Search

International Yoga Academy (Anahata Yoga)

4.65

Based on 470 reviews

What is a School Review?



1 more Location

Connect with Us

1 Lyndhurst Tower

78 Wellington Street, Central, Hong Kong

Types of Yoga Taught

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Andiappan Yoga Education and Research Trust
27, P BLOCK 18th St, Block P, P Block, Anna Nagar
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India

About International Yoga Academy

Anahata Yoga is a premiere yoga centre based in the heart of the Central district. It is best known for offering the most authentic yoga experience available in Hong Kong, with classes led by Indian instructors hailing from different lineages devoted to the practice and...

Anahata Yoga is a premiere yoga centre based in the heart of the Central district. It is best known for offering the most authentic yoga experience available in Hong Kong, with classes led by Indian instructors hailing from different lineages devoted to the practice and study of yoga. As a centre, Anahata Yoga is fully committed to fostering a community of yoga practitioners who are not only equipped with the skills to perform yoga as a daily activity, but as well as the knowledge to live out yoga as a lifestyle. We recognise that yoga is a popular pursuit in Hong Kong. People seek it out for its health benefits and often incorporate it into their active lifestyles. However, yoga instruction is not equal among the various yoga centres in Hong Kong. This is where our accredited Teacher Training Courses make all the difference. Our courses are accredited by, and offered in conjunction with, Asana Andiappan College of Yoga and Research Centre in India. This is the first time outside of India that such a programme is being offered. Our classes are designed and taught in the same way as our instructors are taught. Predominantly from India, our instructors are fully learned not only in the practice of their discipline, but also in the history and philosophy behind the practice. The resulting combination of grassroots knowledge both practical and theoretical in our programmes gives students more in-depth learning than they may be able to find elsewhere in Hong Kong.

First Registered September 2008

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Giselle Chan Tsz Shan Sep 17, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

    In the very beginning. I was concerned about the language of the YTT course which is teaching in English. I am not a native English speaker as I’m a local Hongkonger. Regarding the conversation with the consultant, She told me Anahata have many similar students who have completed the course successfully since the classes are practical oriented an interactive. All the master are professional. Besides of the Asana skills, they shared a lot of Indian traditional that we can’t learn from other local Yoga studio. They shared their experiences and analysis the changed of yoga from India to other countries. I learned a lot more than I expected. Thank you to all the Master and my classmate.

    • General Comments

      In the very beginning. I was concerned about the language of the YTT course which is teaching in English. I am not a native English speaker as I’m a local Hongkonger. Regarding the conversation with the consultant, She told me Anahata have many similar students who have completed the course successfully since the classes are practical oriented an interactive. All the master are professional. Besides of the Asana skills, they shared a lot of Indian traditional that we can’t learn from other local Yoga studio. They shared their experiences and analysis the changed of yoga from India to other countries. I learned a lot more than I expected. Thank you to all the Master and my classmate.
  • 2.5 out of 5
    By: VERONICA BAKER Sep 15, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Sangita Rai Sep 13, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Federica Sampogna Sep 13, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Federica Sampogna Sep 13, 2021

    All teachers have been extremely professional and patient during all hours of classes, they have been of a great support for all student to share their knowledge and tangible life experiences, helping us to reach the posture of best of our abilities and showing us clear steps on how to improve through asana. I have enjoyed the opportunity of a brief teaching experience although the course is not enough to prepare you and build the necessary confidence requested for teaching to others. The practice hours were long and with an intense full time job it wasnt always easy to manage, however I am proud of how much I have been able to develop myself in these months. I will be certainly continue my practice and studies as I do wish one day to be able to share my experiences and support people who do wish to join the yoga path. As a suggestion, teaching classes should be combined with theory and practical on same session to make them more dynamic and maintain students focus.

    • General Comments

      All teachers have been extremely professional and patient during all hours of classes, they have been of a great support for all student to share their knowledge and tangible life experiences, helping us to reach the posture of best of our abilities and showing us clear steps on how to improve through asana. I have enjoyed the opportunity of a brief teaching experience although the course is not enough to prepare you and build the necessary confidence requested for teaching to others. The practice hours were long and with an intense full time job it wasnt always easy to manage, however I am proud of how much I have been able to develop myself in these months. I will be certainly continue my practice and studies as I do wish one day to be able to share my experiences and support people who do wish to join the yoga path. As a suggestion, teaching classes should be combined with theory and practical on same session to make them more dynamic and maintain students focus.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jessie Siying Fang Aug 31, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Adeline Chiu Aug 31, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

    n this course, I learnt a lot form every master, I have a more in-depth understanding about yoga, not only the asanas but also the other aspects like some behaviors and daily practices. I once thought that yoga is to help us gain a healthy body but after the course, I understand that yoga is a kind of lifestyle, a lifestyle with healthy mind, body and soul.

    • General Comments

      n this course, I learnt a lot form every master, I have a more in-depth understanding about yoga, not only the asanas but also the other aspects like some behaviors and daily practices. I once thought that yoga is to help us gain a healthy body but after the course, I understand that yoga is a kind of lifestyle, a lifestyle with healthy mind, body and soul.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: HO HOI CHING Aug 31, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

    It is my honour to hop on this yoga journey with the teachings of master Raja, Mahesh, Vishnu, and Yogananth. Not only have I enriched myself with knowledge and history of yoga by their teachings, I am also inspired by their humility and loving personalities. Thank you Anahata for this transformative learning journey and I am very excited to keep learning and share with my fellows.

    • General Comments

      It is my honour to hop on this yoga journey with the teachings of master Raja, Mahesh, Vishnu, and Yogananth. Not only have I enriched myself with knowledge and history of yoga by their teachings, I am also inspired by their humility and loving personalities. Thank you Anahata for this transformative learning journey and I am very excited to keep learning and share with my fellows.
  • 2 out of 5
    By: Nikki Mak Aug 29, 2021
    Training Program held on May 01, 2020—May 26, 2020

    Good teacher but there are not enough classes for booking.

    • General Comments

      Good teacher but there are not enough classes for booking.
    School response
    International Yoga Academy
    Sep 07, 2021
    Dear Nikki, we thank you for your feedback and your appreciation for the teachers. We hope you understand due to COVID -19 there were strict social distancing restrictions implemented on yoga studios by the government as such the mats for each class were severely limited. So we had to offer online live stream classes to encourage students to keep a regular practice. The studio is functioning with normal capacity now and we hope you will come back to learn with our professional yoga masters.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ng Tsz Ching Aug 25, 2021
    Training Program held on Dec 08, 2020—Mar 30, 2021

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered September 2008

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 470

By Giselle Chan Tsz Shan RYT® 200

Sep 17, 2021

In the very beginning. I was concerned about the language of the YTT course which is teaching in English. I am not a native English speaker as I’m a local Hongkonger. Regarding the conversation with the consultant, She told me Anahata have many similar students who have completed the course successfully since the classes are practical oriented an interactive. All the master are professional. Besides of the Asana skills, they shared a lot of Indian traditional that we can’t learn from other local Yoga studio. They shared their experiences and analysis the changed of yoga from India to other countries. I learned a lot more than I expected. Thank you to all the Master and my classmate. Full Review

By VERONICA BAKER RYT® 500

Sep 15, 2021

Full Review

All Reviews (470)

Teaching Staff

Dr. Yogananth Andiappan

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

RAJA RAJA

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, RPYT®, YACEP®

Dr. Lakshmi Andiappan Dr. Lakshmi Andiappan

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (3)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance