Search

Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga

5

Based on 37 reviews

What is a School Review?



1 more Location

Connect with Us

35 Donnelly Cross Road

Spencer, MA, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Hot/Heated Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Part-time
spread out over time

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

Other Locations

Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga
619 Southwest Water Street
Peoria, IL, USA

About Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga

My programs are educational and inspirational on many levels shaping the body, heart and mind. The trainings are interactive, spiritually profound, engaging and balancing with teachings from classical Yoga, Buddha Dharma, many styles of meditation, somatic work, techniques...

My programs are educational and inspirational on many levels shaping the body, heart and mind. The trainings are interactive, spiritually profound, engaging and balancing with teachings from classical Yoga, Buddha Dharma, many styles of meditation, somatic work, techniques to balance injuries and pain, and spiritual psychology. These immersions embody a living wisdom offering penetrating practices such as wakefulness and presence within a pose, detailed postural alignment, comprehensive study on body structure, somatic awareness, subtle anatomy, mindfulness, meditation, chanting and more. Come explore the dance of form (anatomy/asana) and formless (awareness of mind and heart).

First Registered July 2013

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Kaitlyn Johnson Mar 31, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 28, 2019—Oct 10, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: YogaMatt Feb 07, 2021
    Training Program held on Sep 28, 2019—Oct 10, 2020

    Theresa Murphy's Instruction in Yoga teacher training program, through the instruction of Tammy Mitchell, provided me with historical, foundational, modern, and progressive teaching to promote my personal practice, and give me the tools to share my understanding as a guide for other practicing yogis. I am eternally grateful for this experience and the ongoing supportive community of which I have become a member.

    • General Comments

      Theresa Murphy's Instruction in Yoga teacher training program, through the instruction of Tammy Mitchell, provided me with historical, foundational, modern, and progressive teaching to promote my personal practice, and give me the tools to share my understanding as a guide for other practicing yogis. I am eternally grateful for this experience and the ongoing supportive community of which I have become a member.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Amanda Waltemyer Dec 12, 2020
    Training Program held on Sep 21, 2019—Jun 14, 2020

    I would highly recommend studying under Theresa Murphy if you have the opportunity.

    • General Comments

      I would highly recommend studying under Theresa Murphy if you have the opportunity.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Maureen Eisenberg Nov 28, 2020

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Shawna Swift May 12, 2020

    Theresa is a very knowledgeable and skilled teacher. I would highly recommend pursuing her teacher training course, whether it be for personal growth or to become a yoga instructor.

    • General Comments

      Theresa is a very knowledgeable and skilled teacher. I would highly recommend pursuing her teacher training course, whether it be for personal growth or to become a yoga instructor.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Aly Mariano Feb 04, 2020

    This YTT program with Theresa was everything I was looking for. I felt extremely well prepared to safely guide students through classes after graduating from this program. Theresa is so knowledge and her training was top notch. Very anatomy/alignment focused. I also still utilize all the workbooks and books we were assigned to read as references now in my teachings. I’ve recommended Theresa’s training to anyone else looking to get certified.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      This YTT program with Theresa was everything I was looking for. I felt extremely well prepared to safely guide students through classes after graduating from this program. Theresa is so knowledge and her training was top notch. Very anatomy/alignment focused. I also still utilize all the workbooks and books we were assigned to read as references now in my teachings. I’ve recommended Theresa’s training to anyone else looking to get certified.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Gail Cohen Sep 21, 2019
    Training Program held on Oct 22, 2015—Apr 03, 2016

    • Syllabus Reflection

      To what extent do you feel this program met the following learning objective; The student will become confident with human anatomy within the context of teaching yoga

      Mostly

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 4 = Mostly
      1.
      Building on a solid foundation of basic asana, alignment, anatomy, pranayama, and wisdom teachings, participants will learn the aspects of the subtle body using the 5 element theory as the backdrop. Participants will gain a deep understanding of the vayus and chakras how they function and manifest as both provoked/deficient or balanced.

      Entirely

      2.
      Participants will be able to apply this understanding to cultivate an approach to practice, diet, and lifestyle that brings ease injuries and pain.

      Entirely

      3.
      Participants will be able to provide quality one on one sessions for students with injuries, ailments, and imbalances via this course.

      Entirely

      4.
      Participants will be able to offer in depth workshops on the specifics of subtle body health and applying asana, meditation, and pranayama to ease injuries and pain.

      Mostly

      5.
      Participants will become proficient at identifying strengths and weaknesses of students and confidently apply the appropriate tools to aid in balanced living, and bring ease injuries and pain.

      Entirely

      6.
      Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga’s 300-hour advanced teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      Entirely

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Nicole Malo Aug 11, 2019

    Theresa Murphy is excellent and I'm extremely fortunate to have completed this training with her. I look forward to more trainings in the future.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga’s 200-hour teacher training prepares its trainees to begin teaching the principles and techniques of yoga safely and competently.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Theresa Murphy is excellent and I'm extremely fortunate to have completed this training with her. I look forward to more trainings in the future.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Philip Less Jul 23, 2019

    Theresa is an extremely talented teacher. It's one thing to be knowledgeable and adept with the poses, but it's another thing to be able to transfer that wisdom to other people, and that's what Theresa is able to do in her teacher trainings. She always gave us time - time to feel into the poses and the body work, time to ask questions, and time to reflect on what we had learned and experienced. The whole teacher training was as unique and insightful as Theresa herself.

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga’s 300-hour advanced teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      Entirely

    • General Comments

      Theresa is an extremely talented teacher. It's one thing to be knowledgeable and adept with the poses, but it's another thing to be able to transfer that wisdom to other people, and that's what Theresa is able to do in her teacher trainings. She always gave us time - time to feel into the poses and the body work, time to ask questions, and time to reflect on what we had learned and experienced. The whole teacher training was as unique and insightful as Theresa herself.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Elizabeth Kilduff Apr 11, 2019

    • Learning Objectives

      Average 5 = Entirely
      Theresa Murphy - Instruction In Yoga’s 300-hour advanced teacher training prepares its trainees to teach principles and techniques of yoga that are more advanced, and to teach with greater skill, than could reasonably be expected of an RYT 200.

      Entirely

Disclaimer

Yoga Alliance Registry’s Policy on the Use of Yoga therapy Terms in its directory was announced on Jan 25, 2016. Prior to that date, reviews may have contained such references to yoga therapy. Yoga Alliance Registry will not alter the content of preexisting reviews to bring them into compliance with its new policy. Any use of "yoga therapy" terms in a review, however, does not imply that Yoga Alliance Registry sets standards for instruction in yoga therapy techniques or other methods of diagnosing or treating a mental or physical injury or illness, nor that the RYS or RYT designation may be relied on as a qualification for working as a "yoga therapist" or for training others in "yoga therapy" methods.

First Registered July 2013

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 37

By Kaitlyn Johnson RYT® 200

Mar 31, 2021

Full Review

By YogaMatt RYT® 200

Feb 07, 2021

Theresa Murphy's Instruction in Yoga teacher training program, through the instruction of Tammy Mitchell, provided me with historical, foundational, modern, and progressive teaching to promote my personal practice, and give me the tools to share my understanding as a guide for other practicing yogis. I am eternally grateful for this experience and the ongoing supportive community of which I have become a member. Full Review

All Reviews (37)

Teaching Staff

Cindy Boulter

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Tammy Mitchell

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Theresa Murphy

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Nicolai Bachman

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Prajna Yoga

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

All Teaching Staff (5)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2021 by Yoga Alliance