Search

Mount Madonna Center & Institute

4.89

Based on 161 reviews

What is a School Review?



Connect with Us

445 Summit Road

Watsonville, CA 95076, USA

Types of Yoga Taught

Flow Yoga

Alignment-Oriented Yoga

Spiritually-Oriented Yoga

Gentle Yoga

Specialty Yoga

Trainings Formats

Full-time
usually intensive/immersion

Part-time
spread out over time

Weekends only

Modules
several, shorter immersions

Residential
trainees stay on-site

Non-residential
trainees commute to the program

Destination / retreat

Languages

ENGLISH

About Mount Madonna Institute

At the heart of Mount Madonna Institute and Mount Madonna Center is the study, practice and teaching of Yoga. For over 40 years our community has embraced this tradition as we seek to incorporate the practices and truths into our daily life. We offer these practices with...

At the heart of Mount Madonna Institute and Mount Madonna Center is the study, practice and teaching of Yoga. For over 40 years our community has embraced this tradition as we seek to incorporate the practices and truths into our daily life. We offer these practices with the intent of promoting self-transformation for us all. We offer Yoga retreats, established Yoga Teacher Training programs, as well as weekend Yoga Workshops. We offer our signature 200 and 300 hour Teacher Trainings. We cover a broad range of yoga theory, philosophy, and practice. Classically, Ashtanga Yoga means eight-limbed Yoga (ashta meaning eight, and anga meaning limb.) We address each limb and teach asana, pranayama and shat karma from the Hatha Yoga system (referenced in the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, Gherand Samita, and other Hatha yoga texts).  The practices are taught classically as shared with us by our teacher, Sri Baba Hari Dass. Many of our faculty members have been practicing, studying, and teaching yoga at Mount Madonna Center for over 25 years.

First Registered February 2002

Reviews

As part of the Yoga Alliance Social Credentialing system, teachers that register with Yoga Alliance must submit a review of the RYS training program they completed.

Feedback from trainees provides Registered Yoga Schools with the opportunity to understand their trainees’ experiences in order to continually improve their trainings.

By choosing to display comments, schools enable trainees to provide insight into a school’s culture and training which helps potential trainees choose the right teacher training for their individual path with yoga.

select
select
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
RadDatePicker
Open the calendar popup.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Maria Stamas Apr 12, 2022
    Training Program held on Sep 11, 2020—Apr 25, 2021

    I would highly recommend the Mount Madonna teacher training as an authentic lineage-based and holistic yoga program.

    • General Comments

      I would highly recommend the Mount Madonna teacher training as an authentic lineage-based and holistic yoga program.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Jen Rand Apr 12, 2022

    I found the program to be fully immersive in the 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga. Far beyond learning asana I learned core values on conduct, meditation, breathing techniques, and respectful engagement with others.

    • General Comments

      I found the program to be fully immersive in the 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga. Far beyond learning asana I learned core values on conduct, meditation, breathing techniques, and respectful engagement with others.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Cara Graci Mar 29, 2022
    Training Program held on Apr 29, 2021—Dec 05, 2021

    Mount Madonna Institute is authentic in its teachings of Baba Hari Dass. They offer a truly inspiring and transformational experience.

    • General Comments

      Mount Madonna Institute is authentic in its teachings of Baba Hari Dass. They offer a truly inspiring and transformational experience.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Audra White Feb 16, 2022

  • 4 out of 5
    By: Paisley Parvati Devi Jan 25, 2022
    Training Program held on May 22, 2020—Apr 11, 2021

    Mount Madonna Institute is a wonderful school for anyone interested in a highly authentic yoga training. However, there is room for their programs to become more progressive and relevant to the modern student through focus on inclusivity and diversity - especially by directly addressing racial equity and cultural appropriation.

    • General Comments

      Mount Madonna Institute is a wonderful school for anyone interested in a highly authentic yoga training. However, there is room for their programs to become more progressive and relevant to the modern student through focus on inclusivity and diversity - especially by directly addressing racial equity and cultural appropriation.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Ankita Agrawal Jan 10, 2022
    Training Program held on Jun 03, 2021—Nov 14, 2021

    The best experience to rediscover. Great depth of knowledge from amazing faculty.

    • General Comments

      The best experience to rediscover. Great depth of knowledge from amazing faculty.
  • 4.5 out of 5
    By: Madhavi Nadendla Dec 14, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 29, 2021—Dec 05, 2021

    Mt. Madonna Institute adheres to authentic shat karma, pranayama and meditation practices in the legacy of Baba Hari Das.

    • General Comments

      Mt. Madonna Institute adheres to authentic shat karma, pranayama and meditation practices in the legacy of Baba Hari Das.
  • 5 out of 5
    By: Bailey Allshouse Dec 07, 2021
    Training Program held on Apr 29, 2021—Dec 05, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Brian Bernard Dec 06, 2021
    Training Program held on Jun 03, 2021—Nov 14, 2021

  • 5 out of 5
    By: Tana Tolson Nov 28, 2021
    Training Program held on Jun 03, 2021—Nov 14, 2021

    This program is absolutely life changing. I have learned the true meaning of YOGA through a loving and devotional group of teachers who are sincere and passionate about keeping the teachings of Baba Hari Das alive and in the hearts of those seeking true peace. My experience was profound and unexpected and I'm so thankful I stumbled across this treasure of a program.

    • General Comments

      This program is absolutely life changing. I have learned the true meaning of YOGA through a loving and devotional group of teachers who are sincere and passionate about keeping the teachings of Baba Hari Das alive and in the hearts of those seeking true peace. My experience was profound and unexpected and I'm so thankful I stumbled across this treasure of a program.
First Registered February 2002

School Reviews

Total Reviews: 161

By Maria Stamas RYT® 200

Apr 12, 2022

I would highly recommend the Mount Madonna teacher training as an authentic lineage-based and holistic yoga program. Full Review

By Jen Rand RYT® 200

Apr 12, 2022

I found the program to be fully immersive in the 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga. Far beyond learning asana I learned core values on conduct, meditation, breathing techniques, and respectful engagement with others. Full Review

All Reviews (161)

Teaching Staff

Priska Bitterli

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Anand Brian Darsie

E-RYT® 200, RYT® 500, RCYT®

John Diffenbaugh John Diffenbaugh

E-RYT® 500

Sarada Diffenbaugh Sarada Diffenbaugh

E-RYT® 500, RCYT®, YACEP®

Stacy Fuller

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Soma Goresky

E-RYT® 500

Kamalesh Ginger Hooven

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Hannah Muse

E-RYT® 500, RPYT®, YACEP®

Sean Neesley

E-RYT® 500

Kathy Páez

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Janardan Farley Janardan Farley

E-RYT® 500

Brajesh Friedberg Brajesh Friedberg

E-RYT® 500

Iris Kachuck Iris Kachuck

E-RYT® 500

Sadanand Mailliard Sadanand Mailliard

E-RYT® 500

Radha Mallery

E-RYT® 500, YACEP®

Jaya Maxon Jaya Maxon

E-RYT® 500

Mangala Norskog Mangala Norskog

RYT® 200

Vishwamitra Prisk

E-RYT® 500

Pratibha Queen Pratibha Queen

E-RYT® 500

Ratna Sturz Ratna Sturz

E-RYT® 500

All Teaching Staff (20)

Yoga Alliance is a nonprofit 501(c)(6). Yoga Alliance Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3). This website refers to the two organizations as "Yoga Alliance." Copyright 2021 Yoga Alliance. Yoga Alliance, the Yoga Alliance logo, RYS, RYT, and YACEP are registered marks with the USPTO and other jurisdictions.

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Copyright 2022 by Yoga Alliance