Search

Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre

4.64

Based on 46 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

14 Mills Lane

Albany, Auckland, New Zealand

Types of Yoga Taught

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Languages

English

About Kawai Purapura Yoga School

Drawing from the ancient yoga tradition and modern knowledge of the body and mind, this programme covers all aspects of yoga practice. It offers a life changing experience of personal transformation from which students emerge as practitioners and foundational teachers of...

Drawing from the ancient yoga tradition and modern knowledge of the body and mind, this programme covers all aspects of yoga practice. It offers a life changing experience of personal transformation from which students emerge as practitioners and foundational teachers of skill and wisdom.

First Registered October 2012

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Wesel Cronje Dec 05, 2020

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Giulia Cronje Dec 05, 2020

    This course is packed with rich, valuable information, and the ancient wisdom that has been passed on to us is absolute gold. It gives me so much confidence to know that I have the right tools to share a yoga class that will be valuable for my students and that will enrich their lives with not only asana practice, but also amazing pranayama and meditation techniques. This course has given me a strong foundation to be able to take my yoga into any direction that I would like to pursue.

    • General Comments

      This course is packed with rich, valuable information, and the ancient wisdom that has been passed on to us is absolute gold. It gives me so much confidence to know that I have the right tools to share a yoga class that will be valuable for my students and that will enrich their lives with not only asana practice, but also amazing pranayama and meditation techniques. This course has given me a strong foundation to be able to take my yoga into any direction that I would like to pursue.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ceremony Nitya Woods Nov 22, 2020
    Training Program held on Feb 11, 2020—Oct 22, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Morgan Hassan Aug 21, 2020

    I highly recommend completing yoga training at KPP. It was very thorough and professional. I felt very confident teaching after completing my course. They also provide a lot of support and on going training afterwards. Bonus, the grounds where the course is held is beautiful and peaceful.

    • General Comments

      I highly recommend completing yoga training at KPP. It was very thorough and professional. I felt very confident teaching after completing my course. They also provide a lot of support and on going training afterwards. Bonus, the grounds where the course is held is beautiful and peaceful.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Cristiana Chiappini-Brodie Mar 09, 2020
    Training Program held on Jan 03, 2020—Jan 21, 2020

    It was a fantastic and transformation experience that I would recommend to anyone interested in Yoga.

    • General Comments

      It was a fantastic and transformation experience that I would recommend to anyone interested in Yoga.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Karina Holdaway Jan 11, 2020
    Training Program held on Sep 13, 2019—Nov 17, 2019

  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Melissa Neuhoff Nov 24, 2019

    Great Yogic life emersion

    • General Comments

      Great Yogic life emersion
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Liubov Beliaeva Oct 22, 2019

    Kawai Purapura Yoga Retreat Centre is great school with amazing teaching staff. I highly recommend it to everyone who would like to take a yoga teaching course and start teaching.

    • General Comments

      Kawai Purapura Yoga Retreat Centre is great school with amazing teaching staff. I highly recommend it to everyone who would like to take a yoga teaching course and start teaching.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Thalia Campbell Oct 21, 2019

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ceremony Nitya Woods Sep 15, 2019

    I feel very fortunate to have done my Yoga Teacher Training at Kawai Purapura. The traditional Hatha yoga approach was delivered in depth and introduced me to the richness of yoga, aiming to integrate yoga into my every day life. The teachers are outstanding and inspiring and the Retreat Centre is the perfect training space, surrounded by native bush. I feel well prepared for stepping into teaching and keep drawing inspiration from the teachers and the Satyananda yoga tradition.

    • General Comments

      I feel very fortunate to have done my Yoga Teacher Training at Kawai Purapura. The traditional Hatha yoga approach was delivered in depth and introduced me to the richness of yoga, aiming to integrate yoga into my every day life. The teachers are outstanding and inspiring and the Retreat Centre is the perfect training space, surrounded by native bush. I feel well prepared for stepping into teaching and keep drawing inspiration from the teachers and the Satyananda yoga tradition.
Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered October 2012

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 46

By Wesel Cronje RYT® 200

Dec 05, 2020

Full Review

By Giulia Cronje RYT® 200

Dec 05, 2020

This course is packed with rich, valuable information, and the ancient wisdom that has been passed on to us is absolute gold. It gives me so much confidence to know that I have the right tools to share a yoga class that will be valuable for my students and that will enrich their lives with not only asana practice, but also amazing pranayama and meditation techniques. This course has given me a strong foundation to be able to take my yoga into any direction that I would like to pursue. Full Review

All Reviews (46)

Teaching Staff

Amy Bassett

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Swami Karma Karuna

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Atmavidya

E-RYT® 500

Sannyasi Pragyadhara

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Leza Schwab Leza Schwab

E-RYT® 200

All Teaching Staff (6)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance