Search

Bienestar Yoga

4.61

Based on 31 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

Camino a Playa Chamán, Uvita, Costa Rica

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

english

About Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala

We offer classes in Yoga that focus on basic postures, breathe, awareness and meditation techniques in order to develop strength, flexibility of the body, mental clarity and a general sense of wellbeing. We respect the differences and needs of each individual in-group...

We offer classes in Yoga that focus on basic postures, breathe, awareness and meditation techniques in order to develop strength, flexibility of the body, mental clarity and a general sense of wellbeing. We respect the differences and needs of each individual in-group or private practice. Yoga is an ever deepening and expanding discipline, which through regular practice unite body, breathe and mind. You are never to out of shape, overweight, to old or to ill to benefit from yoga that is taught specifically for your conditions.
We offer 200 Yoga Teacher Training programs and Continuing Education Classes for yoga teachers at all levels.
So we gather on a wooden platform under the rainforest trees, surrounded by nature, a short walk to the beach, to offer you yoga, meditation, mindfulness, serenity and at times, crazy joy and allot of laughter.                                                                                   www.bienestarlife.com

First Registered August 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jessie Reiff Aug 25, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—May 02, 2021

    My training at Uvita Yoga Shala was everything I expected and more. I am so grateful to have been taught and mentored by Lura. The experience was truly life changing. I really loved Lura's philosophy on Yoga, I left feeling more than prepared and confident to teach.

    • General Comments

      My training at Uvita Yoga Shala was everything I expected and more. I am so grateful to have been taught and mentored by Lura. The experience was truly life changing. I really loved Lura's philosophy on Yoga, I left feeling more than prepared and confident to teach.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Aug 25, 2021
    Thank you Jessie. Your were a a great group, you all worked hard and stayed focused on both your self work and your teaching skills. I know you are starting school again and I hope the yoga will become a part of your new endeavors. I will see you again here or in the US.
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Kellen Stutes Jun 24, 2021
    Training Program held on May 24, 2021—Jun 19, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kelly Berkley Jun 22, 2021
    Training Program held on May 24, 2021—Jun 19, 2021

    Lura really dedicates herself to her yoga teacher trainings and provides an environment that allows you to fully focus on the program and learning. She is rooted in science, sharing evidence-based information, and takes care to attribute all information provided to credible resources. She values teaching more traditional yoga while adding in any modifications brought about by modern science. She values the teaching process and teaching asanas safely. This is evidenced in many ways but perhaps the most obvious and telling is by the fact that she keeps her yoga teacher trainings to 6 people or fewer so that she can truly teach each individual. By doing this, she is also teaching you how to teach each asana in a safe way. You'll be able to provide people with better instruction on how to do each asana as well as recognize when someone needs a modification because everyone's body is different. Her yoga teacher training is also 28 days which is longer than most in the Americas (from what I saw when I was researching yoga teacher trainings in the west) which I think shows her commitment to doing the training justice. She is a yoga therapist and places a high emphasis on well-being over being able to twist yourself into a pretzel. She also taught yoga history in a way that I finally understood all the different schools of thought and how it all fits together (what came first, what grew out of what, where different ideas and approaches came from, etc). I also appreciated that she addressed the fact that guru's/teachers can lose their way and not to follow blindly. Because of the small class size we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and get truly individualized feedback and attention. Even with the pranayama, she was observing how we were each breathing and provide feedback. I don't see how that type of thing would have been possible with a large class. The anatomy teacher, Julie, is a physical therapist who is new to teaching anatomy to yoga students but she was a total natural at it. We all looked forward to her class. I was grateful to learn anatomy from her. She really cared to make sure you understood the material and took care to make it digestible for a beginner. If she saw a confused look on my face she would stop her lecture and, in a caring way, ask me if I had a question. She made it a very comfortable and effective learning environment. I learned so much from her. As a fun aside, she evaluated each of us for our stance, our feet, the state of our shoe treads and let us know if we each wore the right type of shoe for our individual physical needs. I feel really good about what I learned from her and found it all very interesting! I would have enjoyed having even more than the required 20 hours of anatomy. Stephanie made the delicious breakfasts and lunches and has really good energy! She was a pleasure! I am vegan and celiac and another girl in the program had a nut and banana allergy so we really put them to the test but they handled it all with ease and I really enjoyed the food! It is important to Lura to provide her students with whole foods (no processed foods) and mostly organic meals. It felt great and I learned some new recipes. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions about my experience at Bienestar.

    • General Comments

      Lura really dedicates herself to her yoga teacher trainings and provides an environment that allows you to fully focus on the program and learning. She is rooted in science, sharing evidence-based information, and takes care to attribute all information provided to credible resources. She values teaching more traditional yoga while adding in any modifications brought about by modern science. She values the teaching process and teaching asanas safely. This is evidenced in many ways but perhaps the most obvious and telling is by the fact that she keeps her yoga teacher trainings to 6 people or fewer so that she can truly teach each individual. By doing this, she is also teaching you how to teach each asana in a safe way. You'll be able to provide people with better instruction on how to do each asana as well as recognize when someone needs a modification because everyone's body is different. Her yoga teacher training is also 28 days which is longer than most in the Americas (from what I saw when I was researching yoga teacher trainings in the west) which I think shows her commitment to doing the training justice. She is a yoga therapist and places a high emphasis on well-being over being able to twist yourself into a pretzel. She also taught yoga history in a way that I finally understood all the different schools of thought and how it all fits together (what came first, what grew out of what, where different ideas and approaches came from, etc). I also appreciated that she addressed the fact that guru's/teachers can lose their way and not to follow blindly. Because of the small class size we were able to ask all the questions we wanted and get truly individualized feedback and attention. Even with the pranayama, she was observing how we were each breathing and provide feedback. I don't see how that type of thing would have been possible with a large class. The anatomy teacher, Julie, is a physical therapist who is new to teaching anatomy to yoga students but she was a total natural at it. We all looked forward to her class. I was grateful to learn anatomy from her. She really cared to make sure you understood the material and took care to make it digestible for a beginner. If she saw a confused look on my face she would stop her lecture and, in a caring way, ask me if I had a question. She made it a very comfortable and effective learning environment. I learned so much from her. As a fun aside, she evaluated each of us for our stance, our feet, the state of our shoe treads and let us know if we each wore the right type of shoe for our individual physical needs. I feel really good about what I learned from her and found it all very interesting! I would have enjoyed having even more than the required 20 hours of anatomy. Stephanie made the delicious breakfasts and lunches and has really good energy! She was a pleasure! I am vegan and celiac and another girl in the program had a nut and banana allergy so we really put them to the test but they handled it all with ease and I really enjoyed the food! It is important to Lura to provide her students with whole foods (no processed foods) and mostly organic meals. It felt great and I learned some new recipes. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any further questions about my experience at Bienestar.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 18, 2021
    Kelly, I thank you for being so thorough. I always appreciate a positive review but you really laid out the whole experience for others to see here. Thats incredibly valuable to me and to others looking at the program. It was kind and thoughtful of you to take as much time as you must have to look at the whole experience. It was a pleasure to have you here and I hope I will see you here or in the U.S. for continuing education. Lura
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Martha Tingle Jun 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—May 02, 2021

    My experience with Lura at Bienestar in Uvita, Costa Rica was incredible! There were only 5 students total, so each of us got plenty of personal attention, which is often not the case in teacher trainings. Lura was very knowledgeable, highly qualified, trustworthy, kind, thoughtful, energetic, down to earth, and a great story-teller! She was always available to answer questions and very approachable and warm. I learned a lot about breathing techniques, the history of yoga, anatomy, proper alignment, and so much more. I would absolutely recommend Bienestar Uvita Yoga Shala to anyone interested in becoming a yoga teacher!

    • General Comments

      My experience with Lura at Bienestar in Uvita, Costa Rica was incredible! There were only 5 students total, so each of us got plenty of personal attention, which is often not the case in teacher trainings. Lura was very knowledgeable, highly qualified, trustworthy, kind, thoughtful, energetic, down to earth, and a great story-teller! She was always available to answer questions and very approachable and warm. I learned a lot about breathing techniques, the history of yoga, anatomy, proper alignment, and so much more. I would absolutely recommend Bienestar Uvita Yoga Shala to anyone interested in becoming a yoga teacher!
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jun 16, 2021
    Thank you Martha, You were part of a lovely group, interested in the depth of yoga, and involved in deepen the experience. It was your dedication to learning that made the experience so rich. I know you are already teaching and I look forward to watching your growth. Lura
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gabriela Gutierrez Jun 10, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—May 02, 2021

    Lura Shopteau, the owner of and teacher at Bienestar, is everything you would want in a yoga teacher. Authentic, experienced, kind, and generous, she is truly an embodiment of the yogic philosophy and way of being. Her background as a licensed psychotherapist and yoga therapist confer her with skills that set her apart from most modern-day teachers. She's basically a walking encyclopedia, and can recall many rich details of her experiences learning, teaching, and practicing yoga across the world. Witnessing her resilience and adaptability are lessons in and of themselves. I can't recommend Bienestar enough, and I can't wait to see Lura's vision for her growing studio come to life!

    • General Comments

      Lura Shopteau, the owner of and teacher at Bienestar, is everything you would want in a yoga teacher. Authentic, experienced, kind, and generous, she is truly an embodiment of the yogic philosophy and way of being. Her background as a licensed psychotherapist and yoga therapist confer her with skills that set her apart from most modern-day teachers. She's basically a walking encyclopedia, and can recall many rich details of her experiences learning, teaching, and practicing yoga across the world. Witnessing her resilience and adaptability are lessons in and of themselves. I can't recommend Bienestar enough, and I can't wait to see Lura's vision for her growing studio come to life!
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jun 13, 2021
    Thank you Gaby it was a joy having here and I look forward to watching your career in Integrative Medicine over the coming years. Yoga will help you be a force in patient lifestyle awareness and change to help create healthy populations everywhere. Thank you for pursuing a career serving others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Laura McCormack May 18, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 05, 2021—May 02, 2021

    Lura pours her heart and soul into the teacher trainings. Her traditional yoga studies and the depth of her related industry knowledge will be invaluable to me as I now begin my own yoga teacher journey. I look forward to returning to Bienestar for continuing education classes sometime in the future!

    • General Comments

      Lura pours her heart and soul into the teacher trainings. Her traditional yoga studies and the depth of her related industry knowledge will be invaluable to me as I now begin my own yoga teacher journey. I look forward to returning to Bienestar for continuing education classes sometime in the future!
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 18, 2021
    Laura, Thank you for your reviews. It is so nice to see you online already at work to create a teaching platform. You have the yoga knowledge, skills, the savvy and fortitude to make this happen. And I will look forward to seeing you somewhere on the yoga journey in the future. Lura
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Danielle Straub Jul 15, 2020
    Training Program held on Mar 02, 2020—Mar 28, 2020

    There are not enough good things I can say about Bienestar, my yoga teacher training, and Lura, my teacher. I had the best experience in Costa Rica during the training. I learned so much and am so thankful for everything. Lura, who has years of experience, was so knowledgable about the history of yoga, each asana, pranayama, and so much more. She taught so much about the traditional way yoga is practiced as well as the anatomy of the body in relation to yoga as well. Although it was challenging at times with so much material to learn in a few shorts weeks, Lura made it accessible for the entire group and met us where we were at each day. Her patience and kindness throughout my time there was astounding. I am so lucky to have been able to experience my training in such a beautiful place with such beautiful souls. At the end of the program, Lura made me feel comfortable to challenge myself to continue my practice and to go out and become a teacher to others too.

    • General Comments

      There are not enough good things I can say about Bienestar, my yoga teacher training, and Lura, my teacher. I had the best experience in Costa Rica during the training. I learned so much and am so thankful for everything. Lura, who has years of experience, was so knowledgable about the history of yoga, each asana, pranayama, and so much more. She taught so much about the traditional way yoga is practiced as well as the anatomy of the body in relation to yoga as well. Although it was challenging at times with so much material to learn in a few shorts weeks, Lura made it accessible for the entire group and met us where we were at each day. Her patience and kindness throughout my time there was astounding. I am so lucky to have been able to experience my training in such a beautiful place with such beautiful souls. At the end of the program, Lura made me feel comfortable to challenge myself to continue my practice and to go out and become a teacher to others too.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 21, 2020
    Thank you so much Danielle, In these difficult times try to keep at your own practice and see if you can continue teaching friends and family until the world reopens. I am so thankful that your class was able it make it through and even with trails for some you all returned home. Remember I am here if you need me and We will stay in touch. Lura
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Audrey Boutin Jun 28, 2020
    Training Program held on Mar 02, 2020—Mar 28, 2020

    More than a school or a simple training. Lura is a kind of teacher that you never forget ! Generous, attentive, she adapts her training so that everyone can find what they are looking for. Very complete training with all the necessary basics to become a good teacher.

    • General Comments

      More than a school or a simple training. Lura is a kind of teacher that you never forget ! Generous, attentive, she adapts her training so that everyone can find what they are looking for. Very complete training with all the necessary basics to become a good teacher.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 21, 2020
    Thank you Audrey, It is always easiest to work with students that have a background like yours. Students that are ready and eager to learn. I will look forward to seeing you again in the future and remember as your world opens back up, I am always here to lend whatever support you might need. Lura
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Naomi Jarvis Jun 26, 2020
    Training Program held on Mar 02, 2020—Mar 28, 2020

    The course met or exceeded expectations on every level and I would not hesitate to recommend Lura.

    • General Comments

      The course met or exceeded expectations on every level and I would not hesitate to recommend Lura.
    School response
    Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala
    Jul 21, 2020
    Thank you Naomi, You are on your path and I see you're making things happen. You brought a spark to the class that you use to propel yourself. I am here for you as things arise, best wishes as you and we will stay in touch. Lura
  • 4 out of 5
    By: Karen Cleary Sep 08, 2019
    Training Program held on Nov 06, 2017—Dec 02, 2017

    • Syllabus Reflection

      To what extent do you feel this program met the following learning objective; The student will become confident with human anatomy within the context of teaching yoga

      Entirely

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Bienestar - Uvita Yoga Shala’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered August 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 31

By Jessie Reiff RYT® 200

Aug 25, 2021

My training at Uvita Yoga Shala was everything I expected and more. I am so grateful to have been taught and mentored by Lura. The experience was truly life changing. I really loved Lura's philosophy on Yoga, I left feeling more than prepared and confident to teach. Full Review

By Kellen Stutes RYT® 200

Jun 24, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (31)

Teaching Staff

Lura Doebler Shopteau

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance