Search

Bienestar Yoga

4.61

Based on 31 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

Camino a Playa Chamán, Uvita, Costa Rica

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

english

About Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala

We offer classes in Yoga that focus on basic postures, breathe, awareness and meditation techniques in order to develop strength, flexibility of the body, mental clarity and a general sense of wellbeing. We respect the differences and needs of each individual in-group...

We offer classes in Yoga that focus on basic postures, breathe, awareness and meditation techniques in order to develop strength, flexibility of the body, mental clarity and a general sense of wellbeing. We respect the differences and needs of each individual in-group or private practice. Yoga is an ever deepening and expanding discipline, which through regular practice unite body, breathe and mind. You are never to out of shape, overweight, to old or to ill to benefit from yoga that is taught specifically for your conditions.
We offer 200 Yoga Teacher Training programs and Continuing Education Classes for yoga teachers at all levels.
So we gather on a wooden platform under the rainforest trees, surrounded by nature, a short walk to the beach, to offer you yoga, meditation, mindfulness, serenity and at times, crazy joy and allot of laughter.                                                                                   www.bienestarlife.com

First Registered August 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kelly Berkley Jun 22, 2021
    Training Program held on May 24, 2021—Jun 19, 2021

    Lura really dedicates herself to her yoga teacher trainings and provides an environment that allows you to fully focus on the program and learning. She is rooted in science, sharing evidence-based information, and takes care to attribute all information provided to credible resources. She values teaching more traditional yoga while adding in any modifications brought about by modern science. She values the teaching process and teaching asanas safely. This is evidenced in many ways but perhaps the most obvious and telling is by the fact that she keeps her yoga teacher trainings to 6 people or fewer so that she can truly teach each individual. By doing this, she is also teaching you how to teach each asana in a safe way. You'll be able to provide people with better instruction on how to do each asana as well as recognize when someone needs a modification because everyone's body is different. Her yoga teacher training is also 28 days which is longer than most in the Americas (from what I saw when I was researching yoga teacher trainings in the west) which I think shows her commitment to doing the training justice. She is a yoga therapist and places a high emphasis on well-being over being able to twist yourself into a pretzel. She also taught yoga history in a way that I finally understood all the different schools of thought and how it all fits together (what came first, what grew out of what, where different ideas and approaches came from, etc). I also appreciated that she addressed the fact that guru's/teachers can lose their way and not to follow blindly. Because of the small class size we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and get truly individualized feedback and attention. Even with the pranayama, she was observing how we were each breathing and provide feedback. I don't see how that type of thing would have been possible with a large class. The anatomy teacher, Julie, is a physical therapist who is new to teaching anatomy to yoga students but she was a total natural at it. We all looked forward to her class. I was grateful to learn anatomy from her. She really cared to make sure you understood the material and took care to make it digestible for a beginner. If she saw a confused look on my face she would stop her lecture and, in a caring way, ask me if I had a question. She made it a very comfortable and effective learning environment. I learned so much from her. As a fun aside, she evaluated each of us for our stance, our feet, the state of our shoe treads and let us know if we each wore the right type of shoe for our individual physical needs. I feel really good about what I learned from her and found it all very interesting! I would have enjoyed having even more than the required 20 hours of anatomy. Stephanie made the delicious breakfasts and lunches and has really good energy! She was a pleasure! I am vegan and celiac and another girl in the program had a nut and banana allergy so we really put them to the test but they handled it all with ease and I really enjoyed the food! It is important to Lura to provide her students with whole foods (no processed foods) and mostly organic meals. It felt great and I learned some new recipes. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions about my experience at Bienestar.

    • General Comments

      Lura really dedicates herself to her yoga teacher trainings and provides an environment that allows you to fully focus on the program and learning. She is rooted in science, sharing evidence-based information, and takes care to attribute all information provided to credible resources. She values teaching more traditional yoga while adding in any modifications brought about by modern science. She values the teaching process and teaching asanas safely. This is evidenced in many ways but perhaps the most obvious and telling is by the fact that she keeps her yoga teacher trainings to 6 people or fewer so that she can truly teach each individual. By doing this, she is also teaching you how to teach each asana in a safe way. You'll be able to provide people with better instruction on how to do each asana as well as recognize when someone needs a modification because everyone's body is different. Her yoga teacher training is also 28 days which is longer than most in the Americas (from what I saw when I was researching yoga teacher trainings in the west) which I think shows her commitment to doing the training justice. She is a yoga therapist and places a high emphasis on well-being over being able to twist yourself into a pretzel. She also taught yoga history in a way that I finally understood all the different schools of thought and how it all fits together (what came first, what grew out of what, where different ideas and approaches came from, etc). I also appreciated that she addressed the fact that guru's/teachers can lose their way and not to follow blindly. Because of the small class size we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and get truly individualized feedback and attention. Even with the pranayama, she was observing how we were each breathing and provide feedback. I don't see how that type of thing would have been possible with a large class. The anatomy teacher, Julie, is a physical therapist who is new to teaching anatomy to yoga students but she was a total natural at it. We all looked forward to her class. I was grateful to learn anatomy from her. She really cared to make sure you understood the material and took care to make it digestible for a beginner. If she saw a confused look on my face she would stop her lecture and, in a caring way, ask me if I had a question. She made it a very comfortable and effective learning environment. I learned so much from her. As a fun aside, she evaluated each of us for our stance, our feet, the state of our shoe treads and let us know if we each wore the right type of shoe for our individual physical needs. I feel really good about what I learned from her and found it all very interesting! I would have enjoyed having even more than the required 20 hours of anatomy. Stephanie made the delicious breakfasts and lunches and has really good energy! She was a pleasure! I am vegan and celiac and another girl in the program had a nut and banana allergy so we really put them to the test but they handled it all with ease and I really enjoyed the food! It is important to Lura to provide her students with whole foods (no processed foods) and mostly organic meals. It felt great and I learned some new recipes. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions about my experience at Bienestar.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 18, 2021
    Kelly, I thank you for being so thorough. I always appreciate a positive review but you really laid out the whole experience for others to see here. Thats incredibly valuable to me and to others looking at the program. It was kind and thoughtful of you to take as much time as you must have to look at the whole experience. It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope I will see you here or in the U.S. for continuing education. Lura
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 31

By Jessie Reiff RYT® 200

Aug 25, 2021

My training at Uvita Yoga Shala was everything I expected and more. I am so grateful to have been taught and mentored by Lura. The experience was truly life changing. I really loved Lura's philosophy on Yoga, I left feeling more than prepared and confident to teach. Full Review

By Kellen Stutes RYT® 200

Jun 24, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (31)

Teaching Staff

Lura Doebler Shopteau

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance