where people can gather and share in the spirit of learning, self-discovery, and continued growth. 

The teachers at Yoga Lab believe that a consistent, sustainable yoga practice can make us all happier, healthier, stronger, and more balanced individuals while at the same time improving the community in which we live. Together we share a common interest in anatomy and functional movement, and in combining Western science with Eastern wisdom. We are committed to teaching a sustainable yoga practice that integrates and enriches the body, mind, and soul. Our goal at Yoga Lab is to guide you in the process of self-discovery. By learning how to calm your mind, reduce anxiety and stress, and tap into your physical and mental strength, you will be better prepared to confront whatever challenges you face in your life, both on and off the mat.

Yoga Lab offers a wide range of classes including Gentle Yoga, Meditation, Level 1-2, and epic Level 2-3 classes for advanced practitioners.  Special workshops such as Intro to Yoga, Partner Yoga, etc. are announced as special events.  


Intro Special: $15 for 1 week of Unlimited Yoga Classes.

Amazing deals on unlimited yoga passes for PSU students & State College Locals!

Yoga Lab Member Perks:
* 10% off retail items, clothing, and yoga gear at Yoga Lab
* 10% off Yoga Lab workshops
* Guest passes to bring your friends to yoga for free
* 10% off at excellent local businesses such as: 
- Appalachian Outdoors
- Webster's Bookstore & Cafe
- Anthym
- Pita Cabana
- Kaarma Indian
- Yummy Cafe
- Integrated Body Works (Massage Therapy)
- Green Bowl

First Registered March 2016

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Latisha Franklin Oct 20, 2021

    Yoga Lab places emphasizes the importance of listening to your body and practicing yoga in a safe manner. The trainers are flexible and willing to answer any questions a person may have.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Lab places emphasizes the importance of listening to your body and practicing yoga in a safe manner. The trainers are flexible and willing to answer any questions a person may have.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Fernanda Lugo Sep 12, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Melissa E. Mercado Aug 31, 2021

    Yoga Lab is true to their mission. They provide a safe space for individuals to discover themselves while educating them in a vinyasa-flow based style with a strong foundation in functional movement and comprehensive anatomy lessons. I enjoyed our discussions in yoga philosophy and learning about meditation. I was left with plenty of resources to continue my exploration in yoga. I hope they can continue providing a virtual platform. Shoutout to all of my teachers this summer, thank you for sharing your knowledge and wisdom this summer.

    • General Comments

      Yoga Lab is true to their mission. They provide a safe space for individuals to discover themselves while educating them in a vinyasa-flow based style with a strong foundation in functional movement and comprehensive anatomy lessons. I enjoyed our discussions in yoga philosophy and learning about meditation. I was left with plenty of resources to continue my exploration in yoga. I hope they can continue providing a virtual platform. Shoutout to all of my teachers this summer, thank you for sharing your knowledge and wisdom this summer.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Isabella Webster Aug 30, 2021

    Truly an exceptional yoga teacher training! All the teachers are knowledgeable beyond anything I could have ever hoped for and were able to effectively and meaningfully convey such a large body of material through online platforms! I cannot recommend Yoga Lab enough either for general practice or any sort of training!

    • General Comments

      Truly an exceptional yoga teacher training! All the teachers are knowledgeable beyond anything I could have ever hoped for and were able to effectively and meaningfully convey such a large body of material through online platforms! I cannot recommend Yoga Lab enough either for general practice or any sort of training!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katy Stager Aug 26, 2021

    The 200 he YTT program through Yoga Lab of State College FAR exceeded my expectations. The team of teachers is professional, knowledgeable and ALWAYS available for questions or learning outside of scheduled class time. The content and pace of the course was excellent and well-planned for working parents (like myself) and graduate students. I am really looking forward to taking part in their up and coming 300 hr YTT program. Yoga Lab gets a 5 star rating from me!

    • General Comments

      The 200 he YTT program through Yoga Lab of State College FAR exceeded my expectations. The team of teachers is professional, knowledgeable and ALWAYS available for questions or learning outside of scheduled class time. The content and pace of the course was excellent and well-planned for working parents (like myself) and graduate students. I am really looking forward to taking part in their up and coming 300 hr YTT program. Yoga Lab gets a 5 star rating from me!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Xiaohong Yin Jul 10, 2020

    The teacher training program at Yoga Lab was amazing. Teachers were kind and knowledgeable. We covered many aspects of yoga including anatomy and philosophy. I would highly recommend this training to others.

    • General Comments

      The teacher training program at Yoga Lab was amazing. Teachers were kind and knowledgeable. We covered many aspects of yoga including anatomy and philosophy. I would highly recommend this training to others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Christina Pillot May 31, 2020

    The Yoga Lab teachers are kind, thoughtful, creative, engaging, supportive, and informed. During yoga teacher training, they led us skillfully through a challenging time, converting to online learning with a positive and encouraging attitude. I have the highest respect for my teachers and classmates and treasure the personal and professional growth...and my new friends.

    • General Comments

      The Yoga Lab teachers are kind, thoughtful, creative, engaging, supportive, and informed. During yoga teacher training, they led us skillfully through a challenging time, converting to online learning with a positive and encouraging attitude. I have the highest respect for my teachers and classmates and treasure the personal and professional growth...and my new friends.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Collette Learn May 30, 2020

    The teacher training course at yoga lab was an amazing experience. We received education in the many aspects that make up yoga from all of the co-founders, each bringing their own expertise, experience & passion. I am grateful for the knowledge & kindness they all shared with me!

    • General Comments

      The teacher training course at yoga lab was an amazing experience. We received education in the many aspects that make up yoga from all of the co-founders, each bringing their own expertise, experience & passion. I am grateful for the knowledge & kindness they all shared with me!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brendan Plunkett May 29, 2020
    Training Program held on Aug 10, 2018—Oct 04, 2018

    Lara’s Heimann’s LYT yoga teacher training took my teaching to a whole other level cosmically.

    • General Comments

      Lara’s Heimann’s LYT yoga teacher training took my teaching to a whole other level cosmically.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Katie Travis May 26, 2020

    The overall training, but specifically the training on Anatomy is beyond what I ever could have expected. Each teacher gives SO much of their time and energy towards the YTT students. I'm so grateful for this life-changing program. They have inspired me to simply want to learn more and to be the best knowledge-based teacher I can be.

    • General Comments

      The overall training, but specifically the training on Anatomy is beyond what I ever could have expected. Each teacher gives SO much of their time and energy towards the YTT students. I'm so grateful for this life-changing program. They have inspired me to simply want to learn more and to be the best knowledge-based teacher I can be.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Yoga Therapy Policy in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered March 2016

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 32

By Latisha Franklin RYT® 200

Oct 20, 2021

Yoga Lab places emphasizes the importance of listening to your body and practicing yoga in a safe manner. The trainers are flexible and willing to answer any questions a person may have. Full Review

By Fernanda Lugo RYT® 200

Sep 12, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (32)

Teaching Staff

Kristen Boccumini

E-RYT® 500, RPYT®, YACEP®

Anna Engels

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Dr. Jeremy David Engels

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Brendan Plunkett

E-RYT® 200, YACEP®

Laura Van Velsor

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance