Search

The Yoga Unit

4.85

Based on 36 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

665 East Foothill Boulevard

Claremont, CA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

About The Yoga Unit

The Yoga Unit is a Registered Yoga School (RYS) with Yoga Alliance, which designates this teacher training program as one which follows Yoga Alliance’s standards. Students who complete a verified training with this school may be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as...

The Yoga Unit is a Registered Yoga School (RYS) with Yoga Alliance, which designates this teacher training program as one which follows Yoga Alliance’s standards. Students who complete a verified training with this school may be eligible to register with Yoga Alliance as Registered Yoga Teachers (RYTs).

First Registered March 2014

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Shizumi Velazquez May 19, 2014

    The experience in teacher training was In-depth and thorough in every facet of preparation to become a well-rounded teacher. From basic to challenging chapters of training and study, the positive, supportive and vast knowledge of instruction, energy and passion made it a lifelong experience that will be given back in every class we ever teach. I look forward to recommending this course to any Yogi with a passion to give back.

    • General Comments

      The experience in teacher training was In-depth and thorough in every facet of preparation to become a well-rounded teacher. From basic to challenging chapters of training and study, the positive, supportive and vast knowledge of instruction, energy and passion made it a lifelong experience that will be given back in every class we ever teach. I look forward to recommending this course to any Yogi with a passion to give back.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sherylle Tan White May 20, 2014

    The Yoga Unit and Monica Mathews are really wonderful and supportive. Monica is an amazing teacher and mentor. Monica is very knowledgeable and dedicated to ensure that all trainees had a good grasp of the material. The Yoga Teacher Training was an amazing experience, well organized, and really prepared me to teach yoga safely and effectively. I highly recommend The Yoga Unit to others.

    • General Comments

      The Yoga Unit and Monica Mathews are really wonderful and supportive. Monica is an amazing teacher and mentor. Monica is very knowledgeable and dedicated to ensure that all trainees had a good grasp of the material. The Yoga Teacher Training was an amazing experience, well organized, and really prepared me to teach yoga safely and effectively. I highly recommend The Yoga Unit to others.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Lisa Matthews May 20, 2014

    The atmosphere and level of support was phenomenal. The assistance I received while in the program was exceptional. Monica Mathews is an excellent instructor.

    • General Comments

      The atmosphere and level of support was phenomenal. The assistance I received while in the program was exceptional. Monica Mathews is an excellent instructor.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Michele Chadeayne May 23, 2014

    The Yoga Unit is a wonderful place to learn. Monica Mathews is extremely skilled and is an outstanding teacher!

    • General Comments

      The Yoga Unit is a wonderful place to learn. Monica Mathews is extremely skilled and is an outstanding teacher!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Micaela Castillo Jun 11, 2014

    This is a great school, Monica is amazing!

    • General Comments

      This is a great school, Monica is amazing!
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Roslynn Cedeno Jul 09, 2014

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Margaret Smith Dec 22, 2014

    I thoroughly enjoyed The Yoga Unit's teacher training program. The course was very challenging and lots of fun.

    • General Comments

      I thoroughly enjoyed The Yoga Unit's teacher training program. The course was very challenging and lots of fun.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: mitchell Neil Dec 23, 2014

    like i said before i think more time teaching each other would have been nice, they educated us very well and filled our heads with all we needed to know but our body and mouths were still kinda stumbling through things... but i know that will resolve it self in time and with experience.

    • General Comments

      like i said before i think more time teaching each other would have been nice, they educated us very well and filled our heads with all we needed to know but our body and mouths were still kinda stumbling through things... but i know that will resolve it self in time and with experience.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nora Armbruster Dec 24, 2014

    The description of the teacher training program on TYU's website is extensive and a little overwhelming at first, but the categories are covered in a logical and nurturing manner. I was most interested in learning about anatomy and how poses benefit the body (as well as the mind), and we covered those details for more than 100 yoga poses. Monica Mathew's knowledge of anatomy, philosophy, and history of yoga is unprecedented. Lisettle Gracial's vast knowledge of yoga poses and her innovative teaching style is inspiring. I could not have learned from two more exceptional instructors. My education with The Yoga Unit is one of best decisions I've ever made.

    • General Comments

      The description of the teacher training program on TYU's website is extensive and a little overwhelming at first, but the categories are covered in a logical and nurturing manner. I was most interested in learning about anatomy and how poses benefit the body (as well as the mind), and we covered those details for more than 100 yoga poses. Monica Mathew's knowledge of anatomy, philosophy, and history of yoga is unprecedented. Lisettle Gracial's vast knowledge of yoga poses and her innovative teaching style is inspiring. I could not have learned from two more exceptional instructors. My education with The Yoga Unit is one of best decisions I've ever made.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Natalie Weber Dec 26, 2014

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered March 2014

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 36

By Kelly Pellizzon RYT® 200

Apr 08, 2018

Full Review

By Messina Zurbuch RYT® 200

Apr 08, 2018

Full Review

All Reviews (36)

Teaching Staff

Monica Mathews

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Micaela Castillo Micaela Castillo

RYT® 200

Trevor Rogerson Trevor Rogerson

RYT® 200

All Teaching Staff (3)
Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2018 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.
Copyright 2018 by Yoga Alliance